FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Porting cyanogenmod 12.1 on fire hd8 2017

103 posts
Thanks Meter: 114

By t0x1cSH, Senior Member on 2nd July 2019, 06:11 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I'm experimenting with getting the cm 12.1 to work on my hd8 2017.
One of my college friend suggested to try replace part of the folders in the system partition with the one in the cm and today i've tryed and to my astonishment it reachd the cm 12.1 splash screen and from there i'm getting a very nice bootloop :P

I know this is probably the worst way of porting a rom ( seems to me so, im not an expert) but if some rom-porting expert can tell me what is wrong with the boot process even just for the sake of knowledge.

in the attachments a splash-screen image and a partial logcat (the logcat was capture when the tablet was "dirty" and still had FireOS data and cache)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190702_173227.jpg
Views:	716
Size:	257.0 KB
ID:	4786388  
Attached Files
File Type: txt logcat-1.txt - [Click for QR Code] (220.1 KB, 76 views)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to t0x1cSH For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift t0x1cSH Ad-Free
2nd July 2019, 09:11 PM |#2  
Thanks Meter: 66

More
I know @Rortiz2 was looking at doing the same thing.

Maybe you two can coordinate.
2nd July 2019, 10:31 PM |#3  
Quote:
Originally Posted by t0x1csh

i'm experimenting with getting the cm 12.1 to work on my hd8 2017.
One of my college friend suggested to try replace part of the folders in the system partition with the one in the cm and today i've tryed and to my astonishment it reachd the cm 12.1 splash screen and from there i'm getting a very nice bootloop

i know this is probably the worst way of porting a rom ( seems to me so, im not an expert) but if some rom-porting expert can tell me what is wrong with the boot process even just for the sake of knowledge.