FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[TUTORIAL] How to flash a factory image | Return to stock | Unroot/SAVE your Nexus 5

3,898 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,459
 
By abaaaabbbb63, Senior Member on 5th November 2013, 07:21 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
10th November 2013, 04:38 AM |#111  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 161
 
More
How to flash a factory image without erasing custom recovery
Let's say you want to flash the stock ROM to replace a custom ROM, but you don't want to erase your custom recovery, would you simply use method two but omit the following line? Do you have to reflash the recovery in order to restore the stock ROM? Could you simply replace recovery.img in image-hammerhead-krt16m with TWRP/CWM and use method number one? Thanks.

Code:
fastboot flash recovery C:/image-hammerhead-krt16m/recovery.img
 
 
10th November 2013, 05:21 AM |#112  
Chromium's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 6,573
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BirchBarlow

Let's say you want to flash the stock ROM to replace a custom ROM, but you don't want to erase your custom recovery, would you simply use method two but omit the following line? Do you have to reflash the recovery in order to restore the stock ROM? Could you simply replace recovery.img in image-hammerhead-krt16m with TWRP/CWM and use method number one? Thanks.

Code:
fastboot flash recovery C:/image-hammerhead-krt16m/recovery.img

Yes that should work, but if you want to get the stock rom back without losing your custom recovery its easier to simply download the flashable zip of it here and flash via recovery.
The Following User Says Thank You to Chromium For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Chromium Ad-Free
10th November 2013, 09:35 AM |#113  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 161
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromium_

Yes that should work, but if you want to get the stock rom back without losing your custom recovery its easier to simply download the flashable zip of it here and flash via recovery.

That makes sense. Thanks for the help
10th November 2013, 06:57 PM |#114  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
HI, What if I have custom recovery and I just want to flash stock recovery. How do I do that without wiping data?
10th November 2013, 07:03 PM |#115  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 5,432
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by supersain08

HI, What if I have custom recovery and I just want to flash stock recovery. How do I do that without wiping data?

Fastboot flash recovery recovery.img

Use the stock recovery image file
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jd1639 Ad-Free
10th November 2013, 07:05 PM |#116  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 4,184
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by supersain08

HI, What if I have custom recovery and I just want to flash stock recovery. How do I do that without wiping data?

Extract theGoogle factory image with 7-zip and you`ll see recovery.img , than flash in fastboot: fastboot flash recovery recovery.img and after that fastboot erase cache and then reboot. You will not loose any data.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift gee2012 Ad-Free
10th November 2013, 07:08 PM |#117  
abaaaabbbb63's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Somewhere Over The Rainbow
Thanks Meter: 3,459
 
More
*POOF*
http://www.phonandroid.com/forum/com...-5-t74138.html

French version... I'm international now.
The Following User Says Thank You to abaaaabbbb63 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift abaaaabbbb63 Ad-Free
10th November 2013, 07:27 PM |#118  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 7,645
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abaaaabbbb63

*POOF*
http://www.phonandroid.com/forum/com...-5-t74138.html

French version... I'm international now.

Oups... All your work is HERE
French people love you?
10th November 2013, 07:31 PM |#119  
abaaaabbbb63's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Somewhere Over The Rainbow
Thanks Meter: 3,459
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primokorn

Oups... All your work is HERE
French people love you?

Heh

Apparently... well.. at least they love my work

Well done with the translation! Hope it will help !
The Following User Says Thank You to abaaaabbbb63 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift abaaaabbbb63 Ad-Free
10th November 2013, 11:30 PM |#120  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 161
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by supersain08

HI, What if I have custom recovery and I just want to flash stock recovery. How do I do that without wiping data?

Flashing the recovery won't wipe any data. Just take it from the factory image from Google (recovery.img).
11th November 2013, 08:37 AM |#121  
Senior Member
Flag Sevilla
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
I reflashed stock last night via the first method here and all went well.

Did it cos was having battery problems and have read that this might help and it seems like it might have done.

My question is will I have relocked the bootloader? From reading the rest of the thread, I don't think so, but not sure.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
brick, factory, images, nexus 5, root

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes