FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Teclast M89 problem installing TWRP

1 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By nexus856, Junior Member on 22nd January 2019, 05:03 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
9th September 2019, 12:59 AM |#31  
Junior Member
Flag Moncton
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected]

My setup:
TWRP (thanks @ValdikSS), encryption disabled, root with latest superSU, framework patched for signatur spoofing & microG.
Core 1 - 3 most offline, only core 0 running and on load core 4 + 5. All cores running only on heavy load. (cpuburn with 20 or more threads)

My setup:
TWRPalso from ValdikSs, encryption disabled. Root via patching boot.img with Magisk 19.3.
14th September 2019, 07:44 PM |#32  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmlanner

My setup:
TWRPalso from ValdikSs, encryption disabled. Root via patching boot.img with Magisk 19.3.

Sorry for the late reply.
which app do you use to check if the cores are online?
can you manually put them online under heavy load, for example with kernel adiutor?

Sent from my Teclast M89 using XDA Labs
14th September 2019, 11:58 PM |#33  
Junior Member
Flag Moncton
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected]

Sorry for the late reply.
which app do you use to check if the cores are online?
can you manually put them online under heavy load, for example with kernel adiutor?

I have several apps.3C Toolbox Pro, EX Kernal Manger.FX Kernel Manger, and Kernel Auditor. I can't turn on cores 1-3 no matter what I try or what load I put on the CPU.
15th September 2019, 11:56 AM |#34  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmlanner

I have several apps.3C Toolbox Pro, EX Kernal Manger.FX Kernel Manger, and Kernel Auditor. I can't turn on cores 1-3 no matter what I try or what load I put on the CPU.

What I would do if I were you:
Make a Nandroid backup, flash the stock rom and check if all cores are running.
If the problem persists, it seems to be a defect of the device.

Sent from my Teclast M89 using XDA Labs
The Following User Says Thank You to [email protected] For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift [email protected] Ad-Free
15th September 2019, 02:46 PM |#35  
Junior Member
Flag Moncton
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected]

What I would do if I were you:
Make a Nandroid backup, flash the stock rom and check if all cores are running.
If the problem persists, it seems to be a defect of the device.

I guess you are right- back to the beginning again and see what happens.
15th September 2019, 11:13 PM |#36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmlanner

I guess you are right- back to the beginning again and see what happens.

If it works with the stock rom, try superSU instead of Magisk.
I had had strange behaviour with Magisk and crashes,
so I used superSU in the second attempt and am happy with it.
Good luck!

Sent from my Teclast M89 using XDA Labs
The Following User Says Thank You to [email protected] For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift [email protected] Ad-Free
16th September 2019, 05:41 PM |#37  
Junior Member
Flag Moncton
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected]

If it works with the stock rom, try superSU instead of Magisk.
I had had strange behaviour with Magisk and crashes,
so I used superSU in the second attempt and am happy with it.
Good luck!

I may do that- though I am happy overall with the tablet performance now.
9th October 2019, 01:53 AM |#38  
Junior Member
Flag Moncton
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmlanner

I may do that- though I am happy overall with the tablet performance now.

So I took my M89 right back to stock via sptool. Still can't get cores 1-3 to come online with cpuburn. Perhaps I got a factory second MT8176 with fused cores?. I am thinking it maybe time to contact Teclast and ask why they sold me a three core device instead of a six core!
12th October 2019, 09:22 AM |#39  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmlanner

So I took my M89 right back to stock via sptool. Still can't get cores 1-3 to come online with cpuburn. Perhaps I got a factory second MT8176 with fused cores?. I am thinking it maybe time to contact Teclast and ask why they sold me a three core device instead of a six core!

But with 3 cores less, the battery lasts longer.
Good luck with your communication with Teclast.
I am very satisfied with my device.

Sent from my Teclast M89 using XDA Labs
Yesterday, 06:04 PM |#40  
kamuikun's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 103
 
More
@ValdikSS

Do you have the files for the Teclast M89 Pro? I've tried but the M89 files don't work on the Pro.

I think it is a similar device, just the CPU on the Pro have 10 cores VS 8.

I have major issue with the stock firmware, RetroArch have huge slowdowns every 3-4 seconds due to a poorly implemented CPU governor I suppose - hoping to fix that with root.

Thanks!
Yesterday, 06:07 PM |#41  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 174
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamuikun

Do you have the files for the Teclast M89 Pro? I've tried but the M89 files don't work on the Pro.
I think it is a similar device, just the CPU on the Pro have 10 cores VS 8.
I have major issue with the stock firmware, RetroArch have huge slowdowns every 3-4 seconds due to a poorly implemented CPU governor I suppose - hoping to fix that with root.
Thanks!

It's not a similar device, it has different, incompatible SoC. I don't have this device. You can get the source of TWRP (it's in the archive), the M89 Pro kernel from the firmware package and try to compile it for M89 Pro.
The Following User Says Thank You to ValdikSS For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ValdikSS Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes