FORUMS

How to root US OnePlus 8 Pro

958 posts
Thanks Meter: 712
 
Post Reply Email Thread
1: Unlock your bootloader
2: Reboot to fastboot
3: Via fastboot on a PC, flash the attached boot IMG (fastboot flash boot "directory to boot IMG, can drag and drop")
4: Done!

Ill try to keep this img up to date but always verify the version before you flash

Current version: 10.5.4.IN11AA

https://drive.google.com/open?id=18f...JrcEn-unJA1UDQ
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to nima0003 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift nima0003 Ad-Free
30th April 2020, 02:41 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Asheville, NC
Thanks Meter: 1,186
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nima0003

1: Unlock your bootloader
2: Reboot to fastboot
3: Via fastboot on a PC, flash the attached boot IMG (fastboot flash boot "directory to boot IMG, can drag and drop")
4: Done!

Ill try to keep this img up to date but always verify the version before you flash

Current version: 10.5.4.IN11AA

https://drive.google.com/open?id=18f...JrcEn-unJA1UDQ

Do you have update to 10.5.5.IN11AA ?
30th April 2020, 02:52 PM |#3  
spotmark's Avatar
Senior Member
Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 1,829
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaww

Do you have update to 10.5.5.IN11AA ?

If all you're looking for is the patched boot image, you can find it here, https://forum.xda-developers.com/one...image-t4088333.
The Following User Says Thank You to spotmark For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift spotmark Ad-Free
2nd May 2020, 03:01 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Asheville, NC
Thanks Meter: 1,186
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spotmark

If all you're looking for is the patched boot image, you can find it here, https://forum.xda-developers.com/one...mage-t4088333.

Just got the phone and it updated to .5, and late at night, .6 showed up. It installed without all the trouble with TMo 7.

It unrooted, and I used the .5 magisk patched.img above without any problems, but will use .6 when available.
2nd May 2020, 03:26 PM |#5  
dladz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 2,546
 
Donate to Me
More
Careful with the fingerprint enrollment, factory wiping with root has been known to break fingerprint. Just a heads up.

Theres a thread about this, there isn't a currently known fix either.

Has happened to EU BA devices but you never know.
2nd May 2020, 04:52 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Asheville, NC
Thanks Meter: 1,186
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dladz

Careful with the fingerprint enrollment, factory wiping with root has been known to break fingerprint. Just a heads up.

Theres a thread about this, there isn't a currently known fix either.

Has happened to EU BA devices but you never know.

Thanks. I didn't wipe and I don't use fingerprint.
2nd May 2020, 06:32 PM |#7  
dladz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 2,546
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaww

Thanks. I didn't wipe and I don't use fingerprint.

Right ok, might want to check it if you ever do. Just in case
20th June 2020, 05:17 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Will this work on the Verizon compatible phone?
20th June 2020, 05:40 PM |#9  
spotmark's Avatar
Senior Member
Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 1,829
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skateguy1234

Will this work on the Verizon compatible phone?

If you're using an unlocked 8 Pro, sure. If you're using an 8, purchased directly from Verizon, no.
20th June 2020, 10:46 PM |#10  
Whoareyou's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Olathe, KS
Thanks Meter: 595
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skateguy1234

Will this work on the Verizon compatible phone?

Check your pms if you want to tinker with the Verizon model with
23rd June 2020, 06:34 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I'm using a US 8 Pro running 10.5.10.IN11AA. Can I use this 10.5.4.IN11AA boot image, or do I need to wait for an update? Is there a newer way to install magisk?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes