FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Guide] How to keep TWRP + data decryption when upgrading to OOS 10

1,502 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,415
 
By SyCreed, Senior Member on 2nd November 2019, 10:04 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
8th November 2019, 10:08 PM |#171  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
How can we safely update to the latest TWRP? reflash the old keymaster?
8th November 2019, 10:49 PM |#172  
Senior Member
Flag Kamloops
Thanks Meter: 112
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by THERAJ12

How can we safely update to the latest TWRP? reflash the old keymaster?

1 Reboot to TWRP recovery
2 Install the the new TWRP zip
3 Reflash Magisk

If you still need help check the TWRP thread
9th November 2019, 01:17 AM |#173  
scorpio76r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag All over like street lights
Thanks Meter: 326
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj_ooms

I am aware that this method also works as I have also flashed this way in the past. The method is based on the instructions for flashing custom ROMs. Some instructions state to flash Magisk after TWRP and some don't. I left it in just because I flashed OOS 10 this way. Regardless, I don't think it will harm the system with or without this step so I will leave it there with a note saying optional in my original post.

Thanks and regards,

Ooms

This guide literally worked for me in minutes. I was hesitant to go from 9.0.17 on my Tmobile 6T converted to international but, I decided to try this and, it's effortless. Thank you for your guide which made it easier for me to take the leap to android 10. I lost nothing, data, apps, homescreen etc, was intact. I am not discrediting any other guide. This is just the first one that I followed and, decided to try. I can confirm that this works on tmobile 6T converted to international.
The Following User Says Thank You to scorpio76r For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift scorpio76r Ad-Free
9th November 2019, 02:57 AM |#174  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SyCreed

Disclaimer
I'm not responsible for any issue you may incounter while doing the steps below.
Do it on your own risk.

THIS GUIDE WILL WORK ONLY IF YOU'RE UPGRADING FROM 9 TO 10 !!!

Before you're doing anything, delete all your magisk modules and substratum layers.
The guide was already provided by mauronofrio, but i dunno why people still struggling on getting everything working fine. I'm explaining here my own steps on flashing everything.

How to:
1. Flash full OOS 10.0 zip via local update . (DO NOT REBOOT)
2. Download EXKM (you can find it in play store)
2a. flash OldKeyMaster.zip via EXKM , ignore the failure message, it's flashed correctly!( DO NOT REBOOT)
3. Flash fajita twrp 3.3.1-20.zip by @mauronofrio via Magisk Manager (DO NOT REBOOT)
4. Flash magisk to 2nd slot via MAgisk Manager
5. REboot and wait :3

All the needed .zip files found in TWRP topic
https://forum.xda-developers.com/one...#post80639099\

proofs attached.

================================================== ================================================== ====

Thank-you for the instructions.

I am coming from OOS 9 [9.0.17]; Bootloader unlocked, TWRP 3.3.1.1

If I understand correctly:

Prerequisites:

i: Bootloader unlocked.

ii: TWRP installed.

iii: Latest OOS 9 (9.0.17) build running on phone.

iv: Latest Magisk manager installed.

Prior Preparation:

a: Download OOS 10 and place in root directory. I got mine here:

b. Download & install EXKM from playstore (Note; this is a paid app)

c. Disable any Magisk modules you are already running. Very Important!

Procedure:

1. Install the full OOS 10 zip via 'local upgrade' in settings>system>system updates>[top right corner gear] "local upgrade". OOS 10 zip should be in root directory prior. {NO REBOOT YET}

2.EXKM from playstore should already be on phone, if so, flash OldKeyMaster.zip via EXKM app , ignore the failure message, it's flashed correctly!( DO NOT REBOOT YET)

3. Flash fajita twrp 3.3.1-20.zip by mauronofrio via Magisk Manager (DO NOT REBOOT YET). (Thank-you Mauronofrio!)

4. Flash Magisk to 2nd slot via Magisk Manager.

5. Finally reboot phone and wait patiently!

My initial questions:

1. Have I laid all this out correctly?
2. I am not sure what step 4 means "Flash Magisk to 2nd slot via Magisk Manager.


Questions:

Q1. Do I need to download Magisk again to "Flash to 2nd slot"?
Q2. How exactly do I "Flash magisk to 2nd slot via Magisk Manager"? I am unsure on this step..

Thanks for your help in anticipation.

Cheers and thanks to OP for providing this information to the community. It's much appreciated!
9th November 2019, 11:44 AM |#175  
Deurklink73's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Veldhoven
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
After you follow all the steps you click in magisk on install and select install to inactive slot (after OTA).
The Following User Says Thank You to Deurklink73 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Deurklink73 Ad-Free
9th November 2019, 01:27 PM |#176  
scorpio76r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag All over like street lights
Thanks Meter: 326
 
Donate to Me
More
Does anyone know a fix for this? I'm having a hard time finding a fix for the cts error. Any help would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20191109-072627.jpg
Views:	234
Size:	134.1 KB
ID:	4870801  
9th November 2019, 01:35 PM |#177  
phaino00's Avatar
Senior Member
Lake Worth Corridor
Thanks Meter: 228
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpio76r

Does anyone know a fix for this? I'm having a hard time finding a fix for the cts error. Any help would be appreciated.

Use magiskhide props module. You can find it in the download section of magisk manager.

Hope it helps.
9th November 2019, 01:43 PM |#178  
phaino00's Avatar
Senior Member
Lake Worth Corridor
Thanks Meter: 228
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpio76r

Does anyone know a fix for this? I'm having a hard time finding a fix for the cts error. Any help would be appreciated.

Some screenshots.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20191109-074150.jpg
Views:	214
Size:	151.2 KB
ID:	4870805   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20191109-074142.jpg
Views:	216
Size:	128.4 KB
ID:	4870807  
The Following User Says Thank You to phaino00 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift phaino00 Ad-Free
9th November 2019, 01:53 PM |#179  
scorpio76r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag All over like street lights
Thanks Meter: 326
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phaino00

Use magiskhide props module. You can find it in the download section of magisk manager.

Hope it helps.

I will try that now

---------- Post added at 01:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:44 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by phaino00

Some screenshots.

It doesn't seem to work on the 6t international conversated. I have been in the threads all morning and, can seem to find a a positive fix.
9th November 2019, 01:59 PM |#180  
phaino00's Avatar
Senior Member
Lake Worth Corridor
Thanks Meter: 228
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpio76r

I will try that now

---------- Post added at 01:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:44 PM ----------


It doesn't seem to work on the 6t international conversated. I have been in the threads all morning and, can seem to find a a positive fix.


Are you saying you are on the TMO converted to international or just the straight international version out of the box?

I don't think it matters.

Also, did you go through the whole process per instructions via a terminal?

It should work since many others have had success with this process.

Check this out:
https://forum.xda-developers.com/app...onfig-t3789228
The Following User Says Thank You to phaino00 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift phaino00 Ad-Free
9th November 2019, 02:58 PM |#181  
scorpio76r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag All over like street lights
Thanks Meter: 326
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phaino00

Are you saying you are on the TMO converted to international or just the straight international version out of the box?

I don't think it matters.

Also, did you go through the whole process per instructions via a terminal?

It should work since many others have had success with this process.

Check this out:
https://forum.xda-developers.com/app...onfig-t3789228

I'm on the converted. I checked over there in the link that you sent me and, it seems a little complicated. Lol I'm used to just flashing a fix for this. I see that it's not that simple anymore
Edit * I just fixed it with the terminal emulator.
The Following User Says Thank You to scorpio76r For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift scorpio76r Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes