FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

6gb vs 8gb for better battery life (based on op5t experience)?

207 posts
Thanks Meter: 13

By varignet, Senior Member on 18th May 2018, 04:15 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I was wondering for light to moderate use which model between the 6gb and 8gb do you think would be more taxing on battery.

I'm assuming I would likely never fill 6gb as I close apps when not in use and only use a handful anyway.

What are your thoughts?

18th May 2018, 08:01 PM |#2  
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 573

More
I'm no developer but if I had to guess, I don't think the difference in RAM has any effect on battery life. If it does, I'm sure it's so little it would be impossible to notice. Anyone who is more knowledgeable than me on this, feel free to correct me if I'm wrong!
20th May 2018, 01:26 AM |#3  
Thanks Meter: 372

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by varignet

I was wondering for light to moderate use which model between the 6gb and 8gb do you think would be more taxing on battery.

I'm assuming I would likely never fill 6gb as I close apps when not in use and only use a handful anyway.

What are your thoughts?

Good question ! I was also wondering the same thing. Logically speaking there should be a difference but only significant if there are less physical chips on board for the 6GB model. I am very much inclined to order the 6GB model for a bit better battery life - 64GB of storage is plenty for me anyway.
20th May 2018, 08:09 PM |#4  
Thanks Meter: 2

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cst79

Good question ! I was also wondering the same thing. Logically speaking there should be a difference but only significant if there are less physical chips on board for the 6GB model. I am very much inclined to order the 6GB model for a bit better battery life - 64GB of storage is plenty for me anyway.