FORUMS

[VK810] Official Kit Kat Update Information

74 posts
Thanks Meter: 22
 
By razgriz8426, Member on 31st July 2014, 11:45 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
We're all in the process of receiving and installing this update, and there are many questions about recoveries, rooting, etc. This is a thread to gather all the info we know so people don't have to be searching through tons of posts.

(I'm in the process of installing now, so I'll answer as many of these questions as I can. I will also update the OP with info from other users. If anything I state is untrue, please post and let me know.)

Can I take the update while rooted?
Yes! If you are on 4.2 and rooted but on STOCK RECOVERY, you can take the OTA and keep root.

Can I take the update with TWRP installed?
No! You will bootloop into recovery.

Is there an alternative/manual/TWRP method of installing?
Yes, see below post.

How am I supposed to update if I installed TWRP?
See below post, "README if you are currently on JB4.2.2"

Alternative method: "download flashify from the play store, backup twrp, then flash the recovery.img from OP. No pc needed & 100% pain free." Thank you to 86shelby. Then take the OTA.

Can I root the 4.4 version?
As of 8/26, yes! Stumproot works with the Bruteforce method. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2850906

Can I downgrade from 4.4 to 4.2?
Yes


If anyone else has questions they'd like posted, please let me know, and I'll put them in.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to razgriz8426 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift razgriz8426 Ad-Free
1st August 2014, 03:01 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 497
 
More
NOTE: If you want root/twrp in KK4.4.2, you'll need to pre-root in JB4.2.2 before OTA update(towelroot works in JB4.2.2, but not in KK4.4.2)
Looks like Stumproot works with KK4.4.2

README if you have a non-booting device
If you tried OTA update with TWRP recovery and get stuck in a bootloop for TWRP
Quote:

Do one of the options below:


If I mess everything up and device doesn't boot
Restore (B) the entire device back to 4.2.2 using the kdz file(more complicated and you lose all your settings/files/apps)
README if you are currently on JB4.2.2
If you already have TWRP, you can flash 4.4.2 via the TWRP backup below (probably can just flash over 4.2.2 without factory reset... do factory reset only if something goes wrong)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1#post53043541




If you want to apply update via Verizon OTA, READ below first
Quote:

  1. If you have TWRP installed, you'll need to flash stock recovery. Either (A)
    restore stock recovery only, or restore (B) the entire device back to 4.2.2 using the kdz file(more complicated and you lose all your settings/files/apps)
    NOTE: some people have problems with OTA even after restoring stock recovery. You'll have to restore using the (B) method, and lose everything
  2. If you want root in 4.4.2, you'll need to apply root BEFORE OTA (via towelroot, ...?). root is allowed during OTA, will be maintained after OTALooks like stumproot works
  3. Apply OTA, hope nothing goes wrong
  4. Yay!

README if you are currently on KK4.4.2

Splitwindow/multiwindow on 4.4.2
http://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-g...k-4-4-t2837326

Root on 4.4.2: Use Stumproot

TWRP on 4.4.2
Quote:

  1. Root ? (Towelroot isn't working though)
  2. Flash 4.2.2 aboot.img and TWRP.img
    A) Upload aboot.img from 4.2.2 to device, then do

    Code:
     adb shell
    su
    dd if=/sdcard/aboot.img of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/aboot
    B) Follow steps in TWRP thread to install TWRP





4G LTE does not work on 4.4.2?
Flash modem from 4.2.2 -> http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...96&postcount=5



Going from 4.4.2 back to 4.2.2
Quote:

Install TWRP (see section above)
Get 4.2.2 TWRP backup from here and restore
or restore (B) the entire device back to 4.2.2 using the kdz file(more complicated and you lose all your settings/files/apps)

The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to paperWastage For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift paperWastage Ad-Free
1st August 2014, 03:42 AM |#3  
rfarrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag OKC
Thanks Meter: 490
 
More
Guess I got lucky - never got around to installing the custom recovery. I MEANT to do that....
1st August 2014, 05:10 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 497
 
More
https://pvzwmdmcdn.vzw.motive.com/fi...11A_TO_22B.bin

in case you want to poke around

Verizon LG G2 users say it's okay to be rooted, just need stock recovery for OTA update... let's see what happens..

yeah, 0x136 error when it tries to update. people say 0x136/0x13E errors are because of unlocked bootloaders... i guess we need to flash completely stock via KDZ file, then take ota, then use stuff like towelroot
1st August 2014, 07:26 AM |#5  
gfullwr70's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham, N.C.
Thanks Meter: 99
 
More
So this is what I get when I check for update. I'm stock unrooted I even did a FDR. Any ideas?



Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to gfullwr70 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift gfullwr70 Ad-Free
1st August 2014, 01:39 PM |#6  
Member
Flag Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Towelroot doesn't work yet with the new update. I took the update completely stock and unrooted and I'm not able to root now.
1st August 2014, 02:22 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 497
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by modus81

Towelroot doesn't work yet with the new update. I took the update completely stock and unrooted and I'm not able to root now.

have you tried other root methods?

ioroot, or this root below? (
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ighlight=4+2+2
1st August 2014, 03:30 PM |#8  
gfullwr70's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham, N.C.
Thanks Meter: 99
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paperWastage

https://pvzwmdmcdn.vzw.motive.com/fi...11A_TO_22B.bin

in case you want to poke around

Verizon LG G2 users say it's okay to be rooted, just need stock recovery for OTA update... let's see what happens..

yeah, 0x136 error when it tries to update. people say 0x136/0x13E errors are because of unlocked bootloaders... i guess we need to flash completely stock via KDZ file, then take ota, then use stuff like towelroot

How do I install this?

Sent from my VK810 4G using Tapatalk
1st August 2014, 04:22 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 497
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfullwr70

How do I install this?

Sent from my VK810 4G using Tapatalk

you don't. go through Settings-> System update
1st August 2014, 04:25 PM |#10  
gfullwr70's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham, N.C.
Thanks Meter: 99
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paperWastage

you don't. go through Settings-> System update

Ok thanks. Check my above post and pic. I get that everyone I try there check for update.

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
1st August 2014, 04:29 PM |#11  
Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfullwr70

Ok thanks. Check my above post and pic. I get that everyone I try there check for update.

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

Same here
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes