FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Moto G6, 32-bit OS?

233 posts
Thanks Meter: 30
 
By renatofontes, Senior Member on 6th May 2018, 10:31 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Can anyone confirm? It seems that the standard G6 will come with a 32-bit version of android, which could **** up compatibility with treble roms.

Edit: went through a lot of youtube videos until I found one of antutu stating that it is the version compiled for ARMv7. So yes, it has a 32-bit OS.

6th May 2018, 11:46 AM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Processor is 64 bits so strange that the os could be 32 bits
6th May 2018, 11:11 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Guadalajara
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicnic94

Processor is 64 bits so strange that the os could be 32 bits

Well, they did the same with the G5 Plus
7th May 2018, 08:23 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 299
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by renatofontes

Well, they did the same with the G5 Plus

Yes!

And before having one unit for testing, two comments:

1) In the ARM platform, the difference between 32bit and 64bit ABIs is marginal. So no big speed improvements when using the 64bit ABI. However, the RAM used is increased when using the 64bit addressing.

2) As one model of Moto G6+ is announced to have 6GB of RAM, this implies a 64bit kernel. Then, you can derivate that Motorola-Lenovo will not create two ROMs for the same device, and a 64bit only version will be available.

Regards.
The Following User Says Thank You to manos78 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift manos78 Ad-Free
8th May 2018, 07:49 AM |#5  
smitharro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Blokker
Thanks Meter: 1,744
 
More
Hereby a screenshot of my Moto G6 Plus. Under 'besturingssysteem' (Dutch for 'operating system') it clearly sais under 'architecture' 64 bit. Don't know about the non plus version. By the way. My phone has 4gb of ram.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20180508-084432.png
Views:	838
Size:	179.2 KB
ID:	4495718  
The Following User Says Thank You to smitharro For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift smitharro Ad-Free
GuestD0601
8th May 2018, 09:04 AM |#6  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Well, Geekbench Browser tells me that G6 Plus is 64-bit while normal G6 is 32-bit
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	motog6plus.PNG
Views:	378
Size:	9.2 KB
ID:	4495752   Click image for larger version

Name:	motog6.PNG
Views:	402
Size:	8.7 KB
ID:	4495753  
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Ad-Free
8th May 2018, 10:21 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 299
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by damianiqe

Well, Geekbench Browser tells me that G6 Plus is 64-bit while normal G6 is 32-bit

Probably,

The Moto G6 and the Moto G6+ are different smartphones. The "regular" version (G6) uses the Snapdragon 450, and the "plus" version (G6+) uses the Snapdragon 630. Perhaps motorola implements the 64bit ABI in the G6+ because a 6GB RAM version will be available. And as the G6 will only be up to 4GB RAM, then it will "optimized" to use the 32bit ABI.

Remember: 64bit ABI in ARM is not a performance increase!
8th May 2018, 01:14 PM |#8  
PeterImmel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 319
 
More
Here my Moto G6 - 3/32GB
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20180508-141012.png
Views:	722
Size:	56.6 KB
ID:	4495901  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to PeterImmel For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift PeterImmel Ad-Free
8th May 2018, 02:57 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 299
 
More
So, confirmed: Moto G6 uses 32bit ABI, and Moto G6+ uses 64bit ABI.
The Following User Says Thank You to manos78 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift manos78 Ad-Free
8th May 2018, 09:24 PM |#10  
smitharro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Blokker
Thanks Meter: 1,744
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by manos78

So, confirmed: Moto G6 uses 32bit ABI, and Moto G6+ uses 64bit ABI.

Yes, an essential difference! Glad to have the Moto G6+...
The Following User Says Thank You to smitharro For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift smitharro Ad-Free
10th May 2018, 03:41 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 327
 
More
And an another important point is that just the G6+ (snapdragon 630) is whitelisted by netflix for playing movies in high definition. That's right, or? So, G6+ is not a bad deal. Treble support is there on 32-bit and 64-bit OS version?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes