FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Trying to install CM13 on HTC Desire S

7 posts
Thanks Meter: 2

By hicksd8, Junior Member on 9th July 2016, 02:05 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi HTC Desire S Android experts,

Having been a member on here for years, this is my first post.

Let me start by saying that I'm not an Android expert although I've been four decades in Unix (Solaris) and Linux. I've built kernels from scratch but never tried to build an Android kernel. Anyway that hopefully gives you all a clue as to what I understand and what I don't understand.

I thought that I would try to install CM13 on my HTC Desire S but it doesn't want to play!!!

Having already done some serious hacking my starting point now is this.........
I have unlocked the bootloader.
I've installed Revolutionary S-Off, HBOOT 6.98.1002, Mar 10 2011
I've installed TWRP v2.8.7.0
I've tried to install CM13 (Marshmallow) "sagaopt" but it errors. I've tried to follow the repartitioning instructions (which I don't find very clear) to change filesystem to EXT4. After wiping is says that my SDcard should be empty but it isn't; the files are still there so I'm getting something wrong.

(I have managed to install CM12 for Saga (NOT the Sagaopt version) and it boots. I had trouble getting the virtual keyboard to work but eventually it did. I can't seem to get any Gapps zip to install, the install won't complete.)

Anyway, back to the subject of CM13 which is "sagaopt" only, can anyone give me the steps to take, especially with regards to partitioning, wiping, etc? Also, if I succeed with it, what next? Do I need to install Xposed? What Gapps zip file do I install and where can I get a compatible version for CM13 Sagaopt?

Thx in advance,

Hicksd8

9th July 2016, 10:50 PM |#2  
Thanks Meter: 4

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hicksd8