FORUMS

[ROM] [05 JUL 2020] LineageOS-14.1

3,428 posts
Thanks Meter: 23,889
 
By Hashcode, Senior Recognized Developer on 12th December 2016, 12:03 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
26th November 2017, 10:07 PM |#1021  
DB126's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9,973
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stauraum

hmm ...

this doesnt work for me. Updated twrp to 3.1.1-1, wiped the whole System, rebooted and flashed Lineage, Gapps and SuperSu. But the boot-loop still appears.

Edit: with lineageOS 13. its working now. Thanks. (y)

Appreciate the update. You could try returning to Lineage 14.1 or try a different Nougat based ROM. I have been pumping AospExtended (AEX) of late for it's speed, stability and feature set. I'm a longtime CM/Lineage user but AEX provides the best experience on an Android device I have had to date. All the goodness of pure AOSP with a nice set of optional extensions.
27th November 2017, 03:06 AM |#1022  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
@ggow,

Any update on Bluetooth? I have tried many different methods, including the ones in this thread, to no avail. The tablet sees the headphones, it just will not pair.

Are there log files somewhere that I could post that would help?

Thanks!

J
27th November 2017, 03:17 AM |#1023  
DB126's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9,973
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlbrown1

@ggow,

Any update on Bluetooth? I have tried many different methods, including the ones in this thread, to no avail. The tablet sees the headphones, it just will not pair.

Are there log files somewhere that I could post that would help?

FWIW - I have had no problems pairing a small collection of BT test devices (keyboard, mouse, earbuds, speaker, receiver) on AEX for Thor. Rather surprising as BT connectivity issues have dogged virtually all custom ROMs for HDX devices from Android 5.1 forward. Maybe just got lucky with my portfolio. That said, it's nice not having to switch to my phone to stream music to the home audio setup, etc.
27th November 2017, 01:40 PM |#1024  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davey126

Appreciate the update. You could try returning to Lineage 14.1 or try a different Nougat based ROM. I have been pumping AospExtended (AEX) of late for it's speed, stability and feature set. I'm a longtime CM/Lineage user but AEX provides the best experience on an Android device I have had to date. All the goodness of pure AOSP with a nice set of optional extensions.

I've tested now Lineage 14, AOSP and Slim. All are 7.1-roms. All not working. Reflashed Lineage 13 and now the tablet is working again.

Can the be a problem with the bootloader after selecting "encrypt this device"?
27th November 2017, 01:49 PM |#1025  
DB126's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9,973
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stauraum

I've tested now Lineage 14, AOSP and Slim. All are 7.1-roms. All not working. Reflashed Lineage 13 and now the tablet is working again.

Can the be a problem with the bootloader after selecting "encrypt this device"?

You could try reflashing the vulnerable bootloader but I doubt that will help. In all likelihood one of numerous (over a dozen) 'hidden' partitions was touched by the encryption attempt. At present there is not a comprehensive catalog of contents and, more importantly, a means for restoring back to 'stock'.

@draxie - thoughts?
29th November 2017, 07:32 PM |#1026  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 500
 
Donate to Me
More
Locked bootloader?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davey126

You could try reflashing the vulnerable bootloader but I doubt that will help. In all likelihood one of numerous (over a dozen) 'hidden' partitions was touched by the encryption attempt. At present there is not a comprehensive catalog of contents and, more importantly, a means for restoring back to 'stock'.

@draxie - thoughts?

Given that hashes and signatures are checked before loading
each new stage in the boot process, the bootloader must be
good, if the device is able to boot at all. On the other hand,
based on what works and what doesn't, I'd say the bootloader
is likely locked.
30th November 2017, 08:48 AM |#1027  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by draxie

Given that hashes and signatures are checked before loading
each new stage in the boot process, the bootloader must be
good, if the device is able to boot at all. On the other hand,
based on what works and what doesn't, I'd say the bootloader
is likely locked.

Yesterday i've re-unlocked the bootloader. Every output says success. But i'm unable to boot any 7.x Android. hmm ... freaky ...
30th November 2017, 02:03 PM |#1028  
DB126's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9,973
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stauraum

Yesterday i've re-unlocked the bootloader. Every output says success. But i'm unable to boot any 7.x Android. hmm ... freaky ...

I'm sticking with this at least conceptually. Nougat encryption is implemented differently than Android 4.4-6.x and remains a work-in-progress. The link below offers a laymen's perspective on some of the issues and hints at the problem you are currently experiencing. Me thinks the keys (or at least a flag) are resident in an area of permanent storage that remains untouched by standard partition wipes. Android 7.x based ROMs notice that and balk during boot while 6.x and lower ROMs are clueless to the previous device state. Good luck.

https://blog.cryptographyengineering...-n-encryption/
The Following User Says Thank You to DB126 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DB126 Ad-Free
2nd December 2017, 12:32 PM |#1029  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 500
 
Donate to Me
More
Question FBE == ext4 encryption
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davey126

I'm sticking with this at least conceptually. Nougat encryption is implemented differently than Android 4.4-6.x and remains a work-in-progress. The link below offers a laymen's perspective on some of the issues and hints at the problem you are currently experiencing. Me thinks the keys (or at least a flag) are resident in an area of permanent storage that remains untouched by standard partition wipes. Android 7.x based ROMs notice that and balk during boot while 6.x and lower ROMs are clueless to the previous device state. Good luck.

https://blog.cryptographyengineering...-n-encryption/

OK. So, I've done some reading on the new FBE in Nougat...
https://source.android.com/security/...ion/file-based
https://blog.compass-security.com/20...s-direct-boot/
http://www.delaat.net/rp/2016-2017/p45/report.pdf

Based on the above, FBE _should_ only directly affect /data,
(i.e. other partitions _may_ be implicated if the TEE uses them,
but I'm not convinced that matters, since the TEE is consulted
only if FBE is turned on, which is indicated in the filesystem).

On the other hand, the ext4 filesystem needs to be reformatted
to get rid of the FBE flags. I suspect that TWRP does NOT do this.
At least, the feedback it gives (I've just done a _complete_ wipe
of my test Thor, checking _ALL_ available checkboxes) only says
"wiping" for both /data and /data/media, but it says "formatting"
for cache and system...

I'd suggest testing the following **after** making a backup:
Code:
adb shell su -c "make_ext4fs /dev/block/mmcblk0p23"
This should not have any adverse effects (beyond obliterating
*all* data on /data *including* /data/media), since Android will
set this up properly again. I've just tested this after verifying
that 'wipe' still left (or re-created) some files on /data...
I sideloaded AEX (since data was pristine, I couldn't push the
ZIP anywhere...) and everything worked as expected.
NB: I have *not* verified that this solves the encryption issue,
only that it won't make things worse...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to draxie For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift draxie Ad-Free
2nd December 2017, 03:27 PM |#1030  
DB126's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9,973
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by draxie

OK. So, I've done some reading on the new FBE in Nougat...

...On the other hand, the ext4 filesystem needs to be reformatted
to get rid of the FBE flags. I suspect that TWRP does NOT do this.
At least, the feedback it gives (I've just done a _complete_ wipe
of my test Thor, checking _ALL_ available checkboxes) only says
"wiping" for both /data and /data/media, but it says "formatting"
for cache and system...

FWIW - TWRP does have the ability format/reformat/resize various partitions including /data. Believe it's buried under the Advance menu. That said, the adb command is probably cleaner/easier/quicker. And safer IMHO as there is no temptation to resize which is usually fatal on Android.
2nd December 2017, 07:40 PM |#1031  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 500
 
Donate to Me
More
Question Are you sure?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davey126

FWIW - TWRP does have the ability format/reformat/resize various partitions including /data. Believe it's buried under the Advance menu. That said, the adb command is probably cleaner/easier/quicker. And safer IMHO as there is no temptation to resize which is usually fatal on Android.

That functionality must have been removed from the version of TWRP I'm using...
The only remotely similar functionality under Advanced in @ggow's 3.1.1-1 build is
Partition SD Card, and when you try to run that with Internal Storage, you get an
error message saying 'You must select a removable device'.

In any case, all I meant was that the Advanced Wipe for Data and Internal Data
does not appear to reformat...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes