FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q]Wifi stuck on 'turning on'

1,092 posts
Thanks Meter: 261
 
By Humpie, Senior Member on 17th April 2014, 08:54 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
toastgodsupreme
10th April 2015, 05:59 PM |#111  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkAura

Here is what i see just after bootup. I am running stock 5.0 without root.
04-10 09:43:21.255: E/wpa_supplicant(877): Could not set interface wlan0 flags (UP): Operation not permitted
04-10 09:43:21.255: E/wpa_supplicant(877): nl80211: Could not set interface 'wlan0' UP
04-10 09:43:21.256: E/wpa_supplicant(877): wlan0: Failed to initialize driver interface

Also is there a way to power reset the wifi chip? some equivalent to disconnecting the battery?

Did you even read my post RIGHT ABOVE YOURS where I posted the same log message AND fixed the issue? 😒
 
 
10th April 2015, 08:08 PM |#112  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
That worked once. Wifi started and the phone froze during accessing wifi settings. On reboot I saw the following:

<6>[ 0.469266] wifi: bcm_init_wlan_mem: WIFI MEM Allocated
<6>[ 0.469401] bcm_wifi_init_gpio_mem: wifi gpio and mem initialized
<6>[ 1.430818] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 0
<4>[ 1.474627] wifi_set_power = 1
<6>[ 1.630446] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull up
<4>[ 1.840182] wifi_set_carddetect = 1
<6>[ 1.840223] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 1
<4>[ 3.840200] failed to power up wifi chip, retry again (4 left) **
<4>[ 3.840382] ## wifi_remove
<4>[ 3.840423] wifi_set_power = 0
<6>[ 3.940531] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull down
<4>[ 3.940604] wifi_set_carddetect = 0
<6>[ 3.940644] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 0
<4>[ 3.941222] wifi_set_power = 1
<6>[ 4.091316] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull up
<4>[ 4.300177] wifi_set_carddetect = 1
<6>[ 4.300250] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 1
<4>[ 6.300191] failed to power up wifi chip, retry again (3 left) **
<4>[ 6.300333] ## wifi_remove
<6>[ 6.400442] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull down
<6>[ 6.400484] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 0
<6>[ 6.550949] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull up
<4>[ 6.760227] wifi_set_carddetect = 1
<6>[ 6.760266] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 1
<4>[ 8.760188] failed to power up wifi chip, retry again (2 left) **
<4>[ 8.760367] ## wifi_remove
<4>[ 8.760406] wifi_set_power = 0
<6>[ 8.860513] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull down
<4>[ 8.860585] wifi_set_carddetect = 0
<6>[ 8.860626] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 0
<4>[ 8.861030] wifi_set_power = 1
<6>[ 9.011125] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull up
<4>[ 9.220187] wifi_set_carddetect = 1
<6>[ 9.220259] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 1
<4>[ 11.220187] failed to power up wifi chip, retry again (1 left) **
<4>[ 11.220360] ## wifi_remove
<4>[ 11.220399] wifi_set_power = 0
<6>[ 11.320481] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull down
<6>[ 11.320554] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 0
toastgodsupreme
10th April 2015, 08:26 PM |#113  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkAura

That worked once. Wifi started and the phone froze during accessing wifi settings. On reboot I saw the following:

<6>[ 0.469266] wifi: bcm_init_wlan_mem: WIFI MEM Allocated
<6>[ 0.469401] bcm_wifi_init_gpio_mem: wifi gpio and mem initialized
<6>[ 1.430818] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 0
<4>[ 1.474627] wifi_set_power = 1
<6>[ 1.630446] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull up
<4>[ 1.840182] wifi_set_carddetect = 1
<6>[ 1.840223] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 1
<4>[ 3.840200] failed to power up wifi chip, retry again (4 left) **
<4>[ 3.840382] ## wifi_remove
<4>[ 3.840423] wifi_set_power = 0
<6>[ 3.940531] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull down
<4>[ 3.940604] wifi_set_carddetect = 0
<6>[ 3.940644] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 0
<4>[ 3.941222] wifi_set_power = 1
<6>[ 4.091316] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull up
<4>[ 4.300177] wifi_set_carddetect = 1
<6>[ 4.300250] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 1
<4>[ 6.300191] failed to power up wifi chip, retry again (3 left) **
<4>[ 6.300333] ## wifi_remove
<6>[ 6.400442] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull down
<6>[ 6.400484] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 0
<6>[ 6.550949] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull up
<4>[ 6.760227] wifi_set_carddetect = 1
<6>[ 6.760266] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 1
<4>[ 8.760188] failed to power up wifi chip, retry again (2 left) **
<4>[ 8.760367] ## wifi_remove
<4>[ 8.760406] wifi_set_power = 0
<6>[ 8.860513] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull down
<4>[ 8.860585] wifi_set_carddetect = 0
<6>[ 8.860626] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 0
<4>[ 8.861030] wifi_set_power = 1
<6>[ 9.011125] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull up
<4>[ 9.220187] wifi_set_carddetect = 1
<6>[ 9.220259] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 1
<4>[ 11.220187] failed to power up wifi chip, retry again (1 left) **
<4>[ 11.220360] ## wifi_remove
<4>[ 11.220399] wifi_set_power = 0
<6>[ 11.320481] bcm_wifi_set_power: wifi power successed to pull down
<6>[ 11.320554] wcf_status: wifi_detect = 0

Nothing there indicates a hardware issue with the wifi system. If the fix worked once then it's obviously software related. Do it again but also nuke your wpa_supplicant file. Then reboot.
11th April 2015, 06:41 AM |#114  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Tried setting the mac address and deleting wpa_supplicant. Wifi does starts up and drops. After a few drops, it reverts back to "Turning on..."
Here are the dmesg logs. I see SDCC-CORE: Register Dumps over and over again.

<3>[ 224.802934] mmc0: SPS BAM reset failed: sps reset_bam=1
<3>[ 224.803065] mmc0: got_dataend=0, prog_enable=0, wait_for_auto_prog_done=0, got_auto_prog_done=0, req_tout_ms=0
<3>[ 224.803142] mmc0: PM: sdcc_suspended=0, pending_resume=0, sdcc_suspending=0
<3>[ 224.803277] mmc0: RPM: runtime_status=0, usage_count=1, is_suspended=0, disable_depth=0, runtime_error=0, request_pending=0, request=0
<3>[ 224.810734] mmc0: msmsdcc_execute_tuning: no tuning point found
<3>[ 224.810832] mmc0: SDCC PWR is ON
<3>[ 224.810884] mmc0: SDCC clks are ON, MCLK rate=200000000
<3>[ 224.810936] mmc0: SDCC irq is enabled
<3>[ 224.811028] ===== SDCC-CORE: Register Dumps @Phys_base=0xf98a4000, @virt_base=0xf0338000 =====
<3>[ 224.811082] Reg=0x00: 0x00000001, 0x01211b00, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.811176] Reg=0x10: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.811268] Reg=0x20: 0x00000000, 0x17d78400, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.811321] Reg=0x30: 0x00000000, 0x000c0000, 0x00000000, 0x408001ff
<3>[ 224.811412] Reg=0x40: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.811464] Reg=0x50: 0x00000038, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.811556] Reg=0x60: 0x07876400, 0x00000000, 0x00000040, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.811606] mmc0: MCI_TEST_INPUT = 0x0000003e
<3>[ 224.811695] == SDCC Test Bus Debug ==
<3>[ 224.811747] TestBus(0) = 0x00008000
<3>[ 224.811841] TestBus(1) = 0x00000080
<3>[ 224.811932] TestBus(2) = 0x00006010
<3>[ 224.811982] TestBus(3) = 0x018001ff
<3>[ 224.812033] TestBus(4) = 0x00063fd0
<3>[ 224.812122] TestBus(5) = 0x0004c030
<3>[ 224.812172] TestBus(6) = 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.812222] TestBus(7) = 0x000003ff
<3>[ 224.812313] mmc0: SPS BAM reset failed: sps reset_bam=1
<3>[ 224.812365] mmc0: got_dataend=0, prog_enable=0, wait_for_auto_prog_done=0, got_auto_prog_done=0, req_tout_ms=0
<3>[ 224.812459] mmc0: PM: sdcc_suspended=0, pending_resume=0, sdcc_suspending=0
<3>[ 224.812552] mmc0: RPM: runtime_status=0, usage_count=1, is_suspended=0, disable_depth=0, runtime_error=0, request_pending=0, request=0
<3>[ 224.817425] mmc0: msmsdcc_execute_tuning: no tuning point found
<3>[ 224.817478] mmc0: SDCC PWR is ON
<3>[ 224.817530] mmc0: SDCC clks are ON, MCLK rate=200000000
<3>[ 224.817621] mmc0: SDCC irq is enabled
<3>[ 224.817673] ===== SDCC-CORE: Register Dumps @Phys_base=0xf98a4000, @virt_base=0xf0338000 =====
<3>[ 224.817767] Reg=0x00: 0x00000001, 0x01211b00, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.817819] Reg=0x10: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.817873] Reg=0x20: 0x00000000, 0x17d78400, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.817967] Reg=0x30: 0x00000000, 0x000c0000, 0x00000000, 0x408001ff
<3>[ 224.818020] Reg=0x40: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.818113] Reg=0x50: 0x00000038, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.818218] Reg=0x60: 0x07876400, 0x00000000, 0x00000040, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.818316] mmc0: MCI_TEST_INPUT = 0x0000003e
<3>[ 224.818369] == SDCC Test Bus Debug ==
<3>[ 224.818463] TestBus(0) = 0x00008000
<3>[ 224.818653] TestBus(1) = 0x00000080
<3>[ 224.818750] TestBus(2) = 0x00006010
<3>[ 224.818803] TestBus(3) = 0x018001ff
<3>[ 224.818895] TestBus(4) = 0x00063fd0
<3>[ 224.818946] TestBus(5) = 0x0004c030
<3>[ 224.818997] TestBus(6) = 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.819089] TestBus(7) = 0x000003ff
<3>[ 224.819139] mmc0: SPS BAM reset failed: sps reset_bam=1
<3>[ 224.819191] mmc0: got_dataend=0, prog_enable=0, wait_for_auto_prog_done=0, got_auto_prog_done=0, req_tout_ms=0
<3>[ 224.819299] mmc0: PM: sdcc_suspended=0, pending_resume=0, sdcc_suspending=0
<3>[ 224.819396] mmc0: RPM: runtime_status=0, usage_count=1, is_suspended=0, disable_depth=0, runtime_error=0, request_pending=0, request=0
<3>[ 224.824000] mmc0: msmsdcc_execute_tuning: no tuning point found
<3>[ 224.824095] mmc0: SDCC PWR is ON
<3>[ 224.824147] mmc0: SDCC clks are ON, MCLK rate=200000000
<3>[ 224.824198] mmc0: SDCC irq is enabled
<3>[ 224.824290] ===== SDCC-CORE: Register Dumps @Phys_base=0xf98a4000, @virt_base=0xf0338000 =====
<3>[ 224.824344] Reg=0x00: 0x00000001, 0x01211b00, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.824437] Reg=0x10: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.824530] Reg=0x20: 0x00000000, 0x17d78400, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.824583] Reg=0x30: 0x00000000, 0x000c0000, 0x00000000, 0x408001ff
<3>[ 224.824675] Reg=0x40: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.824728] Reg=0x50: 0x00000038, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.824821] Reg=0x60: 0x07876400, 0x00000000, 0x00000040, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.824872] mmc0: MCI_TEST_INPUT = 0x0000003e
<3>[ 224.824964] == SDCC Test Bus Debug ==
<3>[ 224.825015] TestBus(0) = 0x00008000
<3>[ 224.825111] TestBus(1) = 0x00000080
<3>[ 224.825202] TestBus(2) = 0x00006010
<3>[ 224.825253] TestBus(3) = 0x018001ff
<3>[ 224.825303] TestBus(4) = 0x00063fd0
<3>[ 224.825394] TestBus(5) = 0x0004c030
<3>[ 224.825445] TestBus(6) = 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.825496] TestBus(7) = 0x000003ff
<3>[ 224.825547] mmc0: SPS BAM reset failed: sps reset_bam=1
<3>[ 224.825638] mmc0: got_dataend=0, prog_enable=0, wait_for_auto_prog_done=0, got_auto_prog_done=0, req_tout_ms=0
<3>[ 224.825731] mmc0: PM: sdcc_suspended=0, pending_resume=0, sdcc_suspending=0
<3>[ 224.825784] mmc0: RPM: runtime_status=0, usage_count=1, is_suspended=0, disable_depth=0, runtime_error=0, request_pending=0, request=0
<3>[ 224.829155] mmc0: msmsdcc_execute_tuning: no tuning point found
<3>[ 224.829208] mmc0: SDCC PWR is ON
<3>[ 224.829258] mmc0: SDCC clks are ON, MCLK rate=200000000
<3>[ 224.829348] mmc0: SDCC irq is enabled
<3>[ 224.829399] ===== SDCC-CORE: Register Dumps @Phys_base=0xf98a4000, @virt_base=0xf0338000 =====
<3>[ 224.829493] Reg=0x00: 0x00000001, 0x01211b00, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.829546] Reg=0x10: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.829638] Reg=0x20: 0x00000000, 0x17d78400, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.829732] Reg=0x30: 0x00000000, 0x000c0000, 0x00000000, 0x408001ff
<3>[ 224.829784] Reg=0x40: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.829878] Reg=0x50: 0x00000038, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.829930] Reg=0x60: 0x07876400, 0x00000000, 0x00000040, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.830022] mmc0: MCI_TEST_INPUT = 0x0000003e
<3>[ 224.830072] == SDCC Test Bus Debug ==
<3>[ 224.830163] TestBus(0) = 0x00008000
<3>[ 224.830259] TestBus(1) = 0x00000080
<3>[ 224.830310] TestBus(2) = 0x00006010
<3>[ 224.830361] TestBus(3) = 0x018001ff
<3>[ 224.830454] TestBus(4) = 0x00063fd0
<3>[ 224.830504] TestBus(5) = 0x0004c030
<3>[ 224.830556] TestBus(6) = 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.830648] TestBus(7) = 0x000003ff
<3>[ 224.830698] mmc0: SPS BAM reset failed: sps reset_bam=1
<3>[ 224.830750] mmc0: got_dataend=0, prog_enable=0, wait_for_auto_prog_done=0, got_auto_prog_done=0, req_tout_ms=0
<3>[ 224.830844] mmc0: PM: sdcc_suspended=0, pending_resume=0, sdcc_suspending=0
<3>[ 224.830939] mmc0: RPM: runtime_status=0, usage_count=1, is_suspended=0, disable_depth=0, runtime_error=0, request_pending=0, request=0
<3>[ 224.835352] mmc0: msmsdcc_execute_tuning: no tuning point found
<3>[ 224.835445] mmc0: SDCC PWR is ON
<3>[ 224.835495] mmc0: SDCC clks are ON, MCLK rate=200000000
<3>[ 224.835546] mmc0: SDCC irq is enabled
<3>[ 224.835637] ===== SDCC-CORE: Register Dumps @Phys_base=0xf98a4000, @virt_base=0xf0338000 =====
<3>[ 224.835689] Reg=0x00: 0x00000001, 0x01211b00, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.835782] Reg=0x10: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.835834] Reg=0x20: 0x00000000, 0x17d78400, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.835926] Reg=0x30: 0x00000000, 0x000c0000, 0x00000000, 0x408001ff
<3>[ 224.836019] Reg=0x40: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.836071] Reg=0x50: 0x00000038, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.836162] Reg=0x60: 0x07876400, 0x00000000, 0x00000040, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.836212] mmc0: MCI_TEST_INPUT = 0x0000003e
<3>[ 224.836303] == SDCC Test Bus Debug ==
<3>[ 224.836353] TestBus(0) = 0x00008000
<3>[ 224.836450] TestBus(1) = 0x00000080
<3>[ 224.836540] TestBus(2) = 0x00006010
<3>[ 224.836590] TestBus(3) = 0x018001ff
<3>[ 224.836640] TestBus(4) = 0x00063fd0
<3>[ 224.836730] TestBus(5) = 0x0004c030
<3>[ 224.836781] TestBus(6) = 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.836831] TestBus(7) = 0x000003ff
<3>[ 224.836882] mmc0: SPS BAM reset failed: sps reset_bam=1
<3>[ 224.836974] mmc0: got_dataend=0, prog_enable=0, wait_for_auto_prog_done=0, got_auto_prog_done=0, req_tout_ms=0
<3>[ 224.837067] mmc0: PM: sdcc_suspended=0, pending_resume=0, sdcc_suspending=0
<3>[ 224.837121] mmc0: RPM: runtime_status=0, usage_count=1, is_suspended=0, disable_depth=0, runtime_error=0, request_pending=0, request=0
<3>[ 224.841458] mmc0: msmsdcc_execute_tuning: no tuning point found
<3>[ 224.841552] mmc0: SDCC PWR is ON
<3>[ 224.841603] mmc0: SDCC clks are ON, MCLK rate=200000000
<3>[ 224.841695] mmc0: SDCC irq is enabled
<3>[ 224.841747] ===== SDCC-CORE: Register Dumps @Phys_base=0xf98a4000, @virt_base=0xf0338000 =====
<3>[ 224.841843] Reg=0x00: 0x00000001, 0x01211b00, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.841896] Reg=0x10: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.841989] Reg=0x20: 0x00000000, 0x17d78400, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.842082] Reg=0x30: 0x00000000, 0x000c0000, 0x00000000, 0x408001ff
<3>[ 224.842133] Reg=0x40: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.842224] Reg=0x50: 0x00000038, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.842276] Reg=0x60: 0x07876400, 0x00000000, 0x00000040, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.842366] mmc0: MCI_TEST_INPUT = 0x0000003e
<3>[ 224.842415] == SDCC Test Bus Debug ==
<3>[ 224.842464] TestBus(0) = 0x00008000
<3>[ 224.842597] TestBus(1) = 0x00000080
<3>[ 224.842647] TestBus(2) = 0x00006010
<3>[ 224.842696] TestBus(3) = 0x018001ff
<3>[ 224.842785] TestBus(4) = 0x00063fd0
<3>[ 224.842834] TestBus(5) = 0x0004c030
<3>[ 224.842884] TestBus(6) = 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.842973] TestBus(7) = 0x000003ff
<3>[ 224.843023] mmc0: SPS BAM reset failed: sps reset_bam=1
<3>[ 224.843119] mmc0: got_dataend=0, prog_enable=0, wait_for_auto_prog_done=0, got_auto_prog_done=0, req_tout_ms=0
<3>[ 224.843212] mmc0: PM: sdcc_suspended=0, pending_resume=0, sdcc_suspending=0
<3>[ 224.843305] mmc0: RPM: runtime_status=0, usage_count=1, is_suspended=0, disable_depth=0, runtime_error=0, request_pending=0, request=0
<3>[ 224.846878] mmc0: msmsdcc_execute_tuning: no tuning point found
<3>[ 224.846934] mmc0: SDCC PWR is ON
<3>[ 224.847028] mmc0: SDCC clks are ON, MCLK rate=200000000
<3>[ 224.847079] mmc0: SDCC irq is enabled
<3>[ 224.847171] ===== SDCC-CORE: Register Dumps @Phys_base=0xf98a4000, @virt_base=0xf0338000 =====
<3>[ 224.847226] Reg=0x00: 0x00000001, 0x01211b00, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.847320] Reg=0x10: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.847375] Reg=0x20: 0x00000000, 0x17d78400, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.847470] Reg=0x30: 0x00000000, 0x000c0000, 0x00000000, 0x408001ff
<3>[ 224.847566] Reg=0x40: 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.847620] Reg=0x50: 0x00000038, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.847716] Reg=0x60: 0x07876400, 0x00000000, 0x00000040, 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.847769] mmc0: MCI_TEST_INPUT = 0x0000003e
<3>[ 224.847861] == SDCC Test Bus Debug ==
<3>[ 224.847911] TestBus(0) = 0x00008000
<3>[ 224.848007] TestBus(1) = 0x00000080
<3>[ 224.848099] TestBus(2) = 0x00006010
<3>[ 224.848150] TestBus(3) = 0x018001ff
<3>[ 224.848201] TestBus(4) = 0x00063fd0
<3>[ 224.848253] TestBus(5) = 0x0004c030
<3>[ 224.848345] TestBus(6) = 0x00000000
<3>[ 224.848395] TestBus(7) = 0x000003ff
<3>[ 224.848446] mmc0: SPS BAM reset failed: sps reset_bam=1
<3>[ 224.848539] mmc0: got_dataend=0, prog_enable=0, wait_for_auto_prog_done=0, got_auto_prog_done=0, req_tout_ms=0
<3>[ 224.848633] mmc0: PM: sdcc_suspended=0, pending_resume=0, sdcc_suspending=0
<3>[ 224.848685] mmc0: RPM: runtime_status=0, usage_count=1, is_suspended=0, disable_depth=0, runtime_error=0, request_pending=0, request=0
11th April 2015, 11:55 PM |#115  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by toastgodsupreme

You guys are so boring.

So finally today I had this problem not of my own doing. Was using my phone and it rebooted on it's own. After that, wifi stuck turning on.

So I run my commands that I told you chuckle****s, and nothing. Weird. Should have worked.

I clear cache and dalvik to be on the safe side, reboot, not fixed. Weird.

I have the liveboot log enabled, I notice a few things:
E/wpa_supplicant( 2086): Could not set interface wlan0 flags (UP): Operation not permitted
E/wpa_supplicant( 2086): nl80211: Could not set interface 'wlan0' UP
E/wpa_supplicant( 2086): wlan0: Failed to initialize driver interface

wifistatemachine failed to start driver

<4>[ 1.802222] wifi_get_mac_addr
I/rmt_storage( 179):
<3>[ 1.802285] bcm_wifi_get_mac_addr: Failed to get information from file /persist/wifi/.macaddr (-2)

OH LOOK, FAILED TO GET MAC ADDRESS FROM FILE.

So I go in with root explorer, delete .macaddr file, and run these commands (the first line is my mac address being set, because I know what it is already; obviously you'll need SU to do this):
echo -ne '\x8c\x3a\xe3\x41\x8d\x79' > /persist/wifi/.macaddr
chown root:root /persist/wifi
chmod 755 /persist/wifi
chown wifi:wifi /persist/wifi/.macaddr
chmod 660 /persist/wifi/.macaddr

**Reboot, wifi works again.**


My guess is something got corrupted with the area where that file existed. Deleting it entirely and recreating it means it was created in a new area on the chip. **** if I know for certain though. What I do know is what I've been telling you guys for a while works and none of you are bothering with doing the easiest fix. But keep flashing custom roms and sending your phones in.

Most of you don't know what your wifi mac address is, have no motivation or way to find out, and will end up using mine, so I've modified mine in the first line to not be mine. Because I don't want you all out there cloning my ****ing mac addy since you can't be bothered to change it in the script.

Edit: I have not checked if a broken btaddr file affects wifi, possible but not likely, but that may need to be repaired too in a similar manner.

I did the very same thing.. and nothing changed at all.
The only thing that is bothering me is that I had installed plenty of different times the android on my Nexus. And nowhere on the internet I found how to get my MAC address without connecting it first..
I typed any MAC Addr into it, but not sure if this might be the reason my wifi is not working :/
[edit] One more thing, how do I read these logs? I am using logcat.. Is there any other way to do so?
toastgodsupreme
12th April 2015, 03:56 AM |#116  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmaruan

I did the very same thing.. and nothing changed at all.
The only thing that is bothering me is that I had installed plenty of different times the android on my Nexus. And nowhere on the internet I found how to get my MAC address without connecting it first..
I typed any MAC Addr into it, but not sure if this might be the reason my wifi is not working :/
[edit] One more thing, how do I read these logs? I am using logcat.. Is there any other way to do so?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/andr...eboot-t2976189
12th April 2015, 04:36 AM |#117  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by toastgodsupreme

http://forum.xda-developers.com/andr...eboot-t2976189

Already got this app.. I've been looking through these logs using adb shell .. Still cant find the mac addr of my phone :/
15th April 2015, 03:46 PM |#118  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmaruan

Already got this app.. I've been looking through these logs using adb shell .. Still cant find the mac addr of my phone :/

I have the same problem for two days now, cant find my mac address without connecting to wifi wich is stuck at 'turning on'.
Have tried everyting almost except the solution posted by toast. Is there another way to fix this?
17th April 2015, 08:54 AM |#119  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
i have the same problem and I also disconected battery, motherboard, and checked all cable connections
Also I installed a few Roms

I have no warranty, and replace the motherboard will be very expensive

whether it is possible to use Wi-Fi via modem OTG on my nexus 5 ?
toastgodsupreme
19th April 2015, 07:35 AM |#120  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmaruan

Already got this app.. I've been looking through these logs using adb shell .. Still cant find the mac addr of my phone :/

The logs don't give you the MAC, just for finding errors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukasz050

i have the same problem and I also disconected battery, motherboard, and checked all cable connections
Also I installed a few Roms

I have no warranty, and replace the motherboard will be very expensive

whether it is possible to use Wi-Fi via modem OTG on my nexus 5 ?

If it truly is hardware and you're out of warranty, the only other option without spending money right away is to try to bake the circuit board to reflow the solder points.

http://mr-mediocre.hubpages.com/hub/...-Worked-for-Me
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFCFiSB2Fuk
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GUIi52SwUzw

Common temps are 375F at 10 minutes for a NON-CONVECTION oven (ie. normal oven).

PS1 dude did his at 425 for 8 minutes, but that's 2011.

This can possibly eat the entire circuit board, know that before doing it.
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Ad-Free
19th April 2015, 01:01 PM |#121  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by toastgodsupreme


If it truly is hardware and you're out of warranty, the only other option without spending money right away is to try to bake the circuit board to reflow the solder points.

http://mr-mediocre.hubpages.com/hub/...-Worked-for-Me
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFCFiSB2Fuk
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GUIi52SwUzw

Common temps are 375F at 10 minutes for a NON-CONVECTION oven (ie. normal oven).

PS1 dude did his at 425 for 8 minutes, but that's 2011.

This can possibly eat the entire circuit board, know that before doing it.


I did it with a hair dryer

I warmed up chip "Broadcom BCM4339" (yellow , picture below) it didn't help

i also do not want to destroy motherboard, so I do not want to use the oven
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	p?yta.jpg
Views:	1240
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	3270639  
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
stuck, wifi, wifi stuck on turning on

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes