FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Accidentally wiped internal storage..need help adb pushing rom!

1,108 posts
Thanks Meter: 203
 
By jdiddy_ub, Senior Member on 29th April 2014, 03:04 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
as the title states..in a rush i accidentally wiped my internal storage and everything else..i can get into recovery and fastboot mode

i have all the adb drives and stuff installed from when i previously used it (months ago)

when i plug my phone into my pc in fastboot it doesnt not connect and adb devices does not list it as connected

please PM me and help me..i just need to push a rom onto the phone so i can flash it
29th April 2014, 03:55 AM |#2  
Bawlz McNutt's Avatar
Member
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdiddy_ub

as the title states..in a rush i accidentally wiped my internal storage and everything else..i can get into recovery and fastboot mode

i have all the adb drives and stuff installed from when i previously used it (months ago)

when i plug my phone into my pc in fastboot it doesnt not connect and adb devices does not list it as connected

please PM me and help me..i just need to push a rom onto the phone so i can flash it

That's ironic, the very same thing happen to me yesterday except in my case I undervolted too low and corrupted the data, had to format everything.

Which recovery are you using? PhilZ Touch allows you to push stuff onto the internal storage.

The command would be "adb push (name of your folder) /sdcard/"
The Following User Says Thank You to Bawlz McNutt For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Bawlz McNutt Ad-Free
29th April 2014, 04:15 AM |#3  
jdiddy_ub's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Queens Village, NY
Thanks Meter: 203
 
Donate to Me
More
thanks for the response...im using TWRP...i just decided to flash the stock images and start from scratch
The Following User Says Thank You to jdiddy_ub For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jdiddy_ub Ad-Free
29th April 2014, 07:24 AM |#4  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 19,164
 
More
adb doesn't work in fastboot mode. Only fastboot works in fastboot mode. adb works only in recovery mode or Android mode. adb and fastboot are NOT the same thing. They are not synonymous

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to danarama For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift danarama Ad-Free
29th April 2014, 11:18 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Göd
Thanks Meter: 1,254
 
Donate to Me
More
  1. Get fastboot and adb exes for windows.
  2. Add them to your PATH to make them available from everywhere.
  3. If you dont know from where to get fastboot and adb and you dont know how to add them to the PATH, then this is for you.
  • If you choose TWRP to flash new rom:
  1. If you are on windows 8 or 8.1 then disable driver signature enforcement.
  2. You need universal naked drivers.
  3. Open CMD window on your PC.
  4. Go to that directory where the rom.zip is. (The commands you need to navigate between folders: dir and cd)
  • For adb push:
  1. Type this in the CMD window and flash it in TWRP:
Code:
adb push rom.zip /sdcard
  • For adb sideload:
  1. In twrp: Advanced->ADB Sideload->Swipe to Start Sideload
  2. Then type this in the CMD window:
Code:
adb sideload rom.zip
If you ends up in boot loop do a factory reset.

For flashing factory images:
  1. Enter the phone to fastboot mode and connect it to the PC
  2. Install usb drivers from google.
  3. Download factory images for nexus 5 and extract it.
  4. Run flash-all.bat.

If you are still lost I recommend you these threads:
[TUTORIAL] How to flash a factory image | Return to stock | Unroot/SAVE your Nexus 5
[Tutorial] How to flash factory images with LG Flashtool
9th May 2014, 10:39 PM |#6  
toprunner2786's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
I've been having trouble with this..... When I wipe data in twrp it also wipes internal storage. How are people wiping their device for a clean rom install?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
9th May 2014, 10:49 PM |#7  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 19,164
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by toprunner2786

I've been having trouble with this..... When I wipe data in twrp it also wipes internal storage. How are people wiping their device for a clean rom install?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

For me, by not using TWRP
9th May 2014, 10:55 PM |#8  
toprunner2786's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

For me, by not using TWRP

Oh.... Interesting I guess I never thought that it could be an issue with the recovery itself.... I just assumed it was operator error.

So I would assume CWM is the obvious alternative.... Is there anything else that is recommended?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
9th May 2014, 11:09 PM |#9  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 19,164
 
More
Link in signature

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
9th May 2014, 11:38 PM |#10  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 5,454
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by toprunner2786

I've been having trouble with this..... When I wipe data in twrp it also wipes internal storage. How are people wiping their device for a clean rom install?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

What do you mean by internal storage? Wiping data will wipe your apps but anything on your internal sdcard should not be wiped. Backups, etc

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
10th May 2014, 08:39 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Göd
Thanks Meter: 1,254
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by toprunner2786

I've been having trouble with this..... When I wipe data in twrp it also wipes internal storage. How are people wiping their device for a clean rom install?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

What I do is reboot to twrp. Select wipe then swipe that thing which tells me "swipe to factory reset".
This does wipes /cache and /data without deleting /data/media. The files on the internal storage is in /data/media/0
What I do not do is selecting Format data and type yes for format or going into the advanced wipe and select /sdcard to format too.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes