FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[ROOT][Surnia]Moto E 2015 root all the things!

813 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,936
 
By cybojenix, Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer / XDA Portal Team on 5th March 2015, 05:02 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
disclaimer:
Code:
I take no responsibility for any devices that may be bricked,
or any bad things that will happen to you.
flash/boot twrp from here
either flash SuperSU by chainfire, or reboot system and accept installing supersu via TWRP.

we've experienced a bug on the first boot after flashing supersu, where there is no boot animation. instead the warning sign will stay up saying "you're unlocked".
Do not worry. It will still load, and supersu will prompt you to finish installing SU. do so, and everything will be back to normal.

A known issue happens, where root breaks the camera.
If this happens to you, then change SeLinux to permissive. I may look in to fixing it properly at a later point.

thank you to @fix-this for testing

previous post:

Please note this is a development thread. If something is said that is NOT constructive, I will have it deleted.

OK so this thread doesn't tell you how to root your device... yet.
in the process of rooting my device, I have essentially soft bricked it until I can get hold of either a boot/recovery image, or I find out the kernel base, ramdisk offset and tags offset.
long story short, I shouldn't have been messing about with the system while I was tired, so I forgot about dm-verity, and now it won't boot since the boot image contains a dm-verity key. hurrah for perma root prevention systems finally working.. sort of..

Motorola has implemented a nifty method in to their bootloaders. It essentially allows you to dump a partition. This is when I stumbled on yet another security measure. to allow you to do anything with the bootloader, you must flick a switch in the android dev settings to give full access... oh wait, I can't load the system I don't know if this switch is done by writing a value to memory, or is passed on with the reboot reason. I don't know Java that well, and I sure as hell don't know smali.

So far I have attempted:
  • Dump a modified system image (Failed because dm-verity).
  • Pull the boot image (Failed because SELinux)
  • Dump the boot image via moto fastboot (failed because either outdated mfastboot, or security from [read above])
  • Boot directly in to DLOAD mode. (Failed. seems with the msm8916, they've changed the method of accessing it, and having dload mode is now optional [which they disabled.. probably..]. I'm not going to risk wiping the bootloader to see if DLOAD mode will load as a fail safe).

so how can you help?

method failed. trying something else..
I need someone who doesn't mind unlocking their bootloader (or already has done), and doesn't need their hand holding. (request for hand holding isn't development, it will be deleted).
  1. unlock bootloader.
  2. get mfastboot
  3. go to settings, dev settings, and allow oem unlock
  4. boot to fastboot/bootloader
  5. run this command
    Code:
    mfastboot oem partition dump recovery
  6. If this fails, then try this (with this fastboot) (Thank you @m1cha for this version of fastboot, sources here)
    Code:
    fastboot_dump dump recovery.img oem partition moto-dump recovery
  7. send the results back to me

Hopefully, this will all go well. If not, I'll spend a few hours figuring out the values they've used for the kernel base and offsets.


If anyone else has any ideas (even if it's to get a temp root), then feel free to share them


Big thankyou to @PotatoJ who has donated a very generous $20
Attached Files
File Type: zip patch14.zip - [Click for QR Code] (904.6 KB, 11762 views)
The Following 26 Users Say Thank You to cybojenix For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cybojenix Ad-Free
 
 
5th March 2015, 06:30 PM |#2  
Lucas Eugene's Avatar
Senior Member
★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Thanks Meter: 1,672
 
More
And it finally begins
The Following User Says Thank You to Lucas Eugene For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Lucas Eugene Ad-Free
5th March 2015, 06:34 PM |#3  
SurferNerd6987's Avatar
Member
Flag Nashville, TN
Thanks Meter: 30
 
Donate to Me
More
Gave em both the commands, nothing. Both are restricted. Ugh...

C:\windows\system32>fastboot dump recovery.img oem partition moto-dump recovery
...
(bootloader) Command Restricted
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.002s
5th March 2015, 06:37 PM |#4  
cybojenix's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer / XDA Portal Team
Thanks Meter: 1,936
 
Donate to Me
More
more updates. just been told that those commands are for internal use only.

had an idea though.. will get back to you
5th March 2015, 06:42 PM |#5  
SurferNerd6987's Avatar
Member
Flag Nashville, TN
Thanks Meter: 30
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybojenix

more updates. just been told that those commands are for internal use only.

had an idea though.. will get back to you

Whatever you need, let me know. I've got the phone waiting for commands.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to SurferNerd6987 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift SurferNerd6987 Ad-Free
8th March 2015, 02:17 PM |#6  
fix-this!'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag midwest
Thanks Meter: 714
 
More
if im correct i think the system images are now available. ill help with what i can to obtain root. id hope rooting this wont be too hard considering we can unlock the bootloader via moto.

i also messaged jcase to see if he might be able to help us.
8th March 2015, 08:08 PM |#7  
cybojenix's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer / XDA Portal Team
Thanks Meter: 1,936
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fix-this!

if im correct i think the system images are now available. ill help with what i can to obtain root. id hope rooting this wont be too hard considering we can unlock the bootloader via moto.

i also messaged jcase to see if he might be able to help us.

No need for jcase now. the boot image is out. I can patch it, and talk with chainfire about how to best handle dm-verity
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cybojenix For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cybojenix Ad-Free
8th March 2015, 08:25 PM |#8  
fix-this!'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag midwest
Thanks Meter: 714
 
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybojenix

No need for jcase now. the boot image is out. I can patch it, and talk with chainfire about how to best handle dm-verity

Yeah jcase responded and said since we can unlock the bootloader all we needed was a custom recovery to flash superuser. Was just trying to help.
The Following User Says Thank You to fix-this! For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift fix-this! Ad-Free
8th March 2015, 08:43 PM |#9  
cybojenix's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer / XDA Portal Team
Thanks Meter: 1,936
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fix-this!

Yeah jcase responded and said since we can unlock the bootloader all we needed was a custom recovery to flash superuser. Was just trying to help.

it's kind of a pain to make a custom recovery without having a recovery/boot image
The Following User Says Thank You to cybojenix For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cybojenix Ad-Free
8th March 2015, 09:54 PM |#10  
903tex's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tyler, Texas
Thanks Meter: 346
 
More
Do you plan on making the recovery work with the boost mobile Variant
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 903tex For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift 903tex Ad-Free
8th March 2015, 10:46 PM |#11  
cybojenix's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer / XDA Portal Team
Thanks Meter: 1,936
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 903tex

Do you plan on making the recovery work with the boost mobile Variant

no. I don't have the device.

btw, got twrp on it, however the return of the "No touch till screen goes off" bug is back.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes