FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Headphone Jack fix for Audio cutting out & activating google assistant

37 posts
Thanks Meter: 18

By mervin989, Member on 2nd September 2017, 03:51 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Alright i am going to make a new thread, i created an album on imgur and posted on reddit and in another thread here, but still have people asking how to fix it. Hopefully this turns up in google/xda forum search.

https://imgur.com/gallery/5cou6

LG G6 suffering from intermittent disconnections, Google Assistant popups or track skipping? Simple fix for that, no need to send the phone in or have it replaced.

Side note: I am what some would call an audiophile/audio enthusiast, and I also work in the live sound industry, where setting up sound systems and operating them also requires me to play songs off my phone to keep you entertained at times. My ATH-M50x started to suffer from the above problems with all 3 cables and i was wondering what happened, apparently LG has bad manufacturing tolerances and this is the result. When the tabs get depressed, the intermittent connections cause the phone to go crazy, and cables with 4-pole/TRRS (meaning with a mic) tend to be
very slightly larger than the standard 3-pole/TRS jack. Hence other people mentioning that 4-pole cables working while standard 3-pole doesn't.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to mervin989 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mervin989 Ad-Free
3rd September 2017, 07:16 AM |#2  
Thanks Meter: 8

More
You saved me from sending my phone back.
Thanks 1000 times!!
The Following User Says Thank You to Raphyo For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Raphyo Ad-Free
3rd September 2017, 08:53 AM |#3  
Thanks Meter: 249

More
I replied in the other topic already, but seems that one is dead.
Thanks a bunch for this wonderful tip, no more crackling sound when connecting, no more sudden voice assistant popping up.
18th December 2017, 07:06 AM |#4  
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 9

More