FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

TurboPower 30 NOT charging faster than Turbopower 15. What's going on?

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 0

By l3rewski, Junior Member on 13th December 2016, 12:09 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello all,

The recent discussions on xda and r/rMoto_Z about battery chargers and questions concerning whether or not a TurboPower 30 charger is it worth it to us Z Play users prompted me to do a quick test comparing the chargers.

What I found is my TurboPower 30 is not charging any faster than the TurboPower 15 that came with the phone. I am using tasker (I'm a tasker noob BTW) to log the time and battery level to a Google Sheet upon a change in battery level. I discharged the phone to 14% both times, shut it down, let it cool, turned it on, then plugged in without touching it during the charging process.

Overall, both chargers behave the same. Both charge at a rate around 1.1% to 1.15% charge per minute until the 90-92% mark, where they slow down drastically.

The TP15 took 90 minutes to charge, while the TP30 took 95 minutes to charge.

So what's going on here?
  • Is my phone malfunctioning?
  • Is my charger(s) malfunctioning?
  • Am I stupid and/or missing something?
  • Can the Z Play even make use of the extra amperage from the TP30?

I'm at a loss here. I could have sworn the TP30 seemed faster, but maybe not.

Can anybody else confirm the same behavior from their chargers?

I can provide a link to a graph and the google sheet itself once I get past the 10 posts required before posting outside links.

13th December 2016, 04:40 AM |#2  
Thanks Meter: 36

More
I have the Z Play and the Z Force. Using the 30 watt charger on the Play still only charges it at about the same rate as the 15 watt charger. Not sure of the reasons just saying the results I have gotten.
The Following User Says Thank You to mobrules777 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mobrules777 Ad-Free
13th December 2016, 05:09 AM |#3  
Thanks Meter: 25

More