FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Android 7.0+] AppRadio Unchained Rootless

2,384 posts
Thanks Meter: 966
 
By Area51©, Senior Member on 16th April 2017, 05:19 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
7th October 2019, 03:24 PM |#601  
Sym_Link's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 528
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Area51©

New beta is now available. To get it sign up here: https://play.google.com/apps/testing....arunchainednr
V0.09:
- Fix for black menu text color, now white as it should be.
- SWC commands can now be directed to a target app.

To set SWC target app:
- Goto 'Settings->Screen Settings and more'
- Hit 'SWC target app' and select an app from the list that can handle media buttons
An example that works is 'Google Play Music'.

The Steering Wheel Control commands are injected as media buttons. In Androids 7 those were sent to all apps than can handle them. However since Android 8 they only work when being directed to a specific app. This is now possible.
Tested with 'Google Play Music' and 'Youtube'.

I have used tasker and the autonotification tasker plugin to allow me to use the SWC for multiple apps. I have ARUnchained pointing to taker for the SWC app. I have four tasker profiles for each app I want to use. Two of them uses autonotification to see if an app is running by checking to see if it is in notifications and sets a variable to 1 or 0. The other two are for next and previous tracks. Those are triggered by the next/previous commands sent by ARU and whether the variable is on or off, then send the media command to the app.

This works great for Poweramp, Google Play Music, and Pandora. I tried to do LiveXLive (Slacker) but it just wouldn't work. LiveXLive doesn't work if I set that as the SWC app either, so it must just not take media controls, which is terrible for a music app. I imagine if the apps works being set in ARU as the SWC app, then it will work with tasker.

I was having an issue getting the variables to switch back to 0 when Play Music and Pandora stop playing. Works fine with Poweramp. It has something to do with the way the notifications are dismissed in those apps. It detects when the app starts playing music, just not when it stops. I worked around it by having tasker set all of the app variables back to 0 when one opens. For instance, when Poweramp opens and sets it's variable to 1, it also sets the other app variables to 0. So, I never have more than one app receiving media controls.

I can upload my profiles if anyone wants them.
8th October 2019, 06:51 AM |#602  
Area51©'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Breda
Thanks Meter: 966
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sym_Link

I have used tasker and the autonotification tasker plugin to allow me to use the SWC for multiple apps.
...

Great idea. I was considering to make it possible to add multiple apps and just send the media buttons to all of them but I wasn't sure what would happen. If only the currently running app would respond then it would be fine. But it might be that it would activate a non running app that then in turn could stop the active app. Kinda not what you want.
I didn't have time to test it with multiple apps. So decided to make it so that at least one app can be controlled.
Do you know if it doesn't hurt to send media buttons to multiple apps? It would probably not be too much work to add that.
8th October 2019, 10:11 AM |#603  
Senior Member
Flag Bordeaux
Thanks Meter: 108
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Area51©

Anybody has any issues with the beta version? About 72 people have installed it now. I guess no news is good news.......
In the meantime I made a workaround for the text color being black in the app's overflow menu. It seems a bug in Android 9 as the correct text color (white) is being displayed when running on Android 7 and 8. It's just cosmetic but it makes the menu very hard to read.

You are doing this on Tasker without root?

EDIT :sorry, not the good related post... I send a new message at the end of the thread
8th October 2019, 10:19 AM |#604  
Area51©'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Breda
Thanks Meter: 966
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seburton

You are doing this on Tasker without root?

Please define "this". Change the text color?
8th October 2019, 11:10 AM |#605  
Sym_Link's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 528
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Area51©

...
Do you know if it doesn't hurt to send media buttons to multiple apps? It would probably not be too much work to add that.

I did try that at first and results weren't great. Each app behaves a little different. Poweramp will change the track even if not playing, but it didn't actually cause it to start playing. So it would always be changing tracks in the background. Play Music always starts playing and takes over, even if it hasn't been open at all recently and definitely not running background.

Pandora and YouTube music were fine and didn't do anything unless they were actively playing music. Even if they had just been closed and probably still in running processes, they wouldn't react.

So, you can see with just those four apps, you get three different results. I don't think you could get away with sending to multiple apps without some serious testing to know which apps play nice together. I imagine it would create a lot of headache for you from users complaining if you left it up to them to figure out which ones work together, lol.
The Following User Says Thank You to Sym_Link For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Sym_Link Ad-Free
8th October 2019, 04:23 PM |#606  
Senior Member
Flag Bordeaux
Thanks Meter: 108
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sym_Link

I have used tasker and the autonotification tasker plugin to allow me to use the SWC for multiple apps. I have ARUnchained pointing to taker for the SWC app. I have four tasker profiles for each app I want to use. Two of them uses autonotification to see if an app is running by checking to see if it is in notifications and sets a variable to 1 or 0. The other two are for next and previous tracks. Those are triggered by the next/previous commands sent by ARU and whether the variable is on or off, then send the media command to the app.

This works great for Poweramp, Google Play Music, and Pandora. I tried to do LiveXLive (Slacker) but it just wouldn't work. LiveXLive doesn't work if I set that as the SWC app either, so it must just not take media controls, which is terrible for a music app. I imagine if the apps works being set in ARU as the SWC app, then it will work with tasker.

I was having an issue getting the variables to switch back to 0 when Play Music and Pandora stop playing. Works fine with Poweramp. It has something to do with the way the notifications are dismissed in those apps. It detects when the app starts playing music, just not when it stops. I worked around it by having tasker set all of the app variables back to 0 when one opens. For instance, when Poweramp opens and sets it's variable to 1, it also sets the other app variables to 0. So, I never have more than one app receiving media controls.

I can upload my profiles if anyone wants them.

Are you doing this with a rooter device?
8th October 2019, 04:44 PM |#607  
Sym_Link's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 528
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seburton

Are you doing this with a rooter device?

No, no root needed for these tasks. Tasker doesn't require root for most of the stuff it can do.
The Following User Says Thank You to Sym_Link For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Sym_Link Ad-Free
9th October 2019, 11:33 AM |#608  
Senior Member
Flag Bordeaux
Thanks Meter: 108
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sym_Link

No, no root needed for these tasks. Tasker doesn't require root for most of the stuff it can do.

OK. It's good to know if I decide to switch to a non rooted device a day.
9th October 2019, 01:38 PM |#609  
bigcid10's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Palm Beach
Thanks Meter: 70
 
Donate to Me
More
I have a avh-x8500bhs and aru
is there a swc app that I need to have installed on my phone as well to
make the connection between the swc controller and aru?
Thank you
10th October 2019, 11:36 PM |#610  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Hi I have an Appradio 3, is there a way so that when I receive calls I can still use the head unit and see the whole screen? I cant even use the dialer for touch tones since the head unit highjacks the display.

When I turn off bluetooth for calls it resolves the head unit recognizing the phone call but then I lose call audio.

Any solutions that can keep phone call audio playing through the head unit, but it not recognizing it as a phone call?

Thank you
14th October 2019, 11:42 PM |#611  
Sym_Link's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 528
 
More
FYI - I got the Samsung S10 Android 10 beta today and everything works fine with ARU
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes