FORUMS

No root and want to modify your DPI? You can!

98 posts
Thanks Meter: 79
 
By PizzaSauce, Member on 3rd December 2014, 03:49 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Make use of that super saturated 2k panel!

1. Download the Android SDK
2. Extract it to a desired location
3. Navigate through the extraction to SDK > Platform Tools
4. SHIFT+RIGHT CLICK anywhere inside this folder and click "open command window here"
6. Make sure you have the correct drivers for your phone
5. Turn on USB Debugging and plug your phone into the computer
6. Tell your phone to trust the computer
7. In the command window, run the following command but replace *** with the desired DPI (I use 540)
  • Adb shell wm density ***
8. Reboot phone to have changes fully take effect.

540

The Following 41 Users Say Thank You to PizzaSauce For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift PizzaSauce Ad-Free
3rd December 2014, 04:04 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
This is wonderful news. Do you know what the stock DPI was?
3rd December 2014, 04:06 AM |#3  
PizzaSauce's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Twin Cities
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by isosunrise

This is wonderful news. Do you know what the stock DPI was?

Tis 640
3rd December 2014, 04:41 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PizzaSauce

Tis 640

Isn't 640 DPI better than 540? What do you gain from changing it to less dots per inch? Bit of a n00b since I always left displays stock on phones.
The Following User Says Thank You to will.bates94 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift will.bates94 Ad-Free
3rd December 2014, 04:43 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 98
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by will.bates94

Isn't 640 DPI better than 540? What do you gain from changing it to less dots per inch? Bit of a n00b since I always left displays stock on phones.

It changes the dots per inch.

The benefit is you can fit way more stuff on the screen and force apps into tablet mode on a non tablet device.

E. G. Dpi is 640 and the dialer may display 5 contacts. You change the DPI to 540 and it may display 7-8 on the same screen. It is almost necessary with a phone this big unless you have bad eye site because the phone utilizes the screen real estate so badly in Stock dpis
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kimdoocheol For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kimdoocheol Ad-Free
3rd December 2014, 04:44 AM |#6  
PizzaSauce's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Twin Cities
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by will.bates94

Isn't 640 DPI better than 540? What do you gain from changing it to less dots per inch? Bit of a n00b since I always left displays stock on phones.

The setting determines what size the phone will make elements on the screen.
If the DPI setting is low like that, the device thinks it's a tablet and will scale things smaller for the bigger screen.
The device knows the screen's resolution. The device needs a setting to scale screen elements to a good size for the size of the screen.
So lower DPI effectively tricks the phone into thinking the screen is bigger than 5.7" and scales elements smaller for the bigger screen.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to PizzaSauce For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift PizzaSauce Ad-Free
3rd December 2014, 04:46 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimdoocheol

It changes the dots per inch.

The benefit is you can fit way more stuff on the screen and force apps into tablet mode on a non tablet device.

E. G. Dpi is 640 and the dialer may display 5 contacts. You change the DPI to 540 and it may display 7-8 on the same screen. It is almost necessary with a phone this big unless you have bad eye site because the phone utilizes the screen real estate so badly in Stock dpis

I SEE what you are saying! I was thinking we were reducing the amount of dots or pixels that will be used in the display, overall changing the resolution! Thanks for clearing that up bruh.
@PizzaSauce thanks man, this cleared up a lot. Thank god you made this happen, first time with a note and it felt like I was on a Playskool phone from fisher price.
3rd December 2014, 04:48 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 98
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by will.bates94

I SEE what you are saying! I was thinking we were reducing the amount of dots or pixels that will be used in the display, overall changing the resolution! Thanks for clearing that up bruh.

Yeah, you got it. If root ever comes out definitely get xposed framework and app settings which allows individual dpi settings for apps. I'm guessing this workaround does it on everything, which is still really cool cause the only way I know to do it manually is by editing the build.prop. Similar to how you can add capacitive buttons
3rd December 2014, 05:00 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Dialer app is missing logo and things seem odd. Can't add anymore apps to the screen, everything is just more smushed together. Running ART should I wipe cache via SDK?

Nothing is lined up either.
The Following User Says Thank You to will.bates94 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift will.bates94 Ad-Free
3rd December 2014, 05:04 AM |#10  
PizzaSauce's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Twin Cities
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by will.bates94

Dialer app is missing logo and things seem odd. Can't add anymore apps to the screen, everything is just more smushed together. Running ART should I wipe cache via SDK?

Nothing is lined up either.

I noticed the stock dialer thing too. Ended up using a different dialer app; ExDialer w/ Android L theme
I don't know about not being able to add apps, I use Nova launcher though.

Not sure about the ART thing, I'm on Dalvik myself
The Following User Says Thank You to PizzaSauce For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift PizzaSauce Ad-Free
3rd December 2014, 10:29 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
More
Does this chance persist through reboots?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes