FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[HOW TO] Unlock tethering on Marshmallow 6.0

118 posts
Thanks Meter: 88
 
By Crios, Senior Member on 17th October 2015, 09:58 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Google made a change from Android 4.1.2 which allows operators to know when users are using tethering and conveniently block tethered devices from accessing internet.

This can be fixed permanently using the following procedure and no root required on all rom types (stock, mod):

1) Enable developer mode (Go to Settings -> About phone, and click on the build number until the developer mode is enabled).
2) Enable USB debugging under Settings -> Developer options
3) Connect the device with a USB cable to a computer with the Android SDK platform tools installed
4) Start an adb shell: adb shell
5) In the adb shell, run this command:
Code:
settings put global tether_dun_required 0
Tested on Nexus 5 & 6 with Marshmallow STOCK ROM
The Following 22 Users Say Thank You to Crios For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Crios Ad-Free
 
 
17th October 2015, 05:33 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Just tried this on a freshly imaged Verizon Nexus 6 with Marshmallow, and I'm still getting the prompt for subscribing to tethering.
17th October 2015, 05:47 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Can you do this with sqlite editor? If so, how?
18th October 2015, 12:33 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
net.tethering.noprovisioning=true

Pasted at end of build prop. Save. Reboot. Done.
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to Ocelot13 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Ocelot13 Ad-Free
18th October 2015, 02:51 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 168
 
More
Can this be tried even if the Nexus6 boot loader is locked, without unlocking it ?

Sent from my VS985 4G using Tapatalk
18th October 2015, 03:22 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by trent999

Can this be tried even if the Nexus6 boot loader is locked, without unlocking it ?

Sent from my VS985 4G using Tapatalk

You need root to edit the build prop like this but you can also edit the build prop thru adb commands

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
18th October 2015, 07:03 AM |#7  
DebianDog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 191
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocelot13

net.tethering.noprovisioning=true

Pasted at end of build prop. Save. Reboot. Done.

I'm on Verizon and that's what I did also.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
18th October 2015, 02:33 PM |#8  
imnuts's Avatar
Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag West Chester
Thanks Meter: 3,188
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexus6r3plicant01

You need root to edit the build prop like this but you can also edit the build prop thru adb commands

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

You don't need root to do it, you can make the change via recovery and adb shell commands.
18th October 2015, 03:11 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 170
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wishkah

Can you do this with sqlite editor? If so, how?

I'm not sure this can be done with sqlite editor anymore because when I go to the file path data>data>com.android.providers.settings>databases there is no longer a settings.db in that location to edit.

Maybe I'm missing something.... IDK???
The Following User Says Thank You to giant22000 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift giant22000 Ad-Free
18th October 2015, 03:41 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
Donate to Me
More
didn't work on my stock Nexus 6 - still says to contact ATT.

---------- Post added at 10:41 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:32 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durthquake

didn't work on my stock Nexus 6 - still says to contact ATT.

editing the build.prop worked for me! thanks guys/gals
The Following User Says Thank You to Durthquake For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Durthquake Ad-Free
18th October 2015, 04:18 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexus6r3plicant01

You need root to edit the build prop like this but you can also edit the build prop thru adb commands

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Is Rooot needed to do this through adb?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes