FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] How to push file using TWRP adb sideload and Nexus 4 Toolkits

204 posts
Thanks Meter: 7
 
By jilee, Senior Member on 20th July 2013, 06:42 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi everybody

Today I've just messed up my phone by deleting all TWRP backups as well as ROM zip files on my N4 (haven't found out why i did it, hell!)

Now after wipe my current rom, I've totally in the middle of "NoRom"

I have TWRP, and Nexus 4 Toolkits installed on my PC. I think all drivers are installed correctly as well, since I used them to unlock bootloader and root my N4 before.

But i just cannot figure out how to "ADB sideload" zip file to my device in order to flash a new rom.

So please guild me to do this. Many thanks

Note: I read on TWRP page and they say that I have to enable adb sideload in TWRP on my N4 (of which i've done), then "From the command line, type adb sideload /path/to/rom.zip". From that point I cannot understand. How and where could I open the command line?

(sounds noobie but since downloading that Toolkits, I've got rid of pure ADB things, so now I don't have the sdk)

Thank you.
The Following User Says Thank You to jilee For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jilee Ad-Free
 
 
21st July 2013, 03:35 AM |#2  
Spiralzz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 340
 
More
Lol, getting rid of ADB especially when you have a nexus was a bad idea. You need ADB, so you also need the SDK (although you *might* find only adb.exe and associated files here on XDA, which should be sufficient for this particular process, but I still recommend the SDK as it is quite handy).

Once you set up the SDK on your pc, go to the folder which has adb.exe, and open a command prompt there. That's the command line you need to use for adb sideload. From there, you can simply type adb sideload file_name.zip, which will place the file_name.zip on your sdcard.

Edit: Forgot to mention this. I never used toolkits and advise using the manual method which will teach you a lot and is more comfortable to use once you get the hang of it, believe me.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
The Following User Says Thank You to Spiralzz For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Spiralzz Ad-Free
21st July 2013, 06:52 AM |#3  
jilee's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Hanoi
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiralzz

Lol, getting rid of ADB especially when you have a nexus was a bad idea. You need ADB, so you also need the SDK (although you *might* find only adb.exe and associated files here on XDA, which should be sufficient for this particular process, but I still recommend the SDK as it is quite handy).

Once you set up the SDK on your pc, go to the folder which has adb.exe, and open a command prompt there. That's the command line you need to use for adb sideload. From there, you can simply type adb sideload file_name.zip, which will place the file_name.zip on your sdcard.

Edit: Forgot to mention this. I never used toolkits and advise using the manual method which will teach you a lot and is more comfortable to use once you get the hang of it, believe me.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

OK thank you, i'll try it

Back to the past when i got G1, i was familiar with sdk and adb thing. But as time passing by, i'm getting lazier and lazier lol, so i've almost forgotten those useful stuffs, just use some 1-click tools like the toolkits.
24th August 2013, 04:37 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Flag Kathmandu
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Help
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiralzz

Lol, getting rid of ADB especially when you have a nexus was a bad idea. You need ADB, so you also need the SDK (although you *might* find only adb.exe and associated files here on XDA, which should be sufficient for this particular process, but I still recommend the SDK as it is quite handy).

Once you set up the SDK on your pc, go to the folder which has adb.exe, and open a command prompt there. That's the command line you need to use for adb sideload. From there, you can simply type adb sideload file_name.zip, which will place the file_name.zip on your sdcard.

Edit: Forgot to mention this. I never used toolkits and advise using the manual method which will teach you a lot and is more comfortable to use once you get the hang of it, believe me.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

I tried sideload on my nexus 4 but it gives me this error...
"failed to write data 'protocol fault (no status)"
I have been trying to sideload cm 10.2 since my phone is stuck on the google boot logo...any ideas as to how to solve this problem?
Cheers beforehand!
25th August 2013, 08:06 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
close "adb.exe" in task manager
The Following User Says Thank You to tylarrose For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tylarrose Ad-Free
8th September 2013, 06:51 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Help please. I've done the same thing as the OP. I do not know what to do next.

I am unable to mount the phone. I click on "Mount" from TWRP's main screen and nothing registers on my computer.
Under Advanced I am able to click on ADB Sideload but then the adb commands do not work to sideload a rom. I am able to use the command adb devices and that returns a response. I have also tried the adb push command to move the rom onto the phone with no response.

What should I do next?
8th September 2013, 09:51 AM |#7  
Alex240188's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hull
Thanks Meter: 745
 
More
Standard adb functions work on the main menu of twrp
Here is the easiest method.

On your pc go to your toolkit directory
Find the folder that has adb.exe in it
Copy your new Rom to this directory and rename it rom.zip (for simplicity)
Hold shift and right click on a blank bit of the folder
In the pop-up menu there should now be an option saying "open command prompt here" or something similar.
Boot your phone into twrp and plug it into your pc
On your pc's new command prompt screen type
adb push rom.zip /sdcard
Once it has completed you can install the rom as normal on your phone

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Alex240188 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Alex240188 Ad-Free
8th September 2013, 05:33 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex240188

Standard adb functions work on the main menu of twrp
Here is the easiest method.

On your pc go to your toolkit directory
Find the folder that has adb.exe in it
Copy your new Rom to this directory and rename it rom.zip (for simplicity)
Hold shift and right click on a blank bit of the folder
In the pop-up menu there should now be an option saying "open command prompt here" or something similar.
Boot your phone into twrp and plug it into your pc
On your pc's new command prompt screen type
adb push rom.zip /sdcard
Once it has completed you can install the rom as normal on your phone

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

Thanks that worked.
8th September 2013, 06:37 PM |#9  
Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex240188

Standard adb functions work on the main menu of twrp
Here is the easiest method.

On your pc go to your toolkit directory
Find the folder that has adb.exe in it
Copy your new Rom to this directory and rename it rom.zip (for simplicity)
Hold shift and right click on a blank bit of the folder
In the pop-up menu there should now be an option saying "open command prompt here" or something similar.
Boot your phone into twrp and plug it into your pc
On your pc's new command prompt screen type
adb push rom.zip /sdcard
Once it has completed you can install the rom as normal on your phone

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

Hey bro it says device not found. what do i do?

---------- Post added at 09:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:43 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex240188

Standard adb functions work on the main menu of twrp
Here is the easiest method.

On your pc go to your toolkit directory
Find the folder that has adb.exe in it
Copy your new Rom to this directory and rename it rom.zip (for simplicity)
Hold shift and right click on a blank bit of the folder
In the pop-up menu there should now be an option saying "open command prompt here" or something similar.
Boot your phone into twrp and plug it into your pc
On your pc's new command prompt screen type
adb push rom.zip /sdcard
Once it has completed you can install the rom as normal on your phone

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

I have clockworkmod recovery v6.0.1.9 it didnt work for me it said device not found

---------- Post added at 10:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:46 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex240188

Standard adb functions work on the main menu of twrp
Here is the easiest method.

On your pc go to your toolkit directory
Find the folder that has adb.exe in it
Copy your new Rom to this directory and rename it rom.zip (for simplicity)
Hold shift and right click on a blank bit of the folder
In the pop-up menu there should now be an option saying "open command prompt here" or something similar.
Boot your phone into twrp and plug it into your pc
On your pc's new command prompt screen type
adb push rom.zip /sdcard
Once it has completed you can install the rom as normal on your phone

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

Hey Thank i got it working, but one thing i cant understand is i got in a boot loop cause install cm10.1.3 RC2 coming from cm 10.2 nightly version, i also flased gapp 4.2.2 assuming the rom was 4.2.2 that why. is this correct? i wanna go to cm10.1.3 RC2 current on 10.2 nightly how can i do this? which gapps should i install?
8th September 2013, 06:40 PM |#10  
Alex240188's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hull
Thanks Meter: 745
 
More
Do you have adb drivers installed?
What happens when you type
adb devices
In the command prompt

You should get the serial number of your phone, then next to it it should say recovery

If you have nothing listed then you have an issue with the drivers on your computer

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
28th September 2013, 08:44 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Hi,
I moved from slimbean build 8 (4.2.2) to Slimbean 5 (4.3)
After a couple of reboot the phone stucks an google screen, I tried to reflash the rom from twpr but nothing chaged.
If I try to sideload small files (like supersu) it works, with rom.zip files not..
I have "* failed to write data 'protocol fault (no status)' *" after some seconds.
If I try to use sideload from twpr home (2.6.0.0) adb doesn't work,
adb devices
List of devices attached
0076a0288a8c04be recovery
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes