FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
OnePlus 6 Development Program

[ROM] RENOVATE ICE 5.1 | OxygenOS 5.1.11 | Tweaks | Stables | Nightlies | SVN

6,140 posts
Thanks Meter: 12,960
 
By mwilky, Recognized Developer on 8th June 2018, 12:42 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Announcement from mwilky: 5.1 released!
8th June 2018, 01:17 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
so glad to see my favorite ROM on 1+6
 
 
8th June 2018, 01:33 PM |#12  
dex2grigg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Salisbury
Thanks Meter: 410
 
More
I've just come from S8 plus nice to see you here!!
The Following User Says Thank You to dex2grigg For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dex2grigg Ad-Free
8th June 2018, 01:46 PM |#13  
Nameless's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Belfast
Thanks Meter: 1,050
 
More
OP now updated with flashing instructions
8th June 2018, 01:51 PM |#14  
carlos67's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 634
 
More
So, just to be clear, if currently on stock 5.1.5 rom with magisk root installed (but no permanent twrp) we have to fastboot boot temporary twrp and then flash full rom zip and reboot.

Worth wiping dalvik too for good measure?

After this, we will be rooted with magisk manager showing magisk is installed??

In other words, installing this rom automatically installs magisk root and magisk manager app?
8th June 2018, 01:53 PM |#15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
flashed "dirty" successful over xXx NoLimits... enabled Magisk Module, fine too... testing now
Question: i changed Kernel to CleanSlate v1.77... speaks anything against changing over to a custom Kernel?
8th June 2018, 01:59 PM |#16  
mwilky's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 12,960
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adiher

flashed "dirty" successful over xXx NoLimits... enabled Magisk Module, fine too... testing now
Question: i changed Kernel to CleanSlate v1.77... speaks anything against changing over to a custom Kernel?

If you have flashed the full rom zip, you don't need to flash the magisk module.

Magisk module is only for users on stock rom
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mwilky For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2018, 02:00 PM |#17  
refedit's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 240
 
More
@mwilky
So, if I'm ONLY with unlocked BL, 1st I flash the MagiskModule and then the Rom zip. Is this correct?
8th June 2018, 02:00 PM |#18  
Guitarfreak26's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, UK
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
Will have a look at installing this tonight. Any benefit to flashing system img to both slots?
8th June 2018, 02:03 PM |#19  
carlos67's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 634
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by refedit

@mwilky
So, if I'm ONLY with unlocked BL, 1st I flash the MagiskModule and then the Rom zip. Is this correct?

Erm, no. You just flash the full rom zip and reboot according to the OP.

Assuming you want the rom.
8th June 2018, 02:03 PM |#20  
mwilky's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 12,960
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlos67

So, just to be clear, if currently on stock 5.1.5 rom with magisk root installed (but no permanent twrp) we have to fastboot boot temporary twrp and then flash full rom zip and reboot.

Worth wiping dalvik too for good measure?

After this, we will be rooted with magisk manager showing magisk is installed??

In other words, installing this rom automatically installs magisk root and magisk manager app?

It depends how you want to install it. If you are on stock rom with magisk installed, you could just install the magisk module over your current setup and you are good to go.

If you install the full rom zip, magisk is already applied to the boot.img, but you'll need to install magisk manager manually (will fix this next release)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mwilky For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2018, 02:04 PM |#21  
mwilky's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 12,960
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adiher

flashed "dirty" successful over xXx NoLimits... enabled Magisk Module, fine too... testing now
Question: i changed Kernel to CleanSlate v1.77... speaks anything against changing over to a custom Kernel?

I recommend CleanSlate kernel
The Following User Says Thank You to mwilky For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes