FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Index] Motorola Flashing Utilities and Firmware (Unbrick Your Moto)

14,806 posts
Thanks Meter: 6,637
 
By sd_shadow, Recognized Contributor on 28th February 2015, 06:11 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
28th October 2019, 07:31 PM |#121  
Quote:
Originally Posted by NM99

Hello! I wonder if you could help me out...

I'm currently trying to relock the bootloader of my motorola one P30 Play (XT1941-3 deen RETBR).

First, I flashed the latest stock rom available (PPKS29.68-16-21-14 with the October security patch) and ran the fastboot oem lock commands just as below:


fastboot getvar max-sparse-size
fastboot oem fb_mode_set
fastboot flash partition gpt.bin
fastboot flash bootloader bootloader.img
fastboot flash modem_a NON-HLOS.bin
fastboot flash fsg_a fsg.mbn
fastboot erase modemst1
fastboot erase modemst2
fastboot flash dsp_a adspso.bin
fastboot flash logo_a logo.bin
fastboot flash boot_a boot.img
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.0
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.1
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.2
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.3
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.4
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.5
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.6
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.7
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.8
fastboot flash system_b system_b.img_sparsechunk.0
fastboot flash system_b system_b.img_sparsechunk.1
fastboot flash vendor_a vendor.img_sparsechunk.0
fastboot flash vendor_a vendor.img_sparsechunk.1
fastboot flash oem_a oem.img
fastboot flash oem_b oem_other.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase userdata
fastboot erase DDR
fastboot oem fb_mode_clear

fastboot oem lock
fastboot oem lock
fastboot flash oem oem.img
fastboot flash oem_b oem_other.img
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.0
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.1
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.2
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.3
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.4
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.5
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.6
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.7
fastboot flash system_a system.img_sparsechunk.8
fastboot flash system_b system_b.img_sparsechunk.0
fastboot flash system_b system_b.img_sparsechunk.1
fastboot flash boot_a boot.img
fastboot oem lock
fastboot reboot


Then I had this error:
(Still require signed boot.img)


I rebooted the phone, went to unlock the developer options and check the oem settings and saw this:
(OEM Unlock is greyed out and on unlocked position)


Rebooted back into the bootloader so I could then lock it, but now I keep getting this error:
('Check OEM Unlock' in Android Setting > Developer Options)


Could anyone help me?

Try reflashing firmware again
The Following User Says Thank You to sd_shadow For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sd_shadow Ad-Free
28th October 2019, 07:41 PM |#123  
NM99's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag São Paulo - SP - Brazil
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

Motorola devices are notoriously bad about relocking the bootloader.
If you unlock the bootloader, you may not be able to relock.

Do you think it's worth the risk relocking it?
My main concern is not being able to update to Android 10 in a few months time, hence why I wanted to relock it.
28th October 2019, 08:09 PM |#124  
Quote:
Originally Posted by NM99

Do you think it's worth the risk relocking it?
My main concern is not being able to update to Android 10 in a few months time, hence why I wanted to relock it.

As long a it full stock firmware, that hasn't been downgraded, nor rooted, you can allow updates or just flash the full firmware when it's leaked..
Really the biggest issues have been when the firmware has been downgraded, then the update may brick it.
The Following User Says Thank You to sd_shadow For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sd_shadow Ad-Free
28th October 2019, 08:36 PM |#125  
NM99's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag São Paulo - SP - Brazil
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow

As long a it full stock firmware, that hasn't been downgraded, nor rooted, you can allow updates or just flash the full firmware when it's leaked..
Really the biggest issues have been when the firmware has been downgraded, then the update may brick it.

I did a downgrade once when my phone couldn't get out of the bootloader screen. Then it updated via OTA, then I had to manually install one security update and the next one went via OTA, so I dont know what happened.

Also, my commands for flashing and locking bootloader are correct?

EDIT: I forgot to say that another reason of wanting to lock the bootloader is because I can't use Google Pay nor Netflix anymore.
28th October 2019, 11:09 PM |#126  
Quote:
Originally Posted by NM99

I did a downgrade once when my phone couldn't get out of the bootloader screen. Then it updated via OTA, then I had to manually install one security update and the next one went via OTA, so I dont know what happened.

Also, my commands for flashing and locking bootloader are correct?

EDIT: I forgot to say that another reason of wanting to lock the bootloader is because I can't use Google Pay nor Netflix anymore.

Use the flash all.bat then retry the relocking commands again
The Following User Says Thank You to sd_shadow For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sd_shadow Ad-Free
28th October 2019, 11:20 PM |#127  
Also
repeatedly enter
Code:
fastboot oem lock
It may take 3 or more times.
Until i says something to the effect of....
Quote:

you still need to flash a signed boot.img

Flash
Code:
fastboot flash boot boot.img
This will should flash fine without saying the image is not signed

Again
Code:
fastboot oem lock
The Following User Says Thank You to sd_shadow For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sd_shadow Ad-Free
29th October 2019, 06:56 PM |#128  
NM99's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag São Paulo - SP - Brazil
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
@sd_shadow

I just reflashed the firmware and ran the "fastboot oem lock" but all I got was the same thing from yesterday:

('Check OEM Unlock' in Android Setting > Developer Options)
Attachment 4858943

Decided to try "fastboot oem unlock" and this is what I'm getting right now:
Click image for larger version

Name:	fastboot oem lock problem 3.png
Views:	60
Size:	73.5 KB
ID:	4860017

Did the whole reconfiguration of my cellphone and the OEM Unlock on the Developers menu is still greyed out and it says that it's unlocked, but meanwhile, I ran this command: "adb shell getprop sys.oem_unlock_allowed" and I got this:
Click image for larger version

Name:	adb shell getprop sys.oem_unlock_allowed.png
Views:	62
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	4860031

0 means it's locked (if it was unlocked, it should give me 1), so right now I'm wondering what the I can do. I don't remember having such a hard time in relocking the bootloader on the lenovo Vibe K5 and the Moto G5 but I might be wrong.

EDIT: Also, I just took a look at the OEM Unlock switch and it is positioned to the left, in the locked position, but it says it's unlocked. ADB command above returns 0 as answer...
14th November 2019, 01:56 PM |#129  
Quote:
Originally Posted by NM99

@sd_shadow

I just reflashed the firmware and ran the "fastboot oem lock" but all I got was the same thing from yesterday:

('Check OEM Unlock' in Android Setting > Developer Options)


Decided to try "fastboot oem unlock" and this is what I'm getting right now:


Did the whole reconfiguration of my cellphone and the OEM Unlock on the Developers menu is still greyed out and it says that it's unlocked, but meanwhile, I ran this command: "adb shell getprop sys.oem_unlock_allowed" and I got this:


0 means it's locked (if it was unlocked, it should give me 1), so right now I'm wondering what the I can do. I don't remember having such a hard time in relocking the bootloader on the lenovo Vibe K5 and the Moto G5 but I might be wrong.

EDIT: Also, I just took a look at the OEM Unlock switch and it is positioned to the left, in the locked position, but it says it's unlocked. ADB command above returns 0 as answer...

If you still haven't relocked

Look at this
https://forum.xda-developers.com/g5-...cking-t3801320
Quote:

flash either stock or a stock-based rom along with Magisk and enable OEM unlock in the dev options and the you should be able to re-lock.

Sent from my mata using XDA Labs
The Following User Says Thank You to sd_shadow For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sd_shadow Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
index, moto drivers, motorola, rsd lite, sd_shadow

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes