Remove All Ads from XDA

"USNC" file download

412 posts
Thanks Meter: 156
By madvinegar, Senior Member on 18th May 2017, 07:49 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
I logged into the forum today from my win10 laptop and everytime I open a page in the forum, an executable file called USNC is downloaded. Any other members facing this?

What is this? Is it a bug? A virous? Or should I install it so as to be able to surf the forum better?

Any advise will be appreciated.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to madvinegar For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift madvinegar Ad-Free
18th May 2017, 08:27 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Trento
Thanks Meter: 8
Even the same thing happens to me. Every time I open a XDA forum page I will see a window where you plan to save a "USNC" file from the web address
This happens either with a Windows 10 PC or MAC.
What is it about? virus? malware?
18th May 2017, 08:28 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
Happens here also on my phone. Latest Chrome for Android.
18th May 2017, 08:35 AM |#4  
eagleeyetom's Avatar
Developer Committee Lead / XDA Portal Team / Senior Moderator
Flag Gdańsk
Thanks Meter: 15,584
Donate to Me
I'm getting the same result. @svetius can you look into it?
18th May 2017, 08:40 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
Same here. It's piss annoying
18th May 2017, 08:43 AM |#6  
Thanks Meter: 2
Same here. I've like 6 downloads!
18th May 2017, 09:02 AM |#7  
Thanks Meter: 0
Yep just logged on and happening to me everytime a page opens on xda... dont think its a virus most likely a bug.. annoying and laggy though
18th May 2017, 09:03 AM |#8  
Thanks Meter: 5
I'm facing the same problem very annoying
18th May 2017, 09:07 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Flag Csongrád
Thanks Meter: 0
Same here. Windows7
18th May 2017, 09:11 AM |#10  
CptDraco's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
Donate to Me
It's a broken targeted advert link
They are broken advertising links from a company called Feature Forward. You know those ad videos that play on all sorts of different websites, including this one? Ever wonder how they work? A targeted ad gets sent to your browser. Somehow these are broken, and all you get is an empty file with no extension. But if you check the packet data its an active link to a file traceable to a domain in Washington. Registered under Feature Forward.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CptDraco For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift CptDraco Ad-Free
18th May 2017, 09:13 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
Don´t know what this have to do with xda ? is there any mod admin or someone else who can declare whats happend ? maybe is a secure problem on xda ?

Whois & Quick Stats
Registrant Org Feature Forward Ltd. is associated with ~1 other domains
Registrar Status clientDeleteProhibited, clientRenewProhibited, clientTransferProhibited, clientUpdateProhibited
Dates Created on 2016-03-03 - Expires on 2018-03-03 - Updated on 2016-03-03
Name Server(s) NS1.P20.DYNECT.NET (has 252,892 domains)
NS2.P20.DYNECT.NET (has 252,892 domains)
NS3.P20.DYNECT.NET (has 252,892 domains)
NS4.P20.DYNECT.NET (has 252,892 domains)

IP Address - 1 other site is hosted on this server
IP Location United States - District Of Columbia - Washington - Ofer Zinger
ASN United States AS36351 SOFTLAYER - SoftLayer Technologies Inc., US (registered Dec 12, 2005)
Domain Status Registered And Active Website
Whois History 17 records have been archived since 2016-03-03
IP History 1 change on 2 unique IP addresses over 1 years
Registrar History 1 registrar
Hosting History 1 change on 2 unique name servers over 1 year
Whois Server
Website Title Feature Forward
Server Type nginx/1.8.0
Response Code 200
SEO Score 73%
Terms 1912 (Unique: 588, Linked: 5)
Images 4 (Alt tags missing: 2)
Links 6 (Internal: 0, Outbound: 1)
Whois Record ( last updated on 2017-05-18 )
Domain Name:
Registrar URL:
Registrant Name: Ohad Gliksman
Registrant Organization: Feature Forward Ltd.
Name Server: NS1.P20.DYNECT.NET
Name Server: NS2.P20.DYNECT.NET
Name Server: NS3.P20.DYNECT.NET
Name Server: NS4.P20.DYNECT.NET
DNSSEC: unsigned

You must Register or Log in to view the Whois record for this domain name
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes