FORUMS

[ROOT] Full Root for the Mate 9

3,206 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,580
 
By ante0, Senior Member on 14th February 2017, 06:28 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I DIRECT YOUR ATTENTION TO THIS THREAD INSTEAD: https://forum.xda-developers.com/mat...-data-t3569986

It's easier as you don't need to get a decrypted boot image.

Thank you ajsmsg78 for your work on this.

If you rooted using this method you don't need to re-root. Only difference is that SuperRoot patches boot image to "decrypt" automatically.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2017-02-26-02-43-16.png
Views:	14062
Size:	89.8 KB
ID:	4054766   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2017-02-26-02-43-19.png
Views:	13804
Size:	104.1 KB
ID:	4054767   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2017-02-26-02-43-23.png
Views:	13616
Size:	114.8 KB
ID:	4054768  
The Following 30 Users Say Thank You to ante0 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ante0 Ad-Free
14th February 2017, 06:53 PM |#2  
spc_hicks09's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Marion, OH
Thanks Meter: 1,873
 
Donate to Me
More
Perfect. Will try this later and report back. Thank you!
14th February 2017, 07:38 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 1,580
 
Donate to Me
More
Just a tip, wipe dalvik & cache after flashing, fixed some small bugs for me (Not being able to get into developer options)

Also, RSA breaks if you flash the wrong boot image (165 on 138) so no adb
The Following User Says Thank You to ante0 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ante0 Ad-Free
14th February 2017, 09:40 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 252
 
More
Yes!!!!
14th February 2017, 09:54 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 139
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ante0

Just a tip, wipe dalvik & cache after flashing, fixed some small bugs for me (Not being able to get into developer options)

Also, RSA breaks if you flash the wrong boot image (165 on 138) so no adb

So does this work if RSA break...Sorry I'm a noob. Is this process safe to root? Which one should image should I flash
..The latest one I'm assuming.

Sent from my MHA-L29 using XDA-Developers Legacy app
14th February 2017, 09:58 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 1,580
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ckao

So does this work if RSA break...Sorry I'm a noob. Is this process safe to root? Which one should image should I flash
..The latest one I'm assuming.

Sent from my MHA-L29 using XDA-Developers Legacy app

What model are you using?
Check Settings - About - Build number
MHA-L29...

About safeness, worst case you can use FunkyHuawei to restore (Unless you're using the US C567, and it's not a free service). But restoring stock boot using fastboot should be enough, and you would do a data wipe in vain.
14th February 2017, 10:09 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 139
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ante0

What model are you using?
Check Settings - About - Build number
MHA-L29...

About safeness, worst case you can use FunkyHuawei to restore (Unless you're using the US C567, and it's not a free service). But restoring stock boot using fastboot should be enough, and you would do a data wipe in vain.

Click image for larger version

Name:	1487110188129.jpg
Views:	4662
Size:	31.4 KB
ID:	4041592

Sent from my MHA-L29 using XDA-Developers Legacy app
14th February 2017, 10:23 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
*in that way we don't need to have the boodloader unlocked ??
15th February 2017, 12:32 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 252
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ckao

Attachment 4041592

Sent from my MHA-L29 using XDA-Developers Legacy app

So... To be clear for the folks that need clarity (me) to prevent messing up a device without a downloadable full ROM (though I'll do a full TWRP Backup to the best of my ability post step one), the current US only build appropriate boot image is B138?

Thank you for the screenshot. Ready to pop open the new device box and unlock the bootloader and fastboot. This helps so I'm flashing the correct modified boot.img in recovery.
15th February 2017, 12:33 AM |#10  
jr313's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Detroit, MI
Thanks Meter: 277
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by talstar

*in that way we don't need to have the boodloader unlocked ??

Yes you must unlock your bootloader in order to flash TWRP and install root.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3000 using XDA-Developers Legacy app

---------- Post added at 07:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:32 PM ----------

Time to break my mate 9 back out and root it again. Thank you!

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3000 using XDA-Developers Legacy app
15th February 2017, 12:41 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Riyadh
Thanks Meter: 140
 
Donate to Me
More
@ajsmsg78 the boot images cause a bootloop for MHA-L29C185 could you please make a special boot file for it, here is the link for C185B138

https://mega.nz/#!PsxGhJ7R!iN7g1OaEb...DN8Fgs8X7PrTCc
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes