FORUMS

Is that safe ? Ask before!

1,299 posts
Thanks Meter: 689

By Raiz, Senior Member on 5th June 2020, 02:55 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Is that safe ? Ask before!

This is a place to ask before doing anything with your Android Phone. It can be everything from deep modification to installing a creepy apk file you find on some weird website, it can also be physical modification like tear downs (I'll admit I'm not a pro with that). People here will help you determine if it's a good idea or not.
This place is also dedicated to ask about Android security and privacy.
The general goal here is to have a centralised place to learn about Android Security, and share knowledge.

Quote:

Quick disclamer: If you heard some advice here, never consider it's 100% risk-proof (it's just risk-resistant lol). Seriously, most of the time nothing bad happens, but no one here can be help responsible for your decisions/bad luck.

This thread is under construction right now, it'll be up and active in few hours (when I'm back from work)-> It'll take some days but once it's up it is
5th June 2020, 02:55 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member

Donate to Me
More
Advices Central
This post is used to centralise every peace of advice in the thread, tag/quote me to get in

Quote:
Originally Posted by patricia123

Hey !!
Do Andriod phones need antivirus or internet security as a must? If so provide me some links..
Thankxxxx in advance

My answer: It absolutely doesn't, please don't download them, those are mostly commercial apps full of ads that plays with the fears of users. They even slow down your device!

Android Security advice :

Quote:

• Just don't install apps that you don't trust (apk files and weird looking Google play apps)
• Never share your passwords with somebody not trusted, use a different one for each of you accounts.
• Don't install app asking off context permissions (e.g: calculator asking for camera/mic)
Find more here :
https://forum.xda-developers.com/general/security