FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

View Poll Results: Are the XDA Forums slow for you too?

Yes

6 Vote(s)
85.71%
No

1 Vote(s)
14.29%

XDA Forums Page Load Speed

1,312 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,236

By Alcolawl, Senior Member on 11th April 2016, 06:18 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I've avoided making this thread for a while now, hoping that the problem would subside, but it hasn't.

The XDA forums, at least for me, is extremely slow. Like painfully slow at times. I realize that this is a huge site, with many many users performing all sorts of different tasks at the same time, but I have no experienced a major site like this behaving this slow for the past few months now. And it's different tasks that are slow too. Loading different threads, navigating to the next page, checking notifications, it's all dreadfully slow. I like to think that I have a fair amount of patience but sometimes the delay is unbearable, causing me to click the link again. And again... And again, until I receive this false and generic error message most likely in place just to prevent people from spamming the site or something.

My internet speed is decent:

(I took a picture instead of a screenshot so no one can say I've used photoshop or some silly crap like that)

Pinging forum.xda-developers.com results in 27ms times on average, which is pretty decent.

I've even taken a video of this lack of speed for you guys!

https://youtu.be/Z4Vc0nIVz_8
(Struggled to keep it profanity-free. Sorry for the white noise in the video, it's my air purifier on my desk. -- Page load time is like 5 seconds. What am I on dial-up?)

I've timed several page loads at nearly 8 seconds sometimes using the stopwatch on my phone. It's incredible.Is there something going on that I'm not aware of? Is the site slow like this for others? Thoughts? Recommendations?

Browser: Vivaldi 1.0.435.42 (64-bit) -- Based on Chromium.
Connection: Hardlined with Cat-6 into my ASUS RT68U Router running AdvancedTomato.