FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Nexus 9 on Verizon

741 posts
Thanks Meter: 149
 
By ss12108, Senior Member on 23rd December 2014, 07:16 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I know it has the radios, but has anyone been able to activate it on Verizon? They couldn't do it for me directly, so we tried activating a different tablet, cutting down the SIM, and sticking it into the 9. No dice...the cut SIM works fine in my Droid Maxx so I know it's not the the cut SIM, and the number shows up in my "about tablet" so the sim is being recognized, but there's no service.

Anyone have any luck yet and/or suggestions?
 
 
23rd December 2014, 09:02 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss12108

I know it has the radios, but has anyone been able to activate it on Verizon? They couldn't do it for me directly, so we tried activating a different tablet, cutting down the SIM, and sticking it into the 9. No dice...the cut SIM works fine in my Droid Maxx so I know it's not the the cut SIM, and the number shows up in my "about tablet" so the sim is being recognized, but there's no service.

Anyone have any luck yet and/or suggestions?

I sell Verizon, had my first customers come in with these tablets and tried the same thing (activated the SIM in an iPad). SIM in the Nexus will read the IMEI, but it shows NO network signal. On the phone with tier two tech support right now. Will report back when I have an answer!
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to millkim For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift millkim Ad-Free
23rd December 2014, 09:04 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 149
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by millkim

I sell Verizon, had my first customers come in with these tablets and tried the same thing (activated the SIM in an iPad). SIM in the Nexus will read the IMEI, but it shows NO network signal. On the phone with tier two tech support right now. Will report back when I have an answer!

Great! Thanks!

I have the same exact issue...device sees the sim but it just seems like the radio won't even turn on. Started to get afraid that mine might be defective but I'm excited to see if you come up with anything!
23rd December 2014, 09:31 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss12108

Great! Thanks!

I have the same exact issue...device sees the sim but it just seems like the radio won't even turn on. Started to get afraid that mine might be defective but I'm excited to see if you come up with anything!

My customer couldn't stick around long enough today for me to continue to trouble shoot. I'm going to continue on Monday when they get back from their Christmas travels! I'll for sure let you know whatever I'm able to solve as soon as I'm able to solve it! For sure not just you... I was worried for them as well, but didn't figure that the odds of TWO brand new tablets having the exact same issue, especially not when you say the same thing!

On a side note, I cannot WAIT to get my own one of these bad boys!
23rd December 2014, 09:58 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 149
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by millkim

My customer couldn't stick around long enough today for me to continue to trouble shoot. I'm going to continue on Monday when they get back from their Christmas travels! I'll for sure let you know whatever I'm able to solve as soon as I'm able to solve it! For sure not just you... I was worried for them as well, but didn't figure that the odds of TWO brand new tablets having the exact same issue, especially not when you say the same thing!

On a side note, I cannot WAIT to get my own one of these bad boys!

Yes I love it so far, and the keyboard folio is great, especially since I grabbed it half off from HTC last week haha.
24th December 2014, 01:56 AM |#6  
Smokuevo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Schaumburg
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
tried at verizon store .. he tried adding imei didnt work just gave me a sim card.

came home tried adding it on the website no dice..

switched the sim card from nexus 6 into nexus 9 no dice either.

if this all might not work i might just go and switch to tmobile ... have no service half the time but at least the stuff i want to use will work with no issue!!!!!! sick of VZW crap.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Smokuevo For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Smokuevo Ad-Free
24th December 2014, 04:29 AM |#7  
Smokuevo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Schaumburg
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smokuevo

tried at verizon store .. he tried adding imei didnt work just gave me a sim card.

came home tried adding it on the website no dice..

switched the sim card from nexus 6 into nexus 9 no dice either.

if this all might not work i might just go and switch to tmobile ... have no service half the time but at least the stuff i want to use will work with no issue!!!!!! sick of VZW crap.

also my radio state is off and cant seem to be able to turn it on. did htc/google fuk something up?@?!?!?!


also any reason why factory image is missing modem from all of the files??!??
The Following User Says Thank You to Smokuevo For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Smokuevo Ad-Free
24th December 2014, 05:21 AM |#8  
Hitman3984's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag North Providence, RI
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
this thread is of great interest to me. Since this will really determine if I get a N9 LTE.
Also find the troubles interesting since a simple sim card swap worked with the N7 and is currently working with the N6.

I know Verizon won't do anything officially but doesn't stop us from getting our 6's running.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hitman3984 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Hitman3984 Ad-Free
24th December 2014, 05:55 AM |#9  
Smokuevo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Schaumburg
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitman3984

this thread is of great interest to me. Since this will really determine if I get a N9 LTE.
Also find the troubles interesting since a simple sim card swap worked with the N7 and is currently working with the N6.

I know Verizon won't do anything officially but doesn't stop us from getting our 6's running.


tomorrow going and getting a nano prepaid sim from walmart i hope to see if it activates on tmobile with no problem. then ill continue to wait.
The Following User Says Thank You to Smokuevo For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Smokuevo Ad-Free
24th December 2014, 06:05 AM |#10  
Hitman3984's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag North Providence, RI
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smokuevo

tomorrow going and getting a nano prepaid sim from walmart i hope to see if it activates on tmobile with no problem. then ill continue to wait.

You're a BRAVER soul then I going shopping at walmart on christmas eve.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Hitman3984 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Hitman3984 Ad-Free
24th December 2014, 06:09 AM |#11  
Smokuevo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Schaumburg
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitman3984

You're a BRAVER soul then I going shopping at walmart on christmas eve.


btw opened a case with google see if they know anything with verizon.

Looking into your account, I saw that you had contact support previously today (Case: 9-41030000*****) in regards to being unable to activate your Nexus 9 LTE tablet with Verizon. I wanted to let you know that your case has been escalated to the next tier of support and is currently being reviewed. You can expect a reply by email from either the previous agent or the Specialist who has reviewed your case, within the next 1 - 2 business days.

Thanks,

Heather
The Google Support Team
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Smokuevo For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Smokuevo Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes