FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[WORKING ROOT] How to root Amazon Fire HD 8 & 10! (NOT 5th Gen / 2016 model)

126 posts
Thanks Meter: 80
 
By nyln, Senior Member on 7th February 2016, 10:45 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello everyone,
A fellow XDA member found that KingRoot now supports Kindle Fire HD 8 and Kindle Fire HD 10 on 5.1.1 as of 02/07/16! It is very easy, go to www.kingroot.net on your device, install the latest version (ignore any security warnings) and click root! You may want to install SuperSU etc. Disable OTA.

I have to go now, just wanted to make sure everyone knew the root is out and working!
 
 
9th February 2016, 12:04 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Just tried it 3 times on my Fire HD 8 running 5.1.1. Didn't work for me
9th February 2016, 02:09 AM |#3  
kanderson88's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by y0ul053

Just tried it 3 times on my Fire HD 8 running 5.1.1. Didn't work for me

did you try to install google apps and framework?My post.
9th February 2016, 03:44 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Confirmed working in another post. Congrats and thanks to everyone!
The Following User Says Thank You to mikek9 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mikek9 Ad-Free
9th February 2016, 03:54 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanderson88

did you try to install google apps and framework?My post.

Yeah I already had that installed. Go figure Kingroot worked after I opened the store and google settings once more.
9th February 2016, 10:34 PM |#6  
nyln's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by y0ul053

Just tried it 3 times on my Fire HD 8 running 5.1.1. Didn't work for me

PM me for extra help, make sure you get the latest version.
10th February 2016, 02:18 AM |#7  
technope's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
while your bash was useful, you may need to step back for a bit.
11th February 2016, 09:14 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
used kingroot which successfully rooted my kindle fire HD 8 but then when i went to switch launchers its all gone wrong.

I copied the fire.launcher file to my sdcard then went back to remove it so i could use Google Now.

I then realised the Google Now app wasn't working as it was asking me to update Google Apps. so i copied the fire.launcher back into the sys folder i found it.

Then i lost launcher and could only access apps via the recent app tab.

so i rebooted and now it loads with no launcher.

I cannot do anything now.

ive tried rootjunkys unbrick method and it doesnt work for me.

Anyone got any suggestions
11th February 2016, 11:31 PM |#9  
kanderson88's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
Do you have adb installed and working? We can try a few commands, you need to install Google apps in order to get now launcher to work. Your tablet is fine we just need to get adb shell command working. Use rootjunkys script for install play store.
12th February 2016, 01:44 AM |#10  
kanderson88's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
My message didn't get posted. Odd. If you need help don't be afraid to message us.

Edit:
If adb is installed.
Open command prompt. Type "adb shell". Then type "su".
It should say root@thebes.
Now type this in.
Code:
pm install -r com.amazon.firelauncher
If it says install success, type "exit", then type "exit" again to get out of adb shell.
Now reboot your device.
If it fails let me know.

If you don't have adb installed, youtube how to install adb shell.
I have rootjunkys script on tip, Tricks, and the Root post.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/hd8-...-root-t3310569
12th February 2016, 06:59 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Hi, thanks for the response.
Yes I have adb installed and yes I have Google apps installed I've been using rootjunkys super tools. I'll try your adb shell method

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 08:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:34 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by borinous

Hi, thanks for the response.
Yes I have adb installed and yes I have Google apps installed I've been using rootjunkys super tools. I'll try your adb shell method

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

tried that and this is what i got


Ive manage to get ES file explorer installed and when i go to the com.fire.launcher folder its empty.

---------- Post added at 08:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:54 AM ----------

sorted it.

Copied the fire launcher apk into the download folder while connected to my laptop. found it in ES file explorer and installed it.

now all working i guess in the process of trying to add a new launcher it must have copied the folder back but not the content.

phew!!! thanks for your help
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
amazon fire, amazon fire hd, root

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes