FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

★ ☆ [ROM][5.1] Google Play+ Edition | 6.04.1700.19 [08-09-16] ★☆

12,456 posts
Thanks Meter: 23,585
 
By santod040, Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor on 6th December 2014, 03:31 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Announcement from santod040: Updated 5.1 Google Plus Edition to 6.04.1700.19 OTA with many improvements and changes
9th December 2014, 11:03 AM |#501  
santod040's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 23,585
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by polys643

Hello. I'm currently running ARHD 83.1 with firmware 6.09.401.11 (S-OFF). What do I need to do to install this ROM?

1. Install this ROM without changing firmware
2. Install GPe firmware 5.11.1700.3 and then install this ROM
2. Install this ROM and then install GPe firmware 5.11.1700.3

You don't have to flash gpe firmware.
You already have sense 4.4.3 firmware.
So wipe data, system, and both caches, flash the ROM.
 
 
9th December 2014, 11:05 AM |#502  
polys643's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nicosia
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

You don't have to flash gpe firmware.
You already have sense 4.4.3 firmware.
So wipe data, system, and both caches, flash the ROM.

Thanks for the reply. Are there any benefits with installing the GPE firmware, however?
9th December 2014, 11:07 AM |#503  
santod040's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 23,585
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by polys643

Thanks for the reply. Are there any benefits with installing the GPE firmware, however?

I don't think so personally.
But I may not be the best to answer that question.
I am running my CDMA port for the Verizon m7.
I don't flash gsm firmware on my CDMA device.
I am using the latest 4.4.3 sense firmware for my variant with no issues.
9th December 2014, 11:11 AM |#504  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 130
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

Try the work around from post #2
Seems like half the users have their device formatted one way, the other half another..

work around from post #2 solved the issue and sdcard contents are viewable in android file manager and also on windows
Anyway i flashed the V1.02 and i thought the sdcard issue has been solved?
so why still need to run the terminal emulator command?
9th December 2014, 11:14 AM |#505  
santod040's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 23,585
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewonsky

work around from post #2 solved the issue and sdcard contents are viewable in android file manager and also on windows
Anyway i flashed the V1.02 and i thought the sdcard issue has been solved?
so why still need to run the terminal emulator command?

Because of what I said in my last reply.
V1.01 worked fine for some users already, others it did not.
v1.02 fixed it for those that had the problem on v1.01 yet it created the problem for those that were fine on v1.01.
So, as I mentioned, some users are formatted one way, some are formatted another way.
Can't win in that situation and this isn't the first device to have this issue on Lollipop.
The fix was initially posted for the Nexus 6.
You can see it posted here for cm12 for another device as well: LINK
Good thing there is a work around huh...?
The Following User Says Thank You to santod040 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th December 2014, 11:28 AM |#506  
Senior Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I'm running 1.02, everything is excellent except the fact that I can't get the device to auto rotate the screen, I tried switch on and off, reboot, even reinstall the ROM from scratch, still can't get the device to auto rotate
9th December 2014, 11:38 AM |#507  
santod040's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 23,585
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kopeko

I'm running 1.02, everything is excellent except the fact that I can't get the device to auto rotate the screen, I tried switch on and off, reboot, even reinstall the ROM from scratch, still can't get the device to auto rotate

Are you checking in apps that actually rotate?
The stock aosp launcher that's in the ROM, does not.
So if you're just testing the home screen, then that's the problem.
If not, and you're checking apps that normally do, then its probably a firmware issue.
9th December 2014, 11:44 AM |#508  
polys643's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nicosia
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
I've installed the ROM and after it finished successfully i chose to Reboot to System and it keeps rebooting into recovery. I'm using TWRP 2.6.3.3
9th December 2014, 11:51 AM |#509  
santod040's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 23,585
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by polys643

I've installed the ROM and after it finished successfully i chose to Reboot to System and it keeps rebooting into recovery. I'm using TWRP 2.6.3.3

Try the suggested version.
That version is too old for Lollipop.
9th December 2014, 11:56 AM |#510  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
So, after a while i flashed this lolipop build over my existing lolipop rom which was in a beta state or smething like that(can write which exatcly). Anyways, if coming from 5.0, lolipop you just need to format everything (used twrp 8.1.0) except internal storge and then flash this rom. No hiccups, nothing is lost and everything works great for now. Battery is very good, looks promising.

About bugs that others are experiencing, I must say that i did not ran into any of them. Screen rotates as it should, alarms are ok, and mobile data, phone calls are working as they should. Waiting for updates for this rom. Today I will try to flash the custom kernel that is provided to check menu2settings option - it gives me the biggest benefit considering the missing menu button on this device.
The Following User Says Thank You to kriistofor For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kriistofor Ad-Free
9th December 2014, 12:02 PM |#511  
Ladis's Avatar
Member
Flag Pilsner Urquell
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by polys643

I've installed the ROM and after it finished successfully i chose to Reboot to System and it keeps rebooting into recovery. I'm using TWRP 2.6.3.3

I had a same issue, update to TWRP 2.8 and everything will run smoothly
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
google play edition, gpe, htc one, m7ul, santod040

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes