FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Zuk Z2 (standard) Malware Problem

5 posts
Thanks Meter: 2

By DutchZukZ2, Junior Member on 15th July 2016, 02:27 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi everyone! I'm new to this forum.

I bought the Zuk Z2 (standard) from Oppomart and everything is fine, except for one thing. I installed the Malwarebytes app, which found 1 malware/trojan named: "Android/Trojan.Spy.Smforw.l". It can be found in /system/priv-app/Liulangbao/Liulangbao.apk.
I'm pretty new to Chinese phones, and with help from the ZUI OS 1.9.044 ROM posted on this forum (along with an explanation of how to flash it) I managed to flash the original ROM (which turned out identical to the ROM from Oppomart). Sadly, it still contained the aforementioned malware.
Then I tried removing this app/malware with several apps from the Google Play Store, which didn't work (they need root access).
I found an explanation of how to root my Zuk Z2 via http://androiding.how/root-zuk-z2-an...twrp-recovery/. That website mentioned XDA as well: http://forum.xda-developers.com/zuk-...2#post67680272.
Do you reckon this is a trusted method? I have never rooted a phone before (it was quite an achievement for me to even flash a "new" ROM). Will I be at risk of bricking the phone?
My questions to you are: is this app/malware very hazardous? What does it do? Is my phone safe to use? What is the easiest way to delete it? Or should I try a completely different approach to this problem?

Thanks in advance for your help and please let me know if you need additional information!
The Following User Says Thank You to DutchZukZ2 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DutchZukZ2 Ad-Free

15th July 2016, 07:45 PM |#2  
Flag DAMN.
Thanks Meter: 23

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DutchZukZ2