Install Oxygen OS on my OnePlus 6 bought in China

Search This thread

FrostLDeacon

Jun 7, 2010
Hi Guys,

I asked my colleague to buy me a OnePlus 6 from China. I just got the phone but realized that it's running on Hydrogen OS.
Is there any easy step-by-step guide on how to uninstall Hydrogen OS and replacing it with Oxygen OS?

To add to this, I have no experience in rooting any phone before or such technical stuff, so I would really appreciate if the guide is a "for Dummies" kind of guide.

Details: It's 8GB, 128GB version. I live in Sweden.

Many Thanks in advance!
- FLD

showgood163

Oct 9, 2015
OnePlus 6
First, download (latest) oxygen rom from this forum and copy the rom file into your phone
Then, in system, select 'setting'->'system update', then hit the setting button on the top right corner, select 'local update' and select the rom file
wait for it to finish and it's good to go

zSyntex

Forum Moderator
Sep 24, 2017
Bari, Apulia
OnePlus 12
Hi Guys,

I asked my colleague to buy me a OnePlus 6 from China. I just got the phone but realized that it's running on Hydrogen OS.
Is there any easy step-by-step guide on how to uninstall Hydrogen OS and replacing it with Oxygen OS?

To add to this, I have no experience in rooting any phone before or such technical stuff, so I would really appreciate if the guide is a "for Dummies" kind of guide.

Details: It's 8GB, 128GB version. I live in Sweden.

Many Thanks in advance!
- FLD
Of course, it's the same hardware (only change the FD-C band for 3G/4G). Flash via fastboot or TWRP the full .zip

FrostLDeacon

Jun 7, 2010
First, download (latest) oxygen rom from this forum and copy the rom file into your phone
Then, in system, select 'setting'->'system update', then hit the setting button on the top right corner, select 'local update' and select the rom file

Thanks a lot!

As mentioned, I'm really not very technical and would appreciate a more thourough explanation on what steps I need to take.