FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

How to install 1920x1200 display on 1280x800 tablet?

7 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By karhulitos, Junior Member on 4th September 2019, 02:08 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello XDA Forum,

my daughter's tablet screen was cracked. A Chinese web shop offered replacement screen (lcd, digitizer & glass combo) and I ordered giving them correct model of the tablet. Now, I received physically perfectly fitting gear but I won't get any image on the screen. I can see backlight lit for a short while.
I swapped the faulty LCD/digitizer/glass back and could see picture just perfectly. So it seems like resolution issue. I even swapped the new LCD back while tablet was powered up (I know, I know..) and I could see picture in the replacement screen as well! But the image was distorted just like you've seen in CRTs when resolution/refresh don't match the screen capabilities.

Tablets model is Asus ZenPad 10 Z301M-1B006A. This site explains the differences pretty well:
w w w . p d e v i c e . c o m
/comparison/asus-zenpad-10-z301m-vs-asus-zenpad-10-z301mf
Even the GPU is same for 1920*1200 and 1280*800 system.

Actual replacement LCD is NV101WUM-N52 (1920*1200).
It perhaps should have been TV101WXM-NU1 (1280*800).

I saw some web shops giving possibility to select resolution but my Chinese web shop just asked the model. I have perfectly correct model in the order.
The sticker on the replacement panel says ATAB435 and "Asus Z301M Z301MFL" plus some Chinese chars. This suggests the LCD was indeed intended for Z301M/1280*800 tablet.

Now, the question is, could my replacement screen picture problem be due to wrong initial Android bootup resolution setting which I could possibly change with adb thus upgrade the tablet to 1920*1200 reso?

Hope this question made any sense at all.

BR,
Timo
 
 
4th September 2019, 08:07 PM |#2  
Ibuprophen's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate New York
Thanks Meter: 6,472
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by karhulitos

Hello XDA Forum, my daughter's tablet screen was cracked..........

I don't have this device myself but, I did a little digging around...

First of all, I did see that the new display is actually compatible for your device.

If this were me, my next thought would be to go to the following manufacturers website FAQ section...

https://www.asus.com/us/Tablets/ASUS...esk_Knowledge/

... and see if I can locate anything that's regarding the Display (ie... LCD, Digitizer, Display, etc...) to see if there was anything that may/might/does apply to your issue.

Personally stating, I can only assume that it may be tied to some type of Calibration or similar.

Just to clarify, if this were me, and nothing worked, I would just double check all the connections. Specifically for connections that may be loose, dirty, disconnected (by accident), etc... because things can happen when putting them together that was overseen/forgotten accidentally.

In addition, I would look at some YouTube videos in replacing the Digitizer Display for the same/similar device. I would do this only as a reference regarding what I did and see if I had overlooked anything.

If all is well and nothing was successful, I would personally feel that this Digitizer was simply defective. I would then look to begin the process of returning/replacing the Digitizer.

If I obtained the same Digitizer part, and the same happened, I would just look into return/exchange that one for the other part.

It's really hard to diagnose many items/issues without having the actual/same device.

I hope that this was helpful in some way and I had explained this okay via text.

I do wish you the best of luck!


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Unless asked to do so, PLEASE don't PM me regarding support. Sent using The ClaRetoX Forum App on my Apple Macintosh.
5th September 2019, 12:29 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibuprophen

First of all, I did see that the new display is actually compatible for your device.

First of all, your effort is highly appreciated. Thank you.
Very interesting. What made you think my replacement display combo (LCD: NV101WUM-N52) is compatible with Z301M? All hints I could gather was stating it's compatible for Z301MF* models.

I tried to look for this information but couldn't really find the proof.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibuprophen

Personally stating, I can only assume that it may be tied to some type of Calibration or similar.

This is my study hypothesis as well. First, I was thinking that my problem is just due to the LCD not understanding the signal sent to it by the GPU.
commands like:
Code:
adb shell
wm density DPI (Change display density)
wm size RES (Change display resolution)
might change the startup resolution so that the new LCD can show it and otherwise get initialized properly.
I was just puzzled that Google didn't give any hits of people doing this so I just couldn't believe I'm the 1st one to experience this. This is why decided to ask here.

What I do not know is can ARM or tablet hardware in general negotiate screen refresh/resolution/DPI information via the cable or is it always something which is hard coded in the firmware itself? After all a tablet isn't really a plug and play hot swap equipment, eh?

Only thing avoiding me to test above approach is that the web shop may want to replace my new LCD. Let's see how it boils. Is it broken or is it electrically unfit for the hw/sw model I have?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibuprophen

Just to clarify, if this were me, and nothing worked, I would just double check all the connections. Specifically for connections that may be loose, dirty, disconnected (by accident), etc... because things can happen when putting them together that was overseen/forgotten accidentally.

I hear you. I did this approximately 10 times. Some 5 times I switched back to the cracked 1280*800 and shows the picture fine. Back to NV101WUM-N52 and all I get get is backlight.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibuprophen

It's really hard to diagnose many items/issues without having the actual/same device.

Jep. I think I just need to send it back to China. But please come back to me and tell how did you come to conclusion the screen is fit for Z301M?
5th September 2019, 12:48 PM |#4  
Ibuprophen's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate New York
Thanks Meter: 6,472
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by karhulitos

......... I think I just need to send it back to China. But please come back to me and tell how did you come to conclusion the screen is fit for Z301M?

I've seen that part number for your device within some other websites like Amazon, eBay and even Asus as a replacement part option.

I've seen this before. Sometimes a new device will have upgrade options when it's first launched.

I've got an Asus Transformer T100TA Tablet where this option was provided for the Digitizer, Memory and a few others.

As a matter of fact... I've got my Asus Tablet still apart with the newer Digitizer Display ready to be put back together. Unfortunately it's been ready to be assembled for approximately a year now (shame on me... LOL! ).


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Unless asked to do so, PLEASE don't PM me regarding support. Sent using The ClaRetoX1 Forum App on my Apple Macintosh.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ibuprophen For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Ibuprophen Ad-Free
5th September 2019, 01:45 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibuprophen

Unfortunately it's been ready to be assembled for approximately a year now (shame on me... LOL! ).

Pull yourself together and do it now! Thanks man for your insights.

BR,
Timo
The Following User Says Thank You to karhulitos For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift karhulitos Ad-Free
5th September 2019, 09:28 PM |#6  
Ibuprophen's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate New York
Thanks Meter: 6,472
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by karhulitos

Pull yourself together and do it now! .........

LMAO!!!

It's actually my first (and only) tablet I've ever owned. It's like a BIG Android... LOL!

I've got a good handful of various Android devices, 3 Laptops and 2 PC Towers (with 3 monitors). This list only includes what's actually working (also less the various parts as well). On top of the various projects I'm involved in bouncing from one to another as well as Life itself.

You can see why reassembling the tablet is actually something I want/need to do, it's just not very high on my priority list at this point in time.

I wish you the best of luck!


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Unless asked to do so, PLEASE don't PM me regarding support. Sent using The ClaRetoX1 Forum App on my Apple Macintosh.
7th September 2019, 07:51 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibuprophen

LMAO!!!
I wish you the best of luck!

Thank you.

One last detail for the record should someone else sometime stumble upon this problem.
Z301M original LCD is KD101N59-42NA-A8 which was later replaced, according to test report 081-170425-200, by TV101WXM-NU1 1280*800.

So be careful when ordering replacement screen for Asus ZenPad 10. There is also some green & yellow connector difference which wasn't involved in this case but I just wanted to mention it here.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes