FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[HOW TO] Flash U1 firmware to U device

1,335 posts
Thanks Meter: 787
 
Post Reply Email Thread
16th May 2019, 12:41 AM |#491  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Have Verizon service and accidentally bought AT&T g960u. Flashing to U1 right now for use on verizon. Will this device get OTA updates of any kind with U1 firmware, or must I take it a step further and flash Verizon specific firmware in order to get OTA updates in the future?

I mostly just want it to get security updates without having to manually flash them
 
 
16th May 2019, 12:50 AM |#492  
jcsww's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto, Ontario, Canada/Hampton, Virginia, USA
Thanks Meter: 910
 
More
U1 firmware will get you U1 OTA updates. If you want U OTA updates for Verizon, you need to flash the Verizon U firmware after flashing the U1.
16th May 2019, 03:30 AM |#493  
Carlo Borbor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calamba
Thanks Meter: 137
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcsww

My guess is a SM-G9600 but the bootloader suggests that it might be a G960U/U1.

I check the IMEI and it says it's SM-G960U from at&t hmm. by the way I am on v3 bootloader
16th May 2019, 03:33 AM |#494  
Carlo Borbor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calamba
Thanks Meter: 137
 
Donate to Me
More
here
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190516-102858_Samsung Internet.jpg
Views:	168
Size:	162.5 KB
ID:	4759578  
6th June 2019, 06:15 AM |#495  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
What's the best way to back up the phone before trying this?
6th June 2019, 06:37 AM |#496  
m1batt1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield, MO
Thanks Meter: 486
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mogster2K

What's the best way to back up the phone before trying this?

Samsung smart switch to your PC.
The Following User Says Thank You to m1batt1 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift m1batt1 Ad-Free
6th June 2019, 03:30 PM |#497  
youdoofus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sioux Falls, SD
Thanks Meter: 361
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlo Borbor

hello, I just wanna ask if my S9 is G960U or G9600? I am confuse because the bootloader and baseband are G960U****** while the PDA and CSC are G9600******* thank you. And is it posible to flash G960U1 firmware on my S9?

im gonna say its the 9600 not the 960. perhaps they use the same bootloader tho? Tath last part is a complete shot in the dark tho
10th June 2019, 12:37 AM |#498  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hi. The Odin link is down. Can someone provide me with a new link please?
13th June 2019, 10:31 PM |#499  
whbisondtr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 329
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocelot584

Hi. The Odin link is down. Can someone provide me with a new link please?

this SHOULD work, but at your own risk

https://forum.xda-developers.com/and...-13-1-t3762572
13th June 2019, 10:57 PM |#500  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
I wanna start getting ota's again. I have an unlocked S9. Been on the U for a while. Don't know what U1 to flash to get them again
14th June 2019, 08:11 AM |#501  
*Detection*'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham
Thanks Meter: 2,550
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rally517

I wanna start getting ota's again. I have an unlocked S9. Been on the U for a while. Don't know what U1 to flash to get them again


Just make sure your current active CSC matches the firmware CSC you flash and OTAs will work for that CSC
The Following User Says Thank You to *Detection* For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift *Detection* Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
g960u1, g965u1, s9+, unlocked

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes