Honor 7x
Win an Honor 7X!

[Universal] [Flashable] [Logcat] [Guide] So your test ROM build didn't boot

549 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,451

By USA-RedDragon, Senior Member on 28th November 2015, 05:43 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello all,

I've noticed the lack of a guide for pulling ADB logs for developers. Being a developer, I wanted a quick link to send people to, rather than reexplaining.

If you are looking for a GENERAL explanation on how to get a logcat, or setup your computer for pulling a logcat, look at this amazing guide here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2274119

Consider this guide an extension for the above thread, making an easy how-to for developers to point people to.

What this guide is NOT:
- A guide on how to pull a logcat in general
- A guide on how to setup adb on a computer

This guide is/will:
-Assume you know how to connect via adb
-Assume you have installed drivers and adb
-A way to show common users to get the logs the developers need

So I personally build for devices I don't own. A LOT. So, should it bootloop(specifically this) or not boot at all, I NEED these logs to help fix the problem. Most users are willing to do so..... as long as you teach them. So this is my one-size-fits-all guide to this.

Note: Later, I will do a write-up on how to pull kernel logs as an extension to this in the second post

To pull a logcat during a bootloop, you need to have adb permissive. This can be done several ways. I have added to the build.prop manually before but that was in TWRP and is a pain to guide users on. It's SUPPOSED to be done with the ramdisk, but I can't ask users to pull their ramdisk and edit it and reflash. So I have made a flashable zip to extract ramdisk and add a permissive adb property to default.prop

The zip will be in the downloads below, all you need to do is flash it when you see a ROM is bootlooping.