[HOWTO] get root back after ota update!

Search This thread

radinjxu

Oct 8, 2009
Is it necessary to go back to stock to get the OTA? Won't it just be incorporated into future custom ROM's. Sorry, I'm somewhat new to the whole rooting community and am unsure of whether or not I need to flash back to stock, unrooted to get the update, or if I can just stick where I am and get it in an update to a custom ROM.

jroid

Jan 8, 2009
I just pushed everything and executed permissions manually. Got 2.3.1 by restoring /system and /cache while keeping my boot.img and it booted perfectly fine :)

jimmypopulous

Oct 11, 2010
I've got root back, but not by that method. I think it might be a mistake to flash that boot.img, as the 2.3.1 update patched boot.img... so replacing it with one from 2.3 might not be the best idea. But I guess no one really know what the changes might be.

I guess time will tell :p

The method I used was:

[snip]

These steps worked for me. Thanks!

jblade1000

Jul 19, 2009
No, it's a safety mechanism so you can't lose recovery... It has nothing to do with clockworkmod. Someone can make a root script or app that disables it easily. Or people can just do it themselves manually.

edit: actually, all that needs to be done is add some code to the update script inside su-2.3.6.1-ef-signed.zip so when it installs the update, it renames install-recovery.sh

so if all the future ota updates require stock recovery, we can just un-do the rename of that file and reboot to get stock recovery, then update, then re-flash CWM recovery from ROM Manager (assuming the ota retains root or you re-root)?

kramer987

Dec 22, 2010
having a bit of trouble here. i followed all the steps but when i go to rename the install-recovery.sh file i am told that it is a read only file and cannot be changed. how do i fix this?

i also tried this method and get the same error:
adb shell
su
mv /system/etc/install-recovery.sh /system/etc/install-recovery.bak

EDIT: