FORUMS

[Gcam] All about op7pro gcam

153 posts
Thanks Meter: 230
 
By elmarian756, Senior Member on 30th May 2019, 04:09 AM
Post Reply Email Thread

What is Google Camera (AKA GCam)?
Google Camera is the camera app for the Google Nexus and Google Pixel phones. It is not designed or intended to be run on other phones.

What is HDR+?
HDR+ is Google's proprietary image processing routine. HDR+ employs image stacking to control exposure, and also to preserve details, reduce noise, increase sharpness, etc. It is an all-in-one package.

Installation instructions
Download APK to your Phone and Install it (No Root needed)


JOIN US IN TELEGRAM
(more updates about XML, APK's there)

Xiaomi Mi 9/Pro GCam Telegram
OnePlus 7/7T/Pro GCam Telegram


RECOMMENDED SETTINGS
(PLEASE READ THE FAQ BEFORE ASKING SOMETHING)


GCAM FAQ

GCAM TUTORIALS
MAGISK MODULE FOR AUX









For those who don't know, celso's page now has a device specific section. Op7pro is here and you can download gcams of your taste as well the xml files:

https://www.celsoazevedo.com/files/a...oneplus-7-pro/

Main development is being done by Arnova. He works 6.1 6.2 and 6.3 versions.

You may find way difficult to configure this gcams due to the vast amount of settings but is very improved on some areas, as well others still needs some fix and testing. If you feel like experimenting this gcam is the one to go. Just use XMLs and please don't ask the same questions a trillion times.

A quick word by arnova about 6.2:

"Quick summary on my side 6.2:
- great quality / accuracy
- fast processing and shutter
- known "bugs" for XMLs (2x to implement it, and crashes if right procedure is not done)
- eats battery slightly more than 6.1
- inside shots are better quality
- zoom isn't that bad
- HDR works pretty well"

A more simple and stable version is xcam by Xtreme. Based on the old good reliable 6.1 by arnova.
Way less settings to play with. Simple, stable, yet still VERY configurable gcam. Recommended for most users. And dev is always listening to users and requests.


So here is a small FAQ to prevent a RAIN of answered questions:

What is the best gcam or Xml? - None. It is ALL experimental and although there almost everything works, there are all different. Better is just a matter of taste and need.

SlowMo does not work? Nope, perhaps on a future version.

OMG HOW DO I SWITCH BETWEEN LENSES? - sadly there is no easy way yet. Some versions of twrp, kernels, NFS injector magisk module, setting selinux correctly (read info at the end of the post) or arnova's magisk module enables aux cameras support on op7pro. So no easy for non root users. I will keep you guys posted if this changes.

Keep in mind that having the device ready for aux on gcam, Does not mean that any gcam will switch between lenses.
Gcam must be enabled to use aux and the method for aux you are using may not work with that particular gcam.

Main camera captures only at 12 mpx? - yes, gcam is capable of 48 mpx but libs need to be modified. Arnova is working on that. (He hasn't stated if this is impossible or not just yet, he is working on the proyect). Those 12 mpx will be the 48 mpx quad bayered photo. The purpose of this mod will be a full 48 mpx HDR gcam photo working. Fingers crossed.

google photos gives a strange tint on pics taken? - Yes, a google photos bug, unrelated to camera.

Phone heats up and battery drains? - gcam consume a lot of juice so there is that.

Portrait mode problems, fc, etc? - image format has to be Yuv on op7pro.


Stock or gcam? - I personally prefer gcam shots but stock has a great performance on daylight, and nightmode is average. Stock is no good on faces, and quality overall is not of my taste. Both together is for the win.

Wide and tele lenses performance? - downside is that gcam must restart in order to switch lenses. Wide lens correction of stock cam is amazing, i have seen some gcam with this settings, haven't tested it yet. As regards tele lens, it is combined with super res zoom. Amazing results although stock zoom algorithms are not bad at all.

To enable Aux camera support on gcam, after a lot of hard work of devs and resarch of users, it has been discovered that the app should be installed in priv-app in order to get full elevated permissions. This can be achieved by using the magisk module "app systemizer" or as it was explained on this same thread:

"Multi-Lense GCam without SELinux Permissive
As it turns out, the multi-lense modded Gcam app requires elevated permissions to switch between the auxiliary back cameras. Note that these are not standard android permissions, but lower-level system permissions that generally cannot be enabled by a standard user app.

By rooting and setting SELinux to permissive, you allow the camera app to access these permissions, but you leave yourself with a rather large security vulnerability as now every app on your phone has access to these permissions. You can provide individual apps with these permissions simply by installing them as a priv-app in the systems app folder without setting the global SELinux status to permissive. This can be done either by manually moving the Gcam apk to the priv-app folder, or with a Magisk module; either way, you have to be rooted to do so at the moment.

Here are the steps I took to enable switching between the lenses without installing the NFS injector module or manually setting SELinux to permissive:

1) Install the previously shared multi-lense Gcam app as a standard user app by installing the apk as you would normally.

https://f.celsoazevedo.com/file/cfil...9.0645-02j.apk

2) Open the camera app and enable the usual set of permissions (local storage, camera, etc.)

3) Install this Magisk module in Magisk or manually move the Gcam apk to /system/priv-app and reboot
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1oAw...ew?usp=sharing

The Magisk module attached simply creates a copy of the Gcam app and its included lib in the /system/priv-app folder and does not modify any other security setting. The Gcam app may crash when opening if you do not install it as a standard user app first and set it up before installing it as a system app (at least it did for me at first)."


Now once you have AUX access enabled, depending of the gcam version you are using, the next step is to know how to swich between lenses. If you are using the recommended gcam on this post, first i recommend to set the auxiliar switch mode to "long press". Then you will be able to switch between main and telephoto if you long press the arrows camera change icon. Single press this icon will cycle through front and previously used camera.
If you long press the photo preview icon on the viewfinder, the camera will change and start switching between main lens and wide angle. (Note that you may have this reversed, the important thing to know is that pressing the photo preview icon on the viewfinder will let you use the other secondary lens, and they will always will cycle with the main lens.)

If you are using the arnovas recent test apks you should be able to see a pine icon. Just click there to change lens. Bare in mind that this recent version are still up to bug correcting, so you may find unexpected results.

If you find grainy or noisy video while shooting video on medium to low light conditions on wide or tele, you need to lower exposure by tapping on screen and lowering exposure with the floating slider controller.

Thanks to Arnova and all the users on telegram testing out this magnificent work. Will keep posted if a rootless version of this method is found.
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to elmarian756 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift elmarian756 Ad-Free
30th May 2019, 06:41 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 115
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmarian756

Hi! As some of you users may know, arnova tried to enable aux cameras for gcam for the op7 pro. The thing is that a line is missing on vendor / build prop.
The line is vendor.camera.aux.packagelist=org.codeaurora.snapc am

Problem is that if i edit Vendor/build.prop after reboot it regenerates back to default.

Found out that in system/build.prop there is a couple of lines but coding is not my strong point here.

The lines are:

Expose aux camera for below packages
#ifndef VENDOR_EDIT
#vendor.camera.aux.packagelist=org.codeaurora.snap cam,com.qualcomm.saltproject2
#else
vendor.camera.aux.packagelist=org.codeaurora.snapc am,com.oneplus.factorymode,com.oneplus.camera,com. oneplus.healthcheck
persist.vendor.camera.privapp.list=com.oneplus.cam era
#endif
#ifdef VENDOR_EDIT
persist.vendor.camera.oissr.debug=0
#endif
#enable IZat OptInApp overlay
persist.vendor.overlay.izat.optin=rro


Any ideas or someone experienced on this?

Will try this later. Is there any telegram channel where arnova is active for OP7 Pro?
30th May 2019, 08:45 AM |#3  
AmanJhawar's Avatar
Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by felek73

Will try this later. Is there any telegram channel where arnova is active for OP7 Pro?

Google Camera [OP7/7PRO]
This is the official Telegram group of Google Camera for the OnePlus 7/Pro

https://t.me/gcamOP7
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to AmanJhawar For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift AmanJhawar Ad-Free
30th May 2019, 09:45 AM |#4  
niko2931's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Denmark
Thanks Meter: 435
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmanJhawar

Google Camera [OP7/7PRO]
This is the official Telegram group of Google Camera for the OnePlus 7/Pro

https://t.me/gcamOP7

Thanks for the link!
I had completely missed that telegram group..-
30th May 2019, 10:14 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 230
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by niko2931

Thanks for the link!
I had completely missed that telegram group..-

Yes, in that group this came up last night. (Cant attach screenshots for some reason). Diggin up i found that i need to edit vendor build prop through a magisk module or twrp in order to the changes to stick. No luck still since i dont have twrp and do have magisk. But not such module Perhaps bringing this up on xda it someone figure this out! Please if someone works this out let us know!
30th May 2019, 10:17 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 230
 
More
Screenshots
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190530-060318.jpg
Views:	6536
Size:	401.8 KB
ID:	4768359   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190530-060411.jpg
Views:	6612
Size:	246.3 KB
ID:	4768360  
30th May 2019, 04:45 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
for what it's worth, since updating my GM1917 to 9.5.4 I have been able to toggle and use both aux lenses in gcam
The Following User Says Thank You to tab00t^2 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tab00t^2 Ad-Free
30th May 2019, 04:57 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 230
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by niko2931

Thanks for the link!
I had completely missed that telegram group..-

Quote:
Originally Posted by tab00t^2

for what it's worth, since updating my GM1917 to 9.5.4 I have been able to toggle and use both aux lenses in gcam

Really? Can you point me to the gcam version, and if you are rooted, or have any magisk modules?
30th May 2019, 05:07 PM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmarian756

Really? Can you point me to the gcam version, and if you are rooted, or have any magisk modules?

Weird, right? So I don't know if it's coincidence or a glitch or something -- when I was on 9.5.3 I was completely stock and I tried a ton of ports but none was working. Since 9.5.4 I've been rooted, etc. and it's randomly started working with all lenses on a couple different ports.

I'm running 9.5.6 with Kirisakura 1.0.0 (installed through EXKM), TWRP 3.3.1-18 with the following Magisk modules:
- Companion Module for Kirisakura Kernel
- Init.d Injector
- liboemcrypto disabler
-microG Installer
-NFS-INJECTOR
-OxygenOS Gmail Battery Fix
-Riru - Core
- Riru - EdXposed - SandHook
-Systemless Hosts
-Wifi Bonding (Qcom)
-xXx NoLimits 7.0 for One Plus

The best gcam port for using all lenses I've found was the one I was using on my S10+: MGC_6.1.021_BSG_Arnova_TInNeun_4lens_V1.3.03119.06 45-02j.apk
The Following User Says Thank You to tab00t^2 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tab00t^2 Ad-Free
30th May 2019, 05:15 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 230
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tab00t^2

Weird, right? So I don't know if it's coincidence or a glitch or something -- when I was on 9.5.3 I was completely stock and I tried a ton of ports but none was working. Since 9.5.4 I've been rooted, etc. and it's randomly started working with all lenses on a couple different ports.

I'm running 9.5.6 with Kirisakura 1.0.0 (installed through EXKM), TWRP 3.3.1-18 with the following Magisk modules:
- Companion Module for Kirisakura Kernel
- Init.d Injector
- liboemcrypto disabler
-microG Installer
-NFS-INJECTOR
-OxygenOS Gmail Battery Fix
-Riru - Core
- Riru - EdXposed - SandHook
-Systemless Hosts
-Wifi Bonding (Qcom)
-xXx NoLimits 7.0 for One Plus

The best gcam port for using all lenses I've found was the one I was using on my S10+: MGC_6.1.021_BSG_Arnova_TInNeun_4lens_V1.3.03119.06 45-02j.apk

Great, so it works, lets start from scracth: can you tell me where can i download that apk? I will start from this app and next replicating the same conditions until i get what makes it work!
30th May 2019, 05:25 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmarian756

Great, so it works, lets start from scracth: can you tell me where can i download that apk? I will start from this app and next replicating the same conditions until i get what makes it work!

Download the apk here: https://f.celsoazevedo.com/file/cfil...9.0645-02j.apk

and here's a link to my saved config file with all of the lenses setup/working: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1r-r...ew?usp=sharing

I've found that it can only switch between two sets of lenses at a time (normal/wide or normal/tele) and that in order to toggle in night mode it works best on cycle and not long press. To switch between lens sets you need to long press on the photo preview.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to tab00t^2 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tab00t^2 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes