Get the OnePlus 6 early at a pop-up event in your city →
FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

USB Issues with Oreo 8.1

259 posts
Thanks Meter: 92

By dburckh, Senior Member on 1st May 2018, 10:49 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Just got the Oreo 8.1 update on my Project Fi Moto X4 (Motorola Version: OPW28.46-13). The phone does not show up in Windows anymore. No MTP, no ADB. It does charge. I've tried it on two different PCs. It was working seconds before applying the update. The cable does work properly with an S8.

Anybody else seeing this?

I'm a professional Android developer and I was using the phone for development before the update. The other issue is that Developer Mode was disabled after update. I re-enabled it after 8.1 and it didn't work. I've disabled/enabled USB Debugging and developer options several times.

Update:
Tried on OS X now too, same issue. OTG does work.

Work-Around:
https://forum.xda-developers.com/sho...5&postcount=32
The Following User Says Thank You to dburckh For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dburckh Ad-Free

2nd May 2018, 12:55 AM |#2  
Thanks Meter: 141

More
No mention in the release notes: https://mobilesupport.lenovo.com/us/...ution/MS127386

Can you help us out with getting the OTA via https://forum.xda-developers.com/mot...l-ota-t3784442?
2nd May 2018, 02:13 AM |#3  
Thanks Meter: 36

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neffy27

No mention in the release notes: https://mobilesupport.lenovo.com/us/...ution/MS127386

Can you help us out with getting the OTA via https://forum.xda-developers.com/mot...-ota-t3784442?

It takes some days for the update to show on motoota.
2nd May 2018, 02:44 AM |#4  

More
The previous two months became available on there as my phone got the OTA notification. I have yet to see someone who has receive the April, verify they attempted Motoota here on XDA or Reddit.
2nd May 2018, 08:51 AM |#5  
Thanks Meter: 0

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dburckh