FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Htc failed md5 with no os no back up twrp update

11 posts
Thanks Meter: 0

By Qrsimon, Junior Member on 9th June 2018, 08:01 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Update twrp within twrp is the goal. I am new to this, very new.

I am downloading from a different phone to my sd-card wich I then switch into the htc.

1How many files do I need to download on to my sd card? The twrp image, the md5 file and maybe a signature? Where do I need to look out for?

2 where can I get the right twrp download, right now it's version 2.7 something, 2.7.0.3 I think.

After this I am searching for a stock operating system. I thought to use roodjunky. Many files though wich I can't make any sense of. I can spot the .img file but thats it..

Help please!

Update
I am trying to use adb commands with my phone to update twrp/and put an os on it. So far no succes but it is connected. Connection tested with command "adb devices".

I'll keep trying to get the phone working.

11th June 2018, 02:54 PM |#2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 6,516

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qrsimon

Update twrp within twrp is the goal.

Updating TWRP within TWRP requires v2.8.4 or later already installed, as clearly stated on the official TWRP website: https://twrp.me/htc/htconem8gsm.html

Quote:

I am trying to use adb commands with my phone to update twrp/and put an os on it. So far no succes but it is connected. Connection tested with command "adb devices".

For flashing TWRP, it isn't adb you want, it is fastboot. adb and fastboot are related, but 2 different things. For fastboot to work, you want to be on the bootloader screen (not TWRP or OS) with "fastboot USB" selected. Then use the command to test: fastboot devices

Keep in mind, what TWRP version you update to, depends on what OS version you are trying to restore. What OS number does it indicate on the bootloader screen (or if blank, what hboot number and what radio number?).