USB C with OTG with charging: Portables as Computers in 2019 and on

Search This thread

JamesMNewton

Nov 25, 2019
I'm seeing multiple kickstarters for "turn your cell phone into a computer" type appliances. Typically a keyboard thing that includes an OTG adapter, an HDMI output, etc... Most /claim/ that you can charge your cell phone while working. They are all overfunded (and shaky, I'm not recommending them)

I've tried many times to use phones / tablets as OTG devices to interface to hardware of different types. Everything from diagnostic tools to robot arms (no really, I'd post links but I'm a newbie here and linking is always suspect; I don't want to be accused of spamming).

One major issue always comes up: You can NOT charge while running OTG on /most/ phones. I've done a lot of research on this, and found a few older phones / tablets that seem to support it. I can't find a /single/ USB C based device that is known to do it. Perhaps it's just not an advertising point? MFGRs don't see most users doing that, so they don't support it?

So what am I asking?
1. Is anyone with a modern phone, especially USB C based, actually using OTG and charging at the same time? Please note: I'm NOT talking about charging the OTG device /from/ the phone, I'm talking about charging the phone while using OTG devices. If you are doing this, please: What phone, what OTG adapter?

2. Is this something people have an interest in doing? Why yes, why no? For me, I don't have any interest in using my cell as a computer, but being able to plug it into equipment and monitor / control operation while not running the battery flat would be great!