FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Newbie way in over my head. Any help would be appreciated.

15 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By SquaredCircle, Junior Member on 4th April 2019, 03:06 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
I've been following the guide here on how to get Android on my HP TouchPad. A while ago I followed these guides and had no problem, but a little while ago I thought I would try and update my Android version and I did something wrong (what, I don't know).

Right now I have KitKat running on my TouchPad, but my PC cannot see my TouchPad when I plug it in via USB. My computer makes the sound when I plug it in as if it IS connected, but it doesn't see it in my list of drives. It DOES, however, see it when I boot into webOS.

I'm sure there are other problems I'll run into, but I feel like this is the first major one. Is there anything I can do to make my computer recognize my TouchPad when plugged in via USB? I'll answer followup questions to the best of my ability, but like the title says, I'm in a bit over my head here I think.
 
 
4th April 2019, 12:39 PM |#2  
shumash's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,823
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquaredCircle

I've been following the guide here on how to get Android on my HP TouchPad. A while ago I followed these guides and had no problem, but a little while ago I thought I would try and update my Android version and I did something wrong (what, I don't know).

Right now I have KitKat running on my TouchPad, but my PC cannot see my TouchPad when I plug it in via USB. My computer makes the sound when I plug it in as if it IS connected, but it doesn't see it in my list of drives. It DOES, however, see it when I boot into webOS.

I'm sure there are other problems I'll run into, but I feel like this is the first major one. Is there anything I can do to make my computer recognize my TouchPad when plugged in via USB? I'll answer followup questions to the best of my ability, but like the title says, I'm in a bit over my head here I think.

https://www.random-host.com/blogs/en...nd-50-lollipop?
The Following User Says Thank You to shumash For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift shumash Ad-Free
8th April 2019, 08:13 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shumash

https://www.random-host.com/blogs/en...nd-50-lollipop?

Hey, thank you very much for this. Apologies for the late reply, but something personal came up that kept me away from my computer for a few days.

I looked at the guide you linked, but I actually already have MTP checked. I hear the connected sound playing on my PC, but nothing shows up as a connected device. Could there be something wrong with the drivers on my PC's end? Oddly enough, it does show up when I have the camera option checked on the tablet.
8th April 2019, 10:01 PM |#4  
shumash's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,823
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquaredCircle

Hey, thank you very much for this. Apologies for the late reply, but something personal came up that kept me away from my computer for a few days.

I looked at the guide you linked, but I actually already have MTP checked. I hear the connected sound playing on my PC, but nothing shows up as a connected device. Could there be something wrong with the drivers on my PC's end? Oddly enough, it does show up when I have the camera option checked on the tablet.

It's something inherent in KitKat. I had the same issue, and it was never resolved, but it goes away in later Android versions. You can still download and upload using the camera option. It just ends up in Pictures, I think.
The Following User Says Thank You to shumash For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift shumash Ad-Free
8th April 2019, 11:33 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shumash

It's something inherent in KitKat. I had the same issue, and it was never resolved, but it goes away in later Android versions. You can still download and upload using the camera option. It just ends up in Pictures, I think.

I hadn't thought about uploading to an inappropriate folder like Pictures, but as long as the files I need are on the tablet I don't see why that should end up being a problem. I can just move them internally with the Files app. Thank you for the idea!
28th April 2019, 11:22 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquaredCircle

I hadn't thought about uploading to an inappropriate folder like Pictures, but as long as the files I need are on the tablet I don't see why that should end up being a problem. I can just move them internally with the Files app. Thank you for the idea!

Copy it into the picture folder then move/rename it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes