FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[GUIDE] Enable 4g+/LTE-A Carrier Aggregation without Root on Stock Rom

45 posts
Thanks Meter: 18
 
By anshsharma240, Member on 27th January 2019, 07:50 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
As we all know, MiA1 has a Snapdragon 625 processor that comes with the X9 LTE ​​modem which supports Carrier Aggregation (2CA) but the OEM has not enabled it.
With the help of this guide you can enable carrier aggregation in your mia1 even without unlocked bootloader and root access.


Tools Required

1. Minimal ADB Drivers
2. QPST Flash Tools
3. QxDM Professional
4. LTE Band Calculator for Android

Steps to Follow

1. Install Minimal ADB Drivers, QPST Flash Tool & QXDM Professional on your PC.
2. Enable USB Debugging on your MiA1 .
3. Go to Phone dialer and dial " *#*#717717#*#* " to enable Diagnostic Mode.
4. Connect your phone to PC via USB Cable then your PC will detect the device and automatically install the drivers.
5. Open Device Manager on PC and look for Ports(COM & LPT), under this you will see your device listed as "Qualcomm HS USB Diagnostics 9091 (COM*)".
6. Now, Run QPST as an administrator then goto Ports tab and check if your device is listed there and it's state is enabled.
7. Run QXDM as an administrator then goto Options tab and click on Communications. Now a new window will open, in that select your device COM Port under "Target Port" and make sure that your device is selected under "PortType", then click OK.
8. Select "NV Browser" from drop-down menu under View and select "RF LTE" under Category Filter.Now scroll and find something like "RFNV LTE B* CA BC CONFIG"("*" denotes the band).
9. As MiA1 only supports 2CA. we can CA using only two bands
For Ex: B1+B3, B3+B5, B3+B40, B5+B40, B5+B5, B40+B40 etc..
You can select any two band combination that is supported by your carrier and is available in you region.
10. Now Open LTE band Calculator on your phone and select two bands (e.g. B3+B40). you will see a value like "549755813892" or something else(it depends on your bands selection).
11. In QXDM select "RFNV LTE B3 CA BC CONFIG", click on "Read" then double-click on Input and clear the default value "0" and type the value that we have calculated using LTE Band Calculator in step 10 above, then click on "Write". Now,do the same with "RFNV LTE B40 CA BC CONFIG".
12. Wait for few seconds and then disconnect the phone from PC.
13. Now,Restart your phone and turn on data you will see 4g+ icon in status bar. That's it.



Things to Remember

* In step 10 choose bands that are available in your region and make sure, that your carrier supports CA over that bands.
* In step 11, change the value of bands selected in step 10.
* You have to try and test multiple combinations to get the stable CA state because in some bands network is unstable.
* If you lose signal after this process or if you want to revert back then just repeat step 11 and put default input value which is "0" for our MiA1.

To check whether CA is working or not

1. Open Phone Dialer and dial "*#*#4636#*#*" to enter in Testing menu.
2. Tap on Phone Information and check "LTE physical channel configuration".

If CA is working, It will show you two connections Primary and Secondary along with their bandwidth, otherwise nothing.

I have configured intra-band CA over band 40 on Jio4G.
You can look at the screenshots attached below for difference with or without CA.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	4026
Size:	138.3 KB
ID:	4695973   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	4224
Size:	188.9 KB
ID:	4695974   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.png
Views:	4114
Size:	140.4 KB
ID:	4695975   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.png
Views:	4028
Size:	192.1 KB
ID:	4695976  
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to anshsharma240 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift anshsharma240 Ad-Free
 
 
28th January 2019, 04:04 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anshsharma240

As we all know, MiA1 has a Snapdragon 625 processor that comes with the X9 LTE ​​modem which supports Carrier Aggregation (2CA) but the OEM has not enabled it.
With the help of this guide you can enable career aggregation in your mia1 even without unlocked bootloader and root access.

Tools Required

1. Minimal ADB Drivers
2. QPST Flash Tools
3. QxDM Professional
4. LTE Band Calculator for Android

Steps to Follow

1. Install Minimal ADB Drivers, QPST Flash Tool & QXDM Professional on your PC.
2. Enable USB Debugging on your MiA1 .
3. Go to Phone dialer and dial " *#*#717717#*#* " to enter Diagnostic Mode.
4. Connect your phone to PC via USB Cable then your PC will detect the device and automatically install the drivers.
5. Open Device Manager on PC and look for Ports(COM & LPT), under this you will see your device listed as "Qualcomm HS USB Diagnostics 9091 (COM*)".
6. Now, Run QPST as an administrator then goto Ports tab and check if your device is listed there and it's state is enabled.
7. Run QXDM as an administrator then goto Options tab and click on Communications. Now a new window will open, in that select your device COM Port under "Target Port" and make sure that your device is selected under "PortType", then click OK.
8. Select "NV Browser" from drop-down menu under View and select "RF LTE" under Category Filter.Now scroll and find something like "RFNV LTE B* CA BC CONFIG"("*" denotes the band).
9. As MiA1 only supports 2CA. we can CA using only two bands
For Ex: B3+B5,B3+B40,B5+B40 etc..
You can select any two band combination that is supported by your carrier and is available in you region.
10. Now Open LTE band Calculator on your phone and select two bands (e.g. B3+B40). you will see a value like "549755813892" or something else(it depends on your bands selection).
11. In QXDM select "RFNV LTE B3 CA BC CONFIG", click on "Read" then double-click on Input and clear the default value "0" and type the value that we have calculated using LTE Band Calculator in step 10 above, then click on "Write". Now,do the same with "RFNV LTE B40 CA BC CONFIG".
12. Wait for few seconds and then disconnect the phone from PC.
13. Now,Restart your phone and turn on data you will see 4g+ icon in status bar. That's it.


Things to Remember

* In step 10 choose bands that are available in your region and make sure, that your carrier supports CA over that bands.
* In step 11, change the value of bands selected in step 10.
* You have to try and test multiple combinations to get the stable CA state because in some bands network is unstable.
* If you lose signal after this process or if you want to revert back then just repeat step 11 and put default input value which is "0" for our MiA1.

Bro already a thread is there and a tutorial too....

If someone has a doubt then refer following tutorial...[youtube]RQLJ-d6adbk[/youtube]
28th January 2019, 04:35 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Cuttack
Thanks Meter: 67
 
Donate to Me
More
@anshsharma240 what bands are used in india? For Jio, Airtel, Vodafone? Which career supports CA in india?
28th January 2019, 06:21 AM |#4  
OP Member
Flag delhi
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by .:Addicted:.

@anshsharma240 what bands are used in india? For Jio, Airtel, Vodafone? Which career supports CA in india?

Right now, Only Jio and Airtel supports LTE Advanced through carrier aggregation.
Jio: band 3, 5 & 40
Airtel : band 3 & 40
The Following User Says Thank You to anshsharma240 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift anshsharma240 Ad-Free
28th January 2019, 07:03 AM |#5  
OP Member
Flag delhi
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shobit Joura

Bro already a thread is there and a tutorial too....

If someone has a doubt then refer following tutorial...[youtube]RQLJ-d6adbk[/youtube]

Bro, apart from youtube link that thread doesn't contain any details and your tutorial is also in hindi.
28th January 2019, 07:07 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anshsharma240

Bro, apart from youtube link that thread doesn't contain any details and your tutorial is also in hindi.

Yeah the thread was here...detailed...
ENABLE 4g+/LTE+ in any device!, NO ROOT!,with PROOF!,DETAILED TUTORIAL! http://in.c.mi.com/thread-1729961-1-0.html

I think link was given there.....and its there..so i font thought of rewritting it and just pasted the link of this thread there ....
28th January 2019, 07:29 AM |#7  
OP Member
Flag delhi
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shobit Joura

Yeah the thread was here...detailed...
ENABLE 4g+/LTE+ in any device!, NO ROOT!,with PROOF!,DETAILED TUTORIAL! http://in.c.mi.com/thread-1729961-1-0.html

I think link was given there.....and its there..so i font thought of rewritting it and just pasted the link of this thread there ....

It's mi forum link and it's not there in your xda thread.
28th January 2019, 07:46 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anshsharma240

It's mi forum link and it's not there in your xda thread.

There is a xda thread link , but never mind u did good , by writing it all here.👍
The Following User Says Thank You to Shobit Joura For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Shobit Joura Ad-Free
29th January 2019, 06:44 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Is there any method to testing or any confirmation that it really working except lte+ on status bar?
29th January 2019, 12:33 PM |#10  
punktnet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
A speed test will tell you if working or not.
The Following User Says Thank You to punktnet For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift punktnet Ad-Free
29th January 2019, 01:22 PM |#11  
OP Member
Flag delhi
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanapak1

Is there any method to testing or any confirmation that it really working except lte+ on status bar?

Yes, you can check whether CA is working or not.

1. Open Phone Dialer and dial "*#*#4636#*#*" to enter in Testing menu.
2. Tap on Phone Information and check "LTE physical channel configuration".

If CA is working, It will show you two connections Primary and Secondary along with their bandwidth, otherwise nothing.
You can look at the screenshots attached below for difference with or without CA.
I have configured intra-band CA over band 40 on Jio4G.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	1410
Size:	138.3 KB
ID:	4695943   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	1460
Size:	188.9 KB
ID:	4695944   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.png
Views:	1466
Size:	140.4 KB
ID:	4695945   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.png
Views:	1424
Size:	192.1 KB
ID:	4695946  
The Following User Says Thank You to anshsharma240 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift anshsharma240 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes