FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[GUIDE] Fix GPS in custom ROMs

59 posts
Thanks Meter: 54
 
By blu2lz, Member on 18th October 2014, 11:51 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Scenario

See the bold text under "Guide". This scenario isn't valid anymore, it should now work for all GPS problems in custom ROMs without data loss.

You get your new phone and don't use the stock ROM, at least not GPS. Instead, you directly install a custom ROM. At least ROMs based or somehow depending on CM11 won't give you a GPS fix then. This is easily fixed by flashing stock again, getting a GPS fix and flash the custom ROM again. If you restore a backup you will still get no fix. You need to clean flash a custom ROM. My problem was that I already set up everything and didn't want to start from scratch. For everyone in the same situation, I share the things I've done to make it work again.


Disclaimer

I'm not responsible for data loss or anything you're doing wrong with your phone because of this guide.

Guide

@==vj== wrote that it is enough to just flash the NON-HLOS.bin, which makes sense, so you could try that first. Be sure to take the NON-HLOS.bin from a suitable image (GSM/CDMA) and check md5sum! If it works don't forget to thank ==vj==!

You can of course still follow the guide, it just takes more time though.

  1. Boot to recovery, make a nandroid backup
  2. (optional) Backup /sdcard, it will be deleted when you restore stock ROM!
  3. Pull the nandroid backup, remember, /sdcard will be wiped!
  4. Boot to fastboot (pressing Vol- while turning on the phone or type "adb reboot-bootloader"), restore stock ROM following this guide
  5. Install a GPS test tool like GPS Status & Toolbox, wait for GPS fix
  6. Reboot to fastboot again, flash a recovery, for example PhilZ recovery, by typing "fastboot flash recovery path_to_recovery.img"
  7. Boot to recovery and wipe data
  8. Install your custom ROM/GApps
  9. Boot into custom ROM and test GPS again, wait for the GPS fix
  10. Push backup back to phone
  11. Reboot to recovery, select custom restore and choose only data
  12. Wipe cache/dalvik
  13. Reboot
  14. Test GPS again, you should now get a fix


Hope this helps, ask me if you have questions.
The Following 19 Users Say Thank You to blu2lz For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift blu2lz Ad-Free
 
 
19th October 2014, 02:21 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Thumbs up
Had CM11 nightlies installed, tried unofficial snapshots and build with Aerokernel and GPS didn't work. Wifi with DHCP didn't work either.

Ran your instructions more or less (didn't pull backups, just flashed clean stock and clean custom) and they both now work, at least with Aerokernel CM11.

Also, note that I used [ROM][FLASHABLE ZIP] Stock Motorola ROM Collection (Untouched + Optimized Versions) and flashed an optimized version without having to full wipe the /sdcard. Wiped /data, /system, /cache and dalvik and it still worked.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RiCON For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift RiCON Ad-Free
20th October 2014, 07:33 AM |#3  
==vj=='s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Goa
Thanks Meter: 1,050
 
More
A much easier way now.

Just flash NON-HLOS.bin file of Stock ROM and GPS will be active on any Custom AOSP ROMs.

Code:
mfastboot.exe flash modem NON-HLOS.bin
mfastboot.exe erase modemst1 
mfastboot.exe erase modemst2 
pause
mfastboot.exe reboot
The Following 27 Users Say Thank You to ==vj== For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ==vj== Ad-Free
20th October 2014, 01:23 PM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ==vj==

A much easier way now.

Just flash NON-HLOS.bin file of Stock ROM and GPS will be active on any Custom AOSP ROMs.

Code:
mfastboot.exe flash modem NON-HLOS.bin
mfastboot.exe erase modemst1 
mfastboot.exe erase modemst2 
pause
mfastboot.exe reboot

That makes sense, thanks for the input. Can't test though because now everything works. Would save a lot of hassle indeed.
@everyone who try this:
Be sure to take the NON-HLOS.bin from a suitable image (GSM/CDMA) and check md5sum!
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to blu2lz For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift blu2lz Ad-Free
20th October 2014, 08:39 PM |#5  
lyall29's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Arkadelphia, AR
Thanks Meter: 337
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ==vj==

A much easier way now.



Just flash NON-HLOS.bin file of Stock ROM and GPS will be active on any Custom AOSP ROMs.



Code:
mfastboot.exe flash modem NON-HLOS.bin

mfastboot.exe erase modemst1 

mfastboot.exe erase modemst2 

pause

mfastboot.exe reboot


Why type mfastboot.exe instead of just mfastboot?
The Following User Says Thank You to lyall29 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift lyall29 Ad-Free
20th October 2014, 10:57 PM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyall29

Why type mfastboot.exe instead of just mfastboot?

It's the same, you can use both.

BTW, there are tools for linux and mac, too. You'll find linux-fastboot and osx-fastboot in the archives. Just be sure to "chmod u+x linux-fastboot", then you can use it with "./linux-fastboot" instead of "mfastboot". I'd recommend using sudo, on most distributions it won't work as user.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to blu2lz For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift blu2lz Ad-Free
28th October 2014, 08:13 PM |#7  
Member
Flag Buenos Aires
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hi there, where I can find NON-HLOS.bin for Claro AR 4.4.4?

I try to flash it but it says reported max download sife of xxxx bytes. Cannot load "NOH-HLOSbin"
29th October 2014, 12:18 AM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jochy2525

Hi there, where I can find NON-HLOS.bin for Claro AR 4.4.4?

I try to flash it but it says reported max download sife of xxxx bytes. Cannot load "NOH-HLOSbin"

Try it with mfastboot. It won't complain about max download size.

Ábel
27th November 2014, 09:03 PM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
I'm using xperience 9.0.0 Lollipop ROM. Flashing NON-HLOS.bin didn't enable GPS. Is it supposed to work on Lollipop ROMs? I will try fixing it the other way tomorrow.

Update: It works now.
28th November 2014, 06:05 AM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiCON

Had CM11 nightlies installed, tried unofficial snapshots and build with Aerokernel and GPS didn't work. Wifi with DHCP didn't work either.

Ran your instructions more or less (didn't pull backups, just flashed clean stock and clean custom) and they both now work, at least with Aerokernel CM11.

Also, note that I used [ROM][FLASHABLE ZIP] Stock Motorola ROM Collection (Untouched + Optimized Versions) and flashed an optimized version without having to full wipe the /sdcard. Wiped /data, /system, /cache and dalvik and it still worked.

Big thanks to both the OP and RiCON's post for this! For any other XT1031 (Boost) users flashed to PagePlus, this method by the OP does indeed work perfectly with the optimized XT1028 rom.
29th November 2014, 12:19 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Checotah, OK
Thanks Meter: 187
 
More
Here is the NON-HLOS.bin for the Boost Mobile Moto G
I wish someone posted this file for me before i had to go looking for it. Would have sped up the process for me but the above steps with flashing the modem only worked great!

Boost Mobile Moto G 4.4 Modem
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to deskjet390 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift deskjet390 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes