Kindle Fire HD 7" eMMC access

Search This thread

overlode

Jul 22, 2014
Hi all, following on from kurohyou's excellent work on the KF2, I thought I would go about trying to develop a tutorial for unbricking a hardbricked Kindle Fire HD 7". This would be for the 2012 model, NOT the 2013.

A little bit of background on myself. I have always had a keen interest in electronics and studied microelectronics at college. I am pretty good at soldering etc even on small SMD devices, even more so now I have spent out on some decent kit (helping hands, rework station etc). Now I have decided to carry out this project as a summer hobby and hopefully I will get some support from you guys.

I have managed to piece together enough information that I think will enable me to complete this tutorial, with the exception of Linux, something that I am very new to and would need some assistance with.

I have seen common names among the forums when it comes to this type of subject, stunts513, soupmagnet, hashcode to name a few. I am hoping with the assistance of these members I can complete a comprehensive guide on unbricking a Kindle Fire HD 7", similar to http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2415870

But please beware, IF YOU HAVE ANYTHING OTHER THAN A KINDLE FIRE HD 7" DO NOT USE THIS GUIDE!!

My main goal is to acquire a dead Kindle Fire HD 7" motherboard, as easily as possible. Unfortunately looking on eBay there seem to be very few from the UK and they are normally very expensive. I will keep looking but if anyone is willing to donate a non working or working motherboard for this cause I would be very grateful, just PM me if you can help. Just bear in mind due to the process it needs to go through, you will not get a working motherboard back, should you want it returned.