Noob's guide to building AOSP from scratch.

Search This thread

codevalley

Jun 17, 2010
So, I have been an Android developer since 2009 (HTC dream), and have been actively "consuming" XDA, custom ROMs and other tweaks. Surprisingly, never tried to build my own ROM from scratch.
Recently, something made me want to build the ROM, so that I can make some changes to the way SystemUI behaves (specifically putting some app shortcuts to my Pixel phone(s), like camera etc. which are now removed in Android 10). So, after a week's struggle I got to where I wanted to reach. (90% time spent in getting the first successful flash. 1% feature development. 9% feature polishing).

Here is my guide to all beginners. (It is pretty simple, if you know the steps).

System setup
I have always been a Windows user (and I love my Surface(s)), but you cannot build Android on Windows machines (as clearly called out in source.android.com). I still tried to install Ubuntu shell from Microsoft store, and build (Spoiler alert: Does not work).

Next is Mac. Android can be built in Mac, I got it build in Mac. But, it is not easy. Especially with setting up the environment, having the right version of MacOS (doesn't work on Catalina yet). And also, challenges with filesystem format (Android building only works on case sensitive file system, so you have to create such a partition). Android building needs at least 160GB of disk space (so unless you are super rich and have 512GB+ Macbook with top specs, it is going to be hard).

My choice machine hence became, my two desktops (i7 4 core, 16GB, 1TB SSD, Ubuntu 18.04 and Xeon 12 core, 32GB, 512GB disk, with Ubuntu 18.04).
There is a reason why I specifically talk about these two machines. To build Android fast (cold clean build in less than 4 hours), you need
  • Fast processors, and more cores
  • Lots of RAM
  • A SSD disk (with 200GB space)