FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

How to unlock all possible GSM/LTE/Global bands in a CDMA M8 (Sprint/VZW) as default

16 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By Theboiamond, Junior Member on 29th January 2016, 03:45 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi all, today I want to thank all the xda users with a little guide to full unlock worldwide bands in M8 devices.
Here I found a lot of help and I want to share my new knowledge.

Bands:
(Europe/ Middle East/ Africa)
GSM/EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSPA+: 900/1900/2100 MHz
LTE: 800/900/1800/2600 MHz

US GSM (AT&T)
GSM/EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
UMTS/HSPA+: 850/1900/2100 MHz
LTE: 700/850/1700/1900/2600 MHz

US GSM (T-Mobile)
GSM/EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSPA+: 850/1700/1900/2100 MHz
LTE: 700/1700 MHz

US CDMA (Sprint)
CDMA EV-DO Rev. A and Rev. B: 800, 1900 MHz
GSM/EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
UMTS (HSDPA 14.4 Mbit/s): 850/1900/2100 MHz
LTE: 800/1900/2600 MHz (Band 25, 26, 41)

US CDMA (Verizon)
CDMA EV-DO Rev. A and Rev. B: 800/1900 MHz
GSM/EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
UMTS/HSPA+: 850/900/1900/2100
LTE: 700/1700/1800/2600 MHz (Band 3, 4, 7, 13)

Asia: 700/900/1800/2100/2600 MHz

I ask myself if HTC has spent time to desing and produce various versions of the same phone model, so I disassembled some M8, and yes, the cdma/global/at&t hardware are slightly different in the logic board, integrates type and placement, antennas cabling!
I can confirm, YOU CAN'T OFFICIALLY PUT A GLOBAL FIRMWARE IN A CDMA DEVICE and there is no reason to do it, cause gsm and lte bands are "locked" also by NV values, hardware physical limits, and some other factors, then hidden by the rom during installation!
What happens? Any rom "sees" a mid and cid of sprint or VZW device and automatically set CDMA bands by default, hiding/deleting some GSM settings from system files to full work overseas!
That's why you can sim unlock your device by the code supplied by US carrier, also by unlocking bootloader and installing new custom rom (GPE/cyano); but the "OS" (rom) will restrict the bands in order to the original carrier frequencies!!!
Results:
for VZW; you can call with a gsm mode but NOT use LTE with some carriers;
for Sprint: any EU sim will not be recognized at first boot cause CDMA is set by default! you ever going to settings and put global mode, dial *#*#4636#*#* to set GSM/LTE auto mode and AUS bands, return to settings to set LTE (very annoying issue).
for both: often GPS does not work!

SOLUTION: you can unlock the CDMA device as a Global one (DO IT AT YOUR OWN RISK, Obviously) fooling the rom that you want to install
1) First, go S-OFF
2) Unlock bootloader
3) put a non-red text firmware (you can also leave stock, it's only an esthetic luxury for who use custom roms) and install recovery in one step (choose your current modelID here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2710503)
I used https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=24052804347800375 for my sprint device and https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=24052804347811420 for a VZW.
Please make sure you use only a non-red-text version of your stock device to avoid brick!

fastboot oem rebootRUU
fastboot flash zip filename_NoRedText_hboot.zip
fastboot reboot-bootloader
fastboot flash recovery filename.img
fastboot reboot
4) Boot the stock rom and make a GPS fix with any GPS Toolbox (prevention), then reboot
5) Enter in recovery, BACKUP STOCK ROM so wipe all data
6) change cid and modelID in one step
fastboot oem writecid HTC__001
fastboot reboot-bootloader
then open twrp
adb devices
adb shell
su
echo -ne '\x30\x00\x50\x00\x36\x00\x42\x00\x31\x00\x30\x00\ x30\x00\x30\x00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=1 seek=16384
exit
adb reboot bootloader
fastboot getvar mid (or getvar all) (verify 0P6B10000 for modelid)
fastboot reboot-bootloader
7) Install any custom rom you want and enjoy a full unlocked worldwide bands device!
For me, GPE https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=24052804347850672 and cyano are the best choices..
(I don't know if stock based custom roms works, I loved cyano since my old wildfire S)
8) If GPS does not work, restore the original rom, make a fix, reboot, wipe and reinstall custom rom; if GPS works you can delete the stock backup.

With this method you can do a nandroid backup with any carrier M8 (ATT, T-mob,global) and restore on your new sprint unlocked device, so it works perfectly!!! (gps issue solved definitively!!!).


IMPORTANT

1) FLASH A GLOBAL FIRMWARE IN A CDMA UNIT WILL BRICK YOUR PHONE, YOU ONLY NEED TO CHANGE MODELID AND CID!!!
2) this guide is only for custom roms. if you really want to use a stock sense rom, leave the TWRP recovery and system rooted so you can't try to update it by OTA. All HTC updates can upgrade the firmware with a global one and brick the phone!
3) DON'T USE A RUU MODE TO FLASH A ROM, cause RUU constains the firmware also, and can install a global firmware in a CDMA device and BRICK THE PHONE. Please use only zipped roms and flash via twrp recovery.

Useful sources:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2708581
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2708589
To be sure, which band I need for my carrier? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...orks_in_Europe


Various troubleshooting
If you have issues with LTE again, please follow this guide http://forum.xda-developers.com/veri...guide-t2992523
and put these values (works in Italy and the most states of EU, or use NV calculator to calc bands of your country)
6828 & 6829: 524356 or 146029478143 (this last worked on xperia Z1 also)

Stock Sprint (HK) values if you make a disaster:
LTE 6828 & 6829: 1099561959424
Sys/GSM/CDMA (leave stock, sprint hardware can not support any more GSM bands and switch off the signal)
441: 0xFFFF
946: 0xBFFF
1877: 82330503
2954: 4294967295

Notes for EU:
- VZW can be unlocked on LTE band 3 and 7 but not 20
- Sprint hardware supports 800 and 2600 mhz only on bands 26 and 41, and does not accept european 20 (800mhz) and 7 (2600 mhz). So I think does not support any kind of european LTE at all and edit NV values is frustrating useless.
- Sprint Harman Kardon Edition (SPCS_004) has different partition table than the standard sprint (SPCS_001) version and can't be converted easily.

EDIT may 25
1) I discovered that GPE roms in this page http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2708589 , has implemented since H10 the "CDMA device on GSM network" option during installation:
I consider it the final solution to make the rom operate on GSM by default.
2) I had fully disassembled 3 different M8 (sprint, vzw, att): antenna and logic boards are completely different! I found Sprint models has furthermore poorer frame construction and less performing antenna board (a bit less wifi/gps/gsm reception, even swapping with a at&t logic board...). Sprint devices definitely disappointed me...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Theboiamond For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Theboiamond Ad-Free
 
 
29th January 2016, 04:18 PM |#2  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 6,858
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theboiamond

3) put a non-red text firmware and install recovery in one step (choose your current modelID here

Which version's firmware (from the link) did you flash, exactly?

Far as I know, this conversion has been attempted by some experienced devs, and never successfully.

At a minimum, the partitioning on the CDMA variants is different, and flashing a GSM firmware will result in a brick (again, from my understanding from several reputable sources).

There is already a confirmed safe method to enable bands on the Verizon/Sprint variants: http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...phone-t2880239
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift redpoint73 Ad-Free
29th January 2016, 04:56 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
On step 3 I flashed a non-red text version of the same firmware I had stock.
The "secret" is change modelID and CID without change the firmware type.
Probably with a Global modelID and CID, the phone will accept a global firmware also by flashing a stock RUU, I don't know, anyhow a custom rom recognizes global unit during the installation and unlock all features.

I yet tried this http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...phone-t2880239
and
http://forum.xda-developers.com/veri...guide-t2992523
but:
- when flashing any other custom rom, I had to dial *#*#4636#*#* and select bands manually anytime
- after a reflash/factory reset, gps does not work and had to modify gps.conf anytime
- I had a VZW that did not sync the italian carrier wind LTE band at all, until i change cid and modelID also and reflash the rom
29th January 2016, 05:26 PM |#4  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 6,858
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theboiamond

Probably with a Global modelID and CID, the phone will accept a global firmware also

This is incorrect, and you should not be guessing this type of thing, and should not be giving it as advice.

Flashing another versions firmware to the Verizon or Sprint models will result in a brick!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theboiamond

On step 3 I flashed a non-red text version of the same firmware I had stock.
The "secret" is change modelID and CID without change the firmware type.

Interesting, but the guide needs some improvement/clarification:

a) The word "convert" in the title is misleading, as this term is most often used to mean a "full conversion" by changing to another version's firmware/RUU. If someone misunderstands and tries to truly convert, they will brick! A true conversion also means stock software, and ability to install official OTAs.

b) You should state explicitly and exactly what firmware to use. Again, if a user misunderstands and flashes a non-Sprint firmware, he will brick. You should also state this fact as a warning.

Additionally, I wonder if flashing the "no red text" firmware is even necessary. I think the only thing that is different is exactly that (no red text) so I don't see how it would make a difference. I would be curious to see if your "mod" works on fully stock firmware.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift redpoint73 Ad-Free
29th January 2016, 08:38 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

This is incorrect, and you should not be guessing this type of thing, and should not be giving it as advice.

Flashing another versions firmware to the Verizon or Sprint models will result in a brick!



Interesting, but the guide needs some improvement/clarification:

a) The word "convert" in the title is misleading, as this term is most often used to mean a "full conversion" by changing to another version's firmware/RUU. If someone misunderstands and tries to truly convert, they will brick! A true conversion also means stock software, and ability to install official OTAs.

b) You should state explicitly and exactly what firmware to use. Again, if a user misunderstands and flashes a non-Sprint firmware, he will brick. You should also state this fact as a warning.

Additionally, I wonder if flashing the "no red text" firmware is even necessary. I think the only thing that is different is exactly that (no red text) so I don't see how it would make a difference. I would be curious to see if your "mod" works on fully stock firmware.

Mmmh yeah, I'll correct some parts to avoid anyone flash a global firmware in a CDMA unit and brick the phone. (with a little help in translate)
So, I put the no red text cause I use a custom rom (cyano) and I dislike red text.
You can also leave the stock one and flash a stock sense rom BY RECOVERY (don't use RUU mode cause it can flash a stock global firmware over the CDMA one).
There's a thread with all backups to flash by recovery http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2701376
29th January 2016, 08:51 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Edited
30th January 2016, 09:37 PM |#7  
Member
Flag Hanoi
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Dear red point 73

I apologize to ask Have you ever attempt to follow these instructions and result in a brick? Did you ever have a sprint m8 whl version on hand? I am sorry to ask because it seems people here just copy each other words. I doubt information you posted isjust what read on this forum. If it works for the op then I don't see reason why it shouldn't for others. I but thank you for your enthusiasm anyway

---------- Post added at 04:37 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:29 AM ----------

I read from here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...oper-t3002003/

And here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...w-gsm-t3303812

And here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/att-...icial-t3296520

And this post confirm working on Verizon

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=71

I am sorry but you are the only persion to speak against it. Did you have a sprint or Verizon on hand?
31st January 2016, 12:35 AM |#8  
vladniko's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
I am trying to boot into recovery after following this guide and it takes me back to hboot. Any advice?

---------- Post added at 07:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:31 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by vladniko

I am trying to boot into recovery after following this guide and it takes me back to hboot. Any advice?

Now while trying to reflash the noredtext firmware im getting this. http://i.imgur.com/jNjZ6bB.png In hboot the CID is showing as VZW-001(I did fastboot oem writecid VZW__001)
31st January 2016, 02:19 AM |#9  
vladniko's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
So I tried doing RUU but modelid is incorrect. TO change it I have to go to adb, but I cant load the OS or recovery. What to do what to do?

---------- Post added at 09:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:42 PM ----------

Flashed all twrps, no of them worked. Got stock recovery working, cant access apply from sd card which I could use to flash MID changer. Really getting pissed at this guide or my incompetence. Dont know which
31st January 2016, 03:20 AM |#10  
vladniko's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
So what I did was set the cid to 11111111, flash the RUU and now I got a working rom and hboot. The one thing that I still cant get into is recovery
1st February 2016, 04:03 AM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladniko

So what I did was set the cid to 11111111, flash the RUU and now I got a working rom and hboot. The one thing that I still cant get into is recovery

Probably there's some misunderstanding.
My "guide" explains how to "fool" a custom rom to work as global in a CDMA device.
Flash a RUU means update the firmware also, and it's very dangerous after a modelID change, after my procedure, you will ONLY FLASH ZIPPED CUSTOM ROMS BY TWRP RECOVERY.
CID and modelID must be international (HTC__001 and 0P6B10000); you will never not boot any rom if both are from different "family" (global modelID and VZW CID, or viceversa).
And yes, some roms verge to reboot to hboot, try this one (it worked from me) https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=24352994023707448

Then, please keep in mind that you were one step away from a brick and I recommend caution xD
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes