FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Chuwi hi9 Pro unlock, root, TWRP, etc.

153 posts
Thanks Meter: 35
 
By zelipukin, Senior Member on 17th September 2018, 12:13 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
If you dont have full ROM backup from your device or official ROM, dont do anything in terms of modding but to install vcom drivers (in my case they wont work without Virtual Serial Port Drivers) for bootloader, and adb/fastboot drivers, make sure theyre working, install Miracle Box / SPFlashTool (or similar ?) to be able to backup/flash your ROM/partitions from/to your device.
Check if it works for you (ie backup your ROM and try to flash something (cache) back.

Now when people are scared enough I want to tell you that it is almost impossible to kill (brick) your MTK phone, it happens mostly when people flash something that is not suppoused to be flashed (something from another device), the worst case if you flash wrong preloader or erase preloader but even after this there is a chance for resurrection. it takes time and efforts though.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
This is TWRP 3.2.2.0 recovery for Chuwi hi9 Pro.
Partitions available for backup:
boot, recovery, system, vendor, data (not incl. data/media = internal sd), cache and "para" (if you have got "recovery loop" - flash "para")
.img flashable - boot, recovery

look for detailed instructions for coomon things in other treads, like
- how to install bootloader vcom drivers and adb / fastboot drivers
- How to work with adb / fastboot command from your computer cmd window.
- how to use Miracle Box / SPFlashToll
This is detailed instruction how to make SPFlash backup out of your phone though Miracle Box does it in one click (well, almost)
- how to unlock bootloader (fastboot mode)
- how to use toilet paper (manual mode)
- how to install twrp recovery
- how to root
Unlock, Install, Root in one post
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
So, main point of this thread is TWRP, youll need:
- roll of toilet paper
- spflashtool backup (just in case)
- backup of your data (if you care) - your data will be erased during the process.
- unlocked bootloader
- twrp image

If something went wrong (highly unlikely), but "if".
Worst case scenerio: your phone will not boot into system / recovery
Solution: reflash (fastboot or flash tool): boot / recovery / system
Worst case scenerio: flash factory ROM (SPFlashTool)

Steps to do when you have all knowledge and all files ready.
IN YOUR CURRENT SYSTEM
In settings->System->About tablet -> click several times "build number" untill you see message "now you are developer"
In settings->System->Developer options: Enable USB debugging and OEM Unlock, connect cable
REBOOT INTO FASTBOOT
Power off, Power on holding "vol+"
Youll see black screen with 3 strings of menu (very small font):
- recovery
- fastboot
- system
use "vol+" for navigation, use "vol-" to confirm your choice (fastboot)
OR from your pc cmd window (shift+right click on adb folder -> choose "open command window here") type: adb reboot bootloader
press Enter
UNLOCK BOOTLOADER
on your pc (if cmd window is not ooened yet: shift+right click on adb folder -> choose "open command window here") type: fastboot oem unlock
press Enter
watch your phone and pc screen for messages
if you have vision problems, make sure you have a magnifying glass.
INSTALL TWRP
download hi9pro_twrp.img to your /adb folder
from the same cmd window type:
fastboot flash recovery hi9pro_twrp.img
*
Reboot into twrp and flash Magisk
*
Basically this is it
There is no command from fastboot to reboot into recovery (correct me)
You can power of, power on holding "vol+", choose "recovery" from menu
command to reboot into system: fastboot reboot
+++++++++++++++
* NEW *
Infect_Ed has posted TWRP recovery that he has compiled from source. DOWNLOAD FROM HERE
We don't know how to make twrp recovery work with encrypted data partition.
Read next paragraph if you are OK to trade security (encripred userdata) for functionality.
++++++++++
==========
In case you want to have your userdata decrypted (and full functional twrp), use following steps:
*** Please, note all userdata AND internal SD will be wiped during the process***
If you care
Save Internal SD card content to your ext.SD or computer
Make a Titanium backup of user apps (check Enable external data backup in Titanium settings)
If Titanium fails to write to your ext.SD than change Titanium backup folder location to int.SD
and after backup is done copy Titanium backup folder to ext.SD or PC.
Disable any passwords/pins from Settings->Security & Locations
(I know they are stored in /data/.. and will be erased anyway but just in case)
- Reboot into TWRP
- ftom TWRP -> Wipe ->Format userdata -> Confirm with "yes"
do not reboot into system
- flash encryption_prevener_hi9pro.zip to prevent system automatically encrypt userdata (it is used to insert modified fstab.mt6797 into vendor/etc)
- reboot system
- restore your int.SD content and apps
============

Link to official ROM/Firnware

*** Read this if you have Recovery Loop - no matter how you boot (buttons, from twrp recovery or from adb/fastboot shell) your device you always end up in TWRP recovery ***
- download 2018-09-29--para.zip
- unzip it - there is a folder 2018-09-29--para with 3 files inside
- connect your phone in twrp recovery mode to your computer
(you may need to turm "enable mtp" option in TWRP->mount)
- copy that folder into your sd card, the path is : TWRP/Backups/Hi9Pro
- click "Restore" (on the next screen make sure ExtSD is chosen as backup path)
- check checkbox "para", run restore, reboot
explanation: para is a partition contains last issued kernel reboot flag(command), like "reboot to recovery, reboot to system, etc." I think there is one flag that tells to kernel something like "reboot to recovery, do something untill its done", since this "something" never done, device reboots into recovery over and over again. This happend to me when I tried "factory reset" command from android settings, so android have sent my device into recovery mode where that "factory reset" command had to be performed but never done because its now not stock recovery but twrp.
**** If you have following problems:
Unknown Baseband -> Unknown IMEI -> NO sim card -> NO cell network
Look here first
****
***** If you came here from there.*****
and you are following their instructions, please, note, step 7. Unlock bootloader : DO NOT DO command "fastboot flashing unlock", just skip it.
Also, try to avoid "fastboot boot recovery.img" command to reboot into recovery (just use physical buttons for reboot). I'm not sure but something caused "recovery loop" in one case at least.
****** back-to-encr.zip if you want to encrypt your decrypted userdata (original fstab.mt6797 will be flashed, no data loss, you will not be able to mount userdata in TWRP, first boot may take long time due to encryption process - 10-60 min- depends how much data do you have)
******* twrp_recovery_chuwi-hi9pro_infectEd-XL is same Infect_Ed recovery adopted for our screen.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to zelipukin For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift zelipukin Ad-Free
 
 
17th September 2018, 09:42 AM |#2  
michael08071984's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
Donate to Me
More
Hello. I made a mistake last week. I flashed accidently twrp with a scatter File from the HI9 Air through the spflashtool on the Hi9 Pro. Now it doesnt turn on etc. Is it hardbricked or can i still get it back to life?
17th September 2018, 06:05 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jackson
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
No, its not complitely bricked if flash tool still recognizes your phone in bootloader mode. Most likely youve made same mistake I did. Depends of how you flashed that recovery - recovery only or full sisyem WITH new recovery. most likely you flashed only recovery partition. than, first, try to reflash backed recovery & next to recovery ("para") partition. in "download only mode" therell be an error "pmt has changed" than try "format & download" and "firmvare upgrade" - use scatter file contained only those two partitions. if you didnt make a backup ill put here that "para" partition and you can use hi9pro twrp img. in case this wont work, you may want to reflash the whole rom. We need to find factory rom image (from Chuwi or someone who did a back up prior he entered his credintals - thats another mistake Ive made Ive dumped a rom with all my logins information). if I have time I'll try "factory reset" to make a backup from "clean" system.

again, its almost impossible to brick mtk completely. even if flash tool doesnt recognize you phone (dead battery) there is a jump-pins method.

upd. Just looked @ Air scatter and found that Air recovery partition size is same as Pro (~16mb). now I dont know haw was that possible to overwrite next to recovery partition(s) and I think I used same Air img as you did and I've got size warning message when I flash it. anyway here is archive with scatter for recovery and para. just add twrp hi9 pro recovery (rename recovery.img to recovery.bin) and try to flash.
The Following User Says Thank You to zelipukin For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift zelipukin Ad-Free
17th September 2018, 06:50 PM |#4  
michael08071984's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
Donate to Me
More
I didnt made a Backup (stupid me) i flashed the recovery file with a scatter file. When i plug the device in the pc the USB sound comes and its recognized as MEDIATEK USB PORT (COM8), but its removed automatic (USB Sound for disconnecting) The Screen stays black. So i have to wait for a Rom and a scatter File then?

---------- Post added at 19:50 ---------- Previous post was at 19:39 ----------

I tried your idea. I got an error Message: "Status Preloader Invalid" The Preloader File Format is invalid.
17th September 2018, 06:55 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jackson
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
you know how to use flash tool , first you have to press "download" THAN connect usb cable.
but this is a good sign (pc recognize something), you may want to google for something like "unbrick mtk 6797 sp flash tool" for more info

this is archive w. 4 1st partitions (incl preloader)

Ive gotta go. Dont smash your tablet its 100% repairable, well 99.999%
17th September 2018, 07:21 PM |#6  
michael08071984's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
Donate to Me
More
thats how it looks


https://photos.app.goo.gl/9EK8vTwcTS3fDf1a7

---------- Post added at 20:21 ---------- Previous post was at 19:58 ----------

Still get an error Message for the PRELOADER. I read some Tutorials and dont find a Problem in my setup or my doing. Sucks :-/ But Thank you very much for your help
17th September 2018, 07:56 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jackson
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
is it "MEDIATEK USB PORT (COM8)" appears for a second in the devices tree or "mediatek preloader usb vcom (android) (com8)"
if second, then everything is OK with the connection.
if its exactly MEDIATEK USB PORT (COM8) then there is something wrong
try to connect cable with diff buttons combination, i.e. "vol+" + connect cable .
try different "download agent" (DA_PL.bin ?)
Though I also used AllInOne_DA and flash tool V.5.1728

also, you might find Miracle Box Tool is easier to use
try "read" option first to backup your current rom

Click image for larger version

Name:	magic box_resize.jpg
Views:	338
Size:	174.0 KB
ID:	4598709

I shoul ask this first:
- have you ulocked bootloader ?
- when your press "power" and "vol+" after some wait is anything appears on the screen
(boot menu: fastboot, recovery, regular boot) ?
- when your press "power" and "vol-" after some wait is anything appears on the screen
(chinese written) ?
18th September 2018, 06:34 AM |#8  
michael08071984's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
Donate to Me
More
Good Morning.

Bootloader is unlocked, no matter which key combinations ill try the screen stays black. When i have the usb cable at the PC (no matter which Port or cable) it the plugin - plugout sound plays every few seconds/minutes (not the same time in between). It is recognized as "MediaTek USB Port (COM4)" (different PC i tried). When ill try to install the vcom drivers i get the message that the best drivers are already installed and that are the mediatek usb port driver.

Image of the device manager: https://ibb.co/erkW6e

Quote:
Originally Posted by zelipukin

is it "MEDIATEK USB PORT (COM8)" appears for a second in the devices tree or "mediatek preloader usb vcom (android) (com8)"
if second, then everything is OK with the connection.
if its exactly MEDIATEK USB PORT (COM8) then there is something wrong
try to connect cable with diff buttons combination, i.e. "vol+" + connect cable .
try different "download agent" (DA_PL.bin ?)
Though I also used AllInOne_DA and flash tool V.5.1728

also, you might find Miracle Box Tool is easier to use
try "read" option first to backup your current rom

Attachment 4598709

I shoul ask this first:
- have you ulocked bootloader ?
- when your press "power" and "vol+" after some wait is anything appears on the screen
(boot menu: fastboot, recovery, regular boot) ?
- when your press "power" and "vol-" after some wait is anything appears on the screen
(chinese written) ?



---------- Post added at 07:34 ---------- Previous post was at 07:07 ----------

zelipukin i made a short Video about the behavior. The Device seems to activate when i push vol+ or power, but it looses connection when i stop holding the button or sometimes even when i hold the button.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1m3Y...ew?usp=sharing
18th September 2018, 08:29 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jackson
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
...thinking
Just tried...seems like backups I made(and posted here) from Miracle Box is incompatible with SP Flash.
SP Flash doesn't like this and doesn't like that when tries to restore those backups but Miracle Box restores individual partitions or whole ROM w/o problem.
SP Flash is so inconvenient if you try to make a backup ... its also inconvenient when you try to restore.
Where did I get that Miracle Box for free ?
Let me figure out something...
....
This is something beyond my understanding but let me to describe what I did
- in SP Flash I choose scatter file and recovery.bin (like I sent to you)
- download only - no go
- download+format - no go
- firmware update - warning message about wrong partition size or something like this - Ignored - Flashed
- Bricked again (like yours - black screen - that's it)
- OK, I have several backups. Tried all of them - none of them works... except one
- Flashed that backup with SP Flash - no questions, no warnings, no errors - device came alive
- Flashed only recovery.bin - everything went fine
- Tried to find difference btw different backups - but couldn't find any
- So I tried to flash those files (to try 3.zip) several times and everything went OK, so this is 100% working backup.
Try it and see what happens, then we can go somewhere else. I still suspicious about those MTK Usb Com(8) instead of preloader usb. Also if you used "Firmware upgrade" option once, I beleive you'll need full ROM flash. Keep looking for it @ Needrom.com.
Strange things happen. Couple years ago I lost MTP connection with my MiMax. I tried everything possible but no luck - have to use UMS Enabler so I can read/write ExtSD at least, but MTP works with Chuwi.
I spent numerous hours trying to connect Chuwi in preloader mode until found that solution about Virtual Serial Port drivers.
18th September 2018, 10:50 AM |#10  
michael08071984's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks for your help so far. Seems like my Device is half dead after 2 Hours of use
18th September 2018, 01:55 PM |#11  
michael08071984's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
Donate to Me
More
I'll tried to change the Drivers for the mediatek, it shows the device now with the preloader, but i think it doesnt work right. when i change the usb port it comes back as MediaTek USB Port (COM4). I made you a 15 Second Clip of the behavior.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1m7w...ew?usp=sharing

Really weird. :-/

---------- Post added at 14:55 ---------- Previous post was at 14:40 ----------

and no chuwi hi9 pro rom at needrom yet. :-/
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
chuwi hi9 pro, root, twrp, unlock

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes