FORUMS

TWRP 3.2.3-1 for Pixel 2

1,705 posts
Thanks Meter: 13,646
 
Post Reply Email Thread
Note: Do not use if you have multiple users (including a guest user)

Lots more information here: https://plus.google.com/u/1/+DeesTroy/posts/i33ygUi7tiu

I strongly recommend that kernel developers start building the touch drivers into the kernel instead of depending on modules to ensure a fully functional TWRP since recovery is now part of the boot partition.

Be careful about what you install on your device as far as kernels and ROMs go. I think there is a high potential for losing the ability to decrypt because of the OS and patch level tags that are included in the boot image and the anti-rollback features that Google has implemented.

MTP does not work in TWRP on the Pixel 2 and will not work until we have time to update the TWRP MTP implementation. You may still use adb to push and pull files.

Pixel devices have 2 "slots" for ROMs / firmware. TWRP will detect whichever slot is currently active and use that slot for backup AND restore. There are buttons on the reboot page and under backup -> options to change slots. Changing the active slot will cause TWRP to switch which slot that TWRP is backing up or restoring. You can make a backup of slot A, switch to B, then restore the backup which will restore the backup of A to slot B. Changing the slot in TWRP also tells the bootloader to boot that slot.

The zip install method installs TWRP to both slots.

Installation:
If you already have TWRP installed: Download the latest zip and install the zip using TWRP.

If you do not already have TWRP installed: Download both the img and the zip. Copy the zip to your device. You will need to have fastboot binaries and the correct drivers installed. Power off your device completely. Hold volume down and turn on the device. Your device should now be in the bootloader. Connect the device to your PC. Open a command window and run the following command from the proper location:

fastboot boot path/to/twrp.img

This will temporarily boot TWRP on your device. If you are using a lockscreen pin/pattern/password and do not get prompted to enter your passord, reboot to the bootloader and try again. Go to install and browse to the zip and install the zip. If you are currently rooted, you will need to reflash the stock boot image before installing TWRP. After installing the stock boot image, follow the instructions for installing TWRP. Once TWRP is installed, you will need to reflash root.

If you accidently flash TWRP to your device using fastboot instead of temporarily booting the image, you will need to download the latest factory image for your device and reflash the boot image.

3.2.1-1 has working decrypt with the February security patch!
3.2.1-2 fixes some zip install errors
3.2.3-1 supports decrypting Android 9.0 Pie even with a pin / pattern / password set

Pixel 2:
https://twrp.me/google/googlepixel2.html
https://dl.twrp.me/walleye/

Pixel 2 XL:
https://twrp.me/google/googlepixel2xl.html
https://dl.twrp.me/taimen/
The Following 84 Users Say Thank You to Dees_Troy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st October 2017, 10:12 PM |#2  
Dees_Troy's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Flag KC MO
Thanks Meter: 13,646
 
Donate to Me
More
Reserved!
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Dees_Troy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st October 2017, 11:19 PM |#3  
woSaa's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Frankfurt am Main
Thanks Meter: 27
 
Donate to Me
More
Hey Dees Troy

sounds good, does it work with DP 8.1 bootloader?
31st October 2017, 11:27 PM |#4  
Natakranta's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 6,158
 
More
So happy to see it.
1st November 2017, 03:54 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 178
 
More
Nice
1st November 2017, 12:17 PM |#6  
GohanBurner's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waukesha, WI
Thanks Meter: 156
 
More
What a joy it is to see this post today. Thank you!!
1st November 2017, 02:58 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thank you! You're a hero.

I'm dying to root my Pixel 2. Does anyone know whether this alpha release of TWRP can be used to install SuperSU (and suhide)? I'm afraid to try.
1st November 2017, 04:06 PM |#8  
marc.ientilucci's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 246
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spire42

Thank you! You're a hero.

I'm dying to root my Pixel 2. Does anyone know whether this alpha release of TWRP can be used to install SuperSU (and suhide)? I'm afraid to try.

i tried flashing SuperSU v2.82 SR5 and phone would not boot into system. It just kept booting into bootloader.

To get my phone working again, I needed to flash the boot.img from the Pixel 2 Factory image via
Code:
fastboot flsah boot boot.img
i've gathers recovery / kernel logs - however since TWRP boots i will post them in the SuperSU forum.
The Following User Says Thank You to marc.ientilucci For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift marc.ientilucci Ad-Free
1st November 2017, 04:36 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Code:
fastboot boot twrp-3.1.1-alpha1-walleye.img
I've tried to boot to this alpha on my Pixel 2, and it just sits there and does nothing. I've tried two different cables. If I unplug, it fails, obviously.
Code:
fastboot devices
shows my device and I'm definitely on the bootloader screen.

Any ideas? I re-downloaded the sdk platform tools as well as the latest usb driver to see if that was the problem, but it wasn't the problem.
1st November 2017, 05:27 PM |#10  
Natakranta's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 6,158
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deepdvd

Code:
fastboot boot twrp-3.1.1-alpha1-walleye.img
I've tried to boot to this alpha on my Pixel 2, and it just sits there and does nothing. I've tried two different cables. If I unplug, it fails, obviously.
Code:
fastboot devices
shows my device and I'm definitely on the bootloader screen.

Any ideas? I re-downloaded the sdk platform tools as well as the latest usb driver to see if that was the problem, but it wasn't the problem.

Connected to PC vie USB 3 port?
Try with USB 2 if you have it. I've read people having success with it.
1st November 2017, 05:32 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Natakranta

Connected to PC vie USB 3 port?
Try with USB 2 if you have it. I've read people having success with it.

I tried using a third USB port, and it worked. Thanks! I thought that testing two different ports would have been enough, but apparently the third time's the charm.
The Following User Says Thank You to deepdvd For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift deepdvd Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes