FORUMS

[RECOVERY] [TWRP - V3.2.3-1 For H870, H872, US997] [unofficial]

2,656 posts
Thanks Meter: 7,200
 
By runningnak3d, Recognized Developer on 12th August 2018, 01:21 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
TWRP Recovery

This thread, and all current work were @Eliminater74's. He has moved on, so I am going to pick up where he left off. He will be missed in the LG community.

Downloads:
TWRP Version: 3.2.3-1:

Updated:
Replaced compressed kernel, so boot times are much lower.

Verified not working:
Clock

Verified Working,
Flashing ZIP/IMAGES

Needs Testing:
encryption
Wipe LG Lockscreen
kdzwriter (imported: said to possibly work for g6 and v30)

I am sure many more things.. Just give me time to work on it all..


XDA:DevDB Information
[RECOVERY] [TWRP - V3.2.3-1 For H870, H872, US997] [unofficial], ROM for the LG G6

Contributors
runningnak3d, Eliminater74
Source Code: https://github.com/runningnak3d/andr...table_recovery

ROM OS Version: 8.x Oreo

Version Information
Status: Testing
Current Beta Version: 3.2.3-1

Created 2019-02-13
Last Updated 2019-02-13
The Following 40 Users Say Thank You to runningnak3d For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th August 2018, 01:23 AM |#2  
runningnak3d's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Largo
Thanks Meter: 7,200
 
Donate to Me
More
Note: You must flash the 'IMG' File to install recovery, then reboot into recovery.


I want to give a huge thanks to: @zefie for much code and custom changes he made to TWRP that allowed me to use:

@zefie, Since much of your code was a huge mess, I picked out only a few things, Like the LG lockscreen wipe.........
Most of the rest I used Omni's gerrit and added in things..

as for device tree, I used yours as a ref, then updated to see what fits.. I managed to get TIME to work on AOSP/LOS not sure how well on stock..
but im next to sure it will.......

I added kdzwriter for peepz that wanna flash parts of kdz file to device.. but even know I was told that it should work for the G6 and V30, it still gives me a error on the kdz files when it test to see if its
compatible with device, which it is.. guess from looking at the code it analyzes your current GPT on your device and matches it to the one in KDZ, if no match it wont allow you to write anything..
so I emailed author and waiting to see if I get a response back one day..........
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to runningnak3d For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th August 2018, 01:24 AM |#3  
runningnak3d's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Largo
Thanks Meter: 7,200
 
Donate to Me
More
reserved #2
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to runningnak3d For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th August 2018, 03:29 AM |#4  
jimbomodder's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag manchester
Thanks Meter: 1,341
 
Donate to Me
More
1st haha

---------- Post added at 03:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:27 AM ----------

What's the kdz writer do?
12th August 2018, 04:12 AM |#5  
Eliminater74's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Clearwater
Thanks Meter: 16,884
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbomodder

1st haha

---------- Post added at 03:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:27 AM ----------

What's the kdz writer do?

plug her in or drop to a terminal and type kdzwriter
it will give you clear instructions........

I think it needs updating to allow for G6 and v30, and I already emailed the author on that............
The Following User Says Thank You to Eliminater74 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th August 2018, 04:27 AM |#6  
jimbomodder's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag manchester
Thanks Meter: 1,341
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliminater74

plug her in or drop to a terminal and type kdzwriter
it will give you clear instructions........

I think it needs updating to allow for G6 and v30, and I already emailed the author on that............

Ah ok and yeah takes ages to boot up haha


Sent from my [device_name] using XDA-Developers Legacy app
12th August 2018, 10:33 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
h872, work!!!
on older twrp can't mount /data in stok oreo rom
this version work perfectly for me
The Following User Says Thank You to DmytroPitenko For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DmytroPitenko Ad-Free
12th August 2018, 01:23 PM |#8  
Eliminater74's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Clearwater
Thanks Meter: 16,884
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbomodder

Ah ok and yeah takes ages to boot up haha


Sent from my [device_name] using XDA-Developers Legacy app

when I re compile my kernels, I will remove that compile for size setting. cause that is why it takes so long to boot...... its gota de compress the kernel image...
12th August 2018, 02:11 PM |#9  
jimbomodder's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag manchester
Thanks Meter: 1,341
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliminater74

when I re compile my kernels, I will remove that compile for size setting. cause that is why it takes so long to boot...... its gota de compress the kernel image...

Good good, it makes you think it's failed haha

Sent from my [device_name] using XDA-Developers Legacy app

---------- Post added at 01:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:38 PM ----------

Also noticed vendor partition no longer shows up in mount settings

Sent from my [device_name] using XDA-Developers Legacy app
12th August 2018, 02:29 PM |#10  
Eliminater74's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Clearwater
Thanks Meter: 16,884
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbomodder

Good good, it makes you think it's failed haha

Sent from my [device_name] using XDA-Developers Legacy app

---------- Post added at 01:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:38 PM ----------

Also noticed vendor partition no longer shows up in mount settings

Sent from my [device_name] using XDA-Developers Legacy app

There is no vendor partition yet, at least not with my AEX ROM and device tree that I use...
the only vendor is system/vendor and /vendor that symlinks to system/vendor .................

vendor partition is for Treble devices which we are not yet setup for......
I was going to convert my G6 to Treble and allow for vendor partition which is like 500+ megs.. minus the same amount from system.........

But till that project is verified to work, I have yet to do it..........
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Eliminater74 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th August 2018, 10:11 PM |#11  
Eliminater74's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Clearwater
Thanks Meter: 16,884
 
Donate to Me
More
Building another Update Recovery Package: Trying a few new things to see if I can get all to work like it should.

Vendor was added to backups for the ones that have 'VENDOR' partition, Its marked as removable so that peepz without it dont get errors:
misc is added to backup, so you dont lose your network mac stuff.....
data can also be backed up in whole with internal Storage added
laf partition can now also be backed up, Just in case peepz.................

At some point I will be removing the extra_sd partition section.. I see no need for it.. and its just a waste.. unless others can tell me otherwise..
it was only a good idea back when MultiROM was a thing.. Which today its not....... and no longer updated or maintained.......

So having that is not needed................
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Eliminater74 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes