FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[US998][STOCK][OREO]LG V30 US998 US99820d_01_0710.kdz

10,600 posts
Thanks Meter: 7,110
 
By ChazzMatt, Recognized Contributor on 5th May 2018, 06:09 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
For bootloader unlock purposes, use the US998 KDZ versions with no pre-July 2018 security patch: 20a or 20b. Look at the names for dates in the title. You can always update to newer firmware later, AFTER bootloader is unlocked. See bottom of post for instructions on how to downgrade to earlier firmware.
__________


US99820d_01_0710.kdz
2.76GB

DOWNLOAD LINKS:
* Android File Hosts MIRROR coming

md5: A85265F221E082D699680B3117D0F20D


TWRP FLASHABLE VERSION:
(Thanks to @westwood24!)
https://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-...d-rom-t3830318

Screenshots below are for previous firmware and only demonstrate how to upgrade full KDZ using LGUP.
______________________
PREVIOUS FIRMWARE

US99820b_03_0524.kdz
2.76GB

DOWNLOAD LINKS:
* Android File Hosts MIRROR

md5: 66b32b2d332a876889b6a74ba8d8be7c


TWRP FLASHABLE VERSION:
(Thanks to @westwood24)

https://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-...b-rom-t3813923

For TWRP flashable version, you will still need to reinstall Magisk.

Screenshots below are for previous firmware and only demonstrate how to upgrade full KDZ using LGUP.
______________________
PREVIOUS FIRMWARE

US99820a_04_0330.kdz
3GB

DOWNLOAD LINKS:
* Android File Hosts MIRROR

md5: 5654DD3238DB691C1E6E633FE16092C4

* CODEFIRE (Thanks to XDA dev @autoprime.)

* LG BRIDGE (WHEN IT ARRIVES)


______________

NOTE: This is for all V30/V30+ US998 -- open market US998 V30/V30+ as well as U.S Cellular US998 V30/V30+.

Here's how to flash:

Quote:
Originally Posted by padmanek

* To simply flash the .kdz you can use LG UP + Uppercut method (the most simple way), no need to mess with any .dlls.

* If you don't want to use Uppercut (why not?) you can use the .dll I extracted from the KDZ. I attached it to this post. It's clean, unpatched. It needs to be placed inside \LG Electronics\LGUP\model\common folder. You will have to create common folder. It's not there by default. Basic LGUP looks like this:



* If you want to have the developer LG UP version (overkill for just flashing a KDZ ) then you need both patched .dll and patched LGUP.exe. Attached a .zip that simply has to be unpacked in the LGUP folder and it will work right away. Dev LG UP looks like this:


All you really need is the UPGRADE function
.DLL for all the variants I've found firmwares on XDA was the same
.

NOTE: If upgrading from Nougat to Oreo, you can still use Uppercut. If you are already on Oreo, this version of UPPERCUT does not work. You have to just use LGUP. Contact XDA dev @autoprime for any questions about Uppercut.

I've added @Whiskeyomega's Oreo DLL to these attachments, while keeping @padmanek's original Nougat DLL.

Here's my own US998 V30+ updating:





__________

----------------------------
DOWNGRADING ANY LG V30/V30+/V30S TO EARLIER OREO KDZ FIRMWARE

1) Go into download mode (power off completely, then hold volume up button while plugging in USB cable)
2) open patched LGUP and flash pre-July 2018 security patch OREO KDZ to DL PARTITION. In the pop up box "Select All". Use the attached patched LGUP in this post.
3) Master Reset (post 101 of Frankenstein thread)

(For bootloader unlock purposes, use the KDZ versions with pre-July 2018 security patch: 20a or 20b.. You can always update to newer firmware later, AFTER bootloader is unlocked.)
5) DONE.


Here's how to install LGUP:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nine One One

You should create LGUP folder at "C:\Program Files (x86)\LG Electronics"
Then you dowload "LGUP+V30DLL_PATCHED.zip" file (attached to this post) and unrar.
Copy all file after unrar to C:\Program Files (x86)\LG Electronics\LGUP
Connect device and run LGUP.exe
Done

It's fairly easy. Most people breeze right through this. But if you have any problems, go through this list:
  • Make sure you in download mode BEFORE opening the patched LGUP file.
    This is at the top of the list as some people forget to do that. The remainder are in no particular order. If that doesn't work,
  • Try different USB port,
  • Try different USB cable,
  • Try different computer.
  • Reinstall LG mobile drivers.
  • Reinstall dev patched LGUP again, making sure the files are placed where they need to go (LG Electronics folder, etc).
  • Reboot the computer.

If you ask for help, that's the list of items we are going to give you anyway.
________________
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OREO UPGRADE.png
Views:	1552
Size:	32.9 KB
ID:	4493911   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180505_142606.jpg
Views:	1498
Size:	244.9 KB
ID:	4493912   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180505_142642.jpg
Views:	1390
Size:	239.5 KB
ID:	4493913   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2018-05-05-14-30-41.png
Views:	1456
Size:	144.6 KB
ID:	4493914  
Attached Files
File Type: zip LGUP_common_DLL_V30_ALLVARIANTS.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.29 MB, 750 views)
File Type: zip LGUP+V30DLL_PATCHED.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.70 MB, 896 views)
File Type: zip LGUP_common_OREO.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.64 MB, 716 views)
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to ChazzMatt For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ChazzMatt Ad-Free
 
 
5th May 2018, 06:11 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Yesss! Finally. Thanks. I hope this will lead to new weta rom.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChazzMatt

DOWNLOADING NOW. Be patient.

Thanks to @autoprime.

use this download link until I get and Android Hosts file link.

http://downloads.codefi.re/autoprime...0a_04_0330.kdz

Sent from my LG-US998 using Tapatalk
5th May 2018, 07:10 PM |#3  
ChazzMatt's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Atlanta, Georgia
Thanks Meter: 7,110
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by agamemnonn

Yesss! Finally. Thanks. I hope this will lead to new weta rom.

Sent from my LG-US998 using Tapatalk

We now have two working download links -- Android File Hosts and Codefire. I'll add the LG Bridge server link when it becomes available. Now I have to actually flash it myself!

DONE. See screenshots.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OREO UPGRADE.png
Views:	618
Size:	32.9 KB
ID:	4493838   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180505_142606.jpg
Views:	612
Size:	244.9 KB
ID:	4493841   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180505_142642.jpg
Views:	584
Size:	239.5 KB
ID:	4493842   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2018-05-05-14-30-41.png
Views:	578
Size:	144.6 KB
ID:	4493843  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ChazzMatt For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ChazzMatt Ad-Free
5th May 2018, 07:49 PM |#4  
jeston's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Thanks for this. So what all do we need to do in order to root again after upgrading? I assume this wipes everything, correct? So do we need to re-flash the new TWRP after we upgrade, then format data and flash the no verity script again, then install magisk? Or is the format data and flash no verity not needed if we've already done that on Nougat? I'm pretty new to using KDZs.
5th May 2018, 07:56 PM |#5  
ChazzMatt's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Atlanta, Georgia
Thanks Meter: 7,110
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeston

Thanks for this. So what all do we need to do in order to root again after upgrading? I assume this wipes everything, correct? So do we need to re-flash the new TWRP after we upgrade, then format data and flash the no verity script again, then install magisk? Or is the format data and flash no verity not needed if we've already done that on Nougat? I'm pretty new to using KDZs.



EDIT:
changing this answer based on people's experiences.

Yes, you will lose root and custom TWRP recovery. You'll have flash/reinstall those. Be sure to use the Oreo compatible TWRP 3.2.1:

https://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-...t3779171/page8
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ChazzMatt For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ChazzMatt Ad-Free
5th May 2018, 08:06 PM |#6  
jeston's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChazzMatt

EDIT: changing this answer based on people's experiences.

Yes, you will lose root and custom TWRP recovery. You'll have flash/reinstall those. Be sure to use the Oreo compatible TWRP 3.2.1:

https://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-...t3779171/page8

Thanks, will work on this tomorrow when I have more time!
5th May 2018, 08:45 PM |#7  
ChazzMatt's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Atlanta, Georgia
Thanks Meter: 7,110
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeston

Thanks, will work on this tomorrow when I have more time!

Yes, I updated my still-bootloader locked US998 V30+ immediately. I'll do my bootloader unlocked, rooted US998 V30 later...
The Following User Says Thank You to ChazzMatt For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ChazzMatt Ad-Free
5th May 2018, 09:25 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
I just relock bootloader before flashing. But now i have warning "your device has failed a routine safety check and will not boot" and does not even get into bootloader mode. Do you have any idea?
5th May 2018, 09:42 PM |#9  
ChazzMatt's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Atlanta, Georgia
Thanks Meter: 7,110
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by agamemnonn

I just relock bootloader before flashing. But now i have warning "your device has failed a routine safety check and will not boot" and does not even get into bootloader mode. Do you have any idea?

See this thread for the V20 but you need KDZ for the V30.

https://forum.xda-developers.com/v20...vices-t3524903

You should still be able to use Oreo KDZ and LGUP, I would think.
_______
EDIT:
After further discussion, I've removed instructions to re-lock the bootloader as people have successfully upgraded without doing that.
The Following User Says Thank You to ChazzMatt For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ChazzMatt Ad-Free
5th May 2018, 10:02 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChazzMatt

See this thread for the V20 but you need KDZ for the V30.

https://forum.xda-developers.com/v20...vices-t3524903

You should still be able to use Oreo KDZ and LGUP, I would think.

I just know if you don't relock the bootloader you have problems then relocking it after flashing the update.

I dont know how but i could enter bootloader finally. I just unlocked again. I guess problem was that i was on custom rom with TWRP. now first, flashing 10d kdz, and then relock and then i will flash oreo.
The Following User Says Thank You to agamemnonn For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift agamemnonn Ad-Free
5th May 2018, 10:02 PM |#11  
ChazzMatt's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Atlanta, Georgia
Thanks Meter: 7,110
 
Donate to Me
More
Deleting this post as information has changed. Do NOT re-lock the bootloader.
The Following User Says Thank You to ChazzMatt For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ChazzMatt Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes