FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[TUTORIAL] How to flash a factory image | Return to stock | Unroot/SAVE your Nexus 5

3,898 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,459
 
By abaaaabbbb63, Senior Member on 5th November 2013, 07:21 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
3rd June 2014, 04:08 PM |#1121  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Unhappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

This is not normal. The only other times I've seen that is when the emmc has appeared to fail. I think you'll need to RMA the device

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

-> ok, i'll request an rma on google website then.
Thanks for your help.
 
 
amit.tiger12
3rd June 2014, 05:32 PM |#1122  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
As op said..

★After everything finished, select "Recovery" using the volume buttons.

★When a small Android appears, press Power Button + Volume UP.

★Select "Wipe data/factory data reset"


but I accidentally selected last option..
wipe cache partition

I don't know whats happening to my device, but its showing small android with red remark.
its now about 10 min and still showing the same...
please please help..


I did it with pressing and holding Power Button + Volume Down at the same time for 10-12 sec. and device started with select language.
I powered of device. and used following commands

fastboot erase boot
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase recovery
fastboot erase system
fastboot erase userdata

and then again started by method 2 as in op.
but after... as op said..

★After everything finished, select "Recovery" using the volume buttons.

★When a small Android appears, press Power Button + Volume UP.

★Select "Wipe data/factory data reset"

my device is showing error
Code:
E:failed to mount /cache (invalid argument)
E:cant mount /cache/recovery/log
E:cant open /cache/recovery/log
E:failed to mount /cache (invalid argument)
E:cant mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E:cant open /cache/recovery/last_log
E:failed to mount /cache (invalid argument)
E:cant mount /cache/recovery/last_install
E:cant open /cache/recovery/last_install
E:failed to mount /cache (invalid argument)

--wiping data...
Formating /data...
E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)
formatting  /cache...
Data wipe complete.
so what should i do now??

it was coming 1 st time also what i strike in first post.. After selecting English US language.. camera stopped working.. etc etc apps..
3rd June 2014, 07:42 PM |#1123  
Quote:
Originally Posted by amit.tiger12


so what should i do now??

it was coming 1 st time also what i strike in first post.. After selecting English US language.. camera stopped working.. etc etc apps..

did you flash cache.img at the end? (fastboot flash cache cache.img)
if not, flash it (dont "fastboot erase cache" after), boot to recovery and wipe data
The Following User Says Thank You to samersh72 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift samersh72 Ad-Free
4th June 2014, 12:17 AM |#1124  
self solved
4th June 2014, 01:40 AM |#1125  
Senior Member
Flag NC
Thanks Meter: 227
 
More
Deleted
4th June 2014, 03:45 AM |#1126  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
When I download the factory file and extract using winrar, I only get one image file. Am I missing something?
4th June 2014, 04:01 AM |#1127  
Quote:
Originally Posted by YusufEzzo

When I download the factory file and extract using winrar, I only get one image file. Am I missing something?

Use 7zip program to extract that file

Sent from my N91
The Following User Says Thank You to samersh72 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift samersh72 Ad-Free
4th June 2014, 04:07 AM |#1128  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by samersh72

Use 7zip program to extract that file

Sent from my N91

Will do, thanks.
amit.tiger12
4th June 2014, 03:48 PM |#1129  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by samersh72

did you flash cache.img at the end? (fastboot flash cache cache.img)
if not, flash it (dont "fastboot erase cache" after), boot to recovery and wipe data

I ignored these errors what I told and wipe data..
Successfully running 4.4.3.. Thnx for help.
Some apps are not working with the 4.4.3. I will wait for an update to those apps.
4th June 2014, 09:47 PM |#1130  
l33ch0r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 249
 
More
This is probably not the right place to ask the question but since I didn't want to open a new thread here it goes:
Got Nexus 5 rooted and with CWM on 4.4.2 (ROM is still stock) - it just offered me to install an update to 4.4.3 which I downloaded and tried to install. Recovery told me it was "untrusted" and so on - anyways: how to update Nexus 5 to 4.4.3 without flashing a factory image or how to flash one like an "update"?

If someone could point me in the right direction I'd be really thankful
4th June 2014, 09:52 PM |#1131  
coolek33's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Zadupie
Thanks Meter: 1,771
 
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=53113072
The Following User Says Thank You to coolek33 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift coolek33 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
brick, factory, images, nexus 5, root

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes