SM-T827V (Verizon LTE) Tab S3 not rootable with current methods

Search This thread

snovvman

Jun 6, 2008
Not surprised and didn't expect it to work. There is also no OEM Unlock under Developer Options. I presume the bootloader is locked but haven't verified.

Reactions: caizida123

iriman

Oct 8, 2014
Not surprised and didn't expect it to work. There is also no OEM Unlock under Developer Options. I presume the bootloader is locked but haven't verified.

Yeah, have the US Cellular version sm-t827r4 with the exact same issue. Have had it since launch and have been hoping they'd enable the unlocker by now. Good luck!:laugh:

Dan Miller

Feb 23, 2011
Neptune, NJ
I don't think anyone's even working on it. I have one too, and would love to see root, but I'm not a developer-wouldn't even know where to start. I also have a VZW Note 8 which has been rooted by the same methods that worked on the VZW S8. I believe that a variant on that method could work for our Tab S3s as well, but again, no clue how to begin.

elliwigy

Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
XDA App Taskforce
Well some progress today... I got the OEM lock switch flipped so both the prop values are set to 1:

[ro.oem_unlock_supported]: [1]
[sys.oem_unlock_allowed]: [1]

Somehow I also managed these to get set:

[ro.boot.verifiedbootstate]: [orange]
[ro.boot.flash.locked]: [0]

I am still trying to figure this one out:

[ro.boot.other.locked]: [1]

If someone who has a T825 or other tablet that is unlocked on stock can pull those prop values for me and let me know if I am on the right track then that would be great... I am still having trouble flashing anything customer in ODIN but with orange boot state I feel soon as we can get the img onto the device it should in theory boot.

Yliria

Mar 7, 2018
Slowly learning root processes. Where is this build prop located and I'll check mine.

---------- Post added at 12:24 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:06 AM ----------